Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
9,311개의 평가
2,113개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

RS
2020년 5월 5일

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC
2020년 5월 16일

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 2,094개 리뷰 중 2051~2075

교육 기관: Amanda H

2021년 3월 26일

The second professor isn't great. I don't think it's his fault, but a lot of information was crammed into 2 weeks and I had to do a lot of self-teaching.

교육 기관: Saleem G

2020년 4월 30일

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

교육 기관: Maria K

2020년 11월 21일

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

교육 기관: Jomon K S

2020년 5월 11일

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

교육 기관: Esaú C

2020년 4월 25일

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

교육 기관: Vaibhav J

2019년 2월 10일

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"

교육 기관: Hubert W A E

2021년 4월 12일

It was too short, I think they must add additional mathematics course to make this program complete for Data Science needs

교육 기관: Xose C

2020년 4월 6일

You'd spend lots of time checking other sources as they do not explain things in detail. They assume many things.

교육 기관: Peter G

2018년 3월 4일

I enjoyed the first 2 weeks. Weeks 3 and 4 were harder to follow. Too few examples, particularly in week 4.

교육 기관: Andersson F R A

2020년 5월 17일

A pesar de que el curso es básico, la parte de probabilidad no está muy bien explicada.

교육 기관: Nayaung L

2020년 6월 30일

The last probability course is really horrible It should be changed or make it easier.

교육 기관: vivek a

2020년 4월 12일

The course name should be Bais Mathematics instead of Data Science Maths Skills.

교육 기관: PRASAD K

2020년 5월 23일

Concepts from Probability up to Bayes' Theorem could have been explained better

교육 기관: Saurabh S

2017년 7월 11일

Week 1 and week 2 are good. rest of the weeks are very fast and not clear.

교육 기관: Jonathan H

2017년 2월 8일

Very basic course... probably won't teach you a lot of new things

교육 기관: 小洋xiaoyang

2020년 12월 27일

Wish there will be more example question in the lectures

교육 기관: A M A

2017년 12월 24일

Probability part is good others are elementary math

교육 기관: Rodrigue S

2020년 6월 24일

This is really basic basic.

교육 기관: Derek S

2018년 3월 29일

last week was very hard

교육 기관: Deeraj

2020년 4월 30일

It's nice to learn

교육 기관: Stan M

2021년 2월 15일

dropped

교육 기관: Eray C

2021년 1월 25일

With all due respect but this was honestly the worst paid education-experience I've EVER had in my whole life! What is this?

Okay let's summarize the problems:

First of all. This course does NOT provide any useful math skills. No, in the first 3 courses, you learn a tiny piece of minimum basics of college math.

And then comes week 4....... what.. is... this... why.. Any note written on the screen looks like the drafts of college times, where we had no pleasure to even write.

It's totally hard to even understand what is being "explained" nor to even READ what is being written! It's a total loss of time and money. The only thing worth in this course is the title of the course, written on the certificate. But there absolutely NO quality behind it! I'm honestly disappointed.

Half of the quiz-questions are very misleading because of lacking a proper, clear and distinctive use of language (is this math or not???)!! The theory PDFs are okay at the beginning then get worse with each week. There is such a lack of clarity proper explanation!

please just delete this course.

PS: it seems, the discussion forum is not even touched by providers. Why? There are a ton of suggestions to improve the course. I mean... there WERE... if someone would read them to actually improve the course.

PPS: And HOW did this course get 4.5 Stars?? Makes no sense to me.

교육 기관: John Z

2021년 5월 7일

This course was pure garbage. Though it seemed promising in the beginning, it was clearly too ambitious and poorly designed. The topics are too quickly covered, and don't build upon each other. It's a very disconnected learning experience. The probability modules are completely useless. The "instructor" just read some definitions and sloppily wrote some formulas on a virtual whiteboard. Though I appreciate the exposure to a wide array of topics, my time would have been better spent reading a book on the same concepts - an exercise I will inevitably now have to do.

교육 기관: Katrina E

2020년 10월 1일

I chose this course because it said it was for beginners but the content was extremely difficult and was not at a beginner level at all. The presenter assumed knowledge and the presenter himself made errors during his presentation and did not explain concepts well. The quiz was very difficult to attempt because the questions often went beyond what was in the course. Do not attempt this course if you do not have actuarial science level.

교육 기관: Mahdi S

2020년 10월 15일

I expected much much much more than what I was exposed to in this course. The video companions could be more detailed, having more examples (I believe math is learnt via examples) and the lectures, especially in the third and fourth weeks were amazingly disengaging.