Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
1,950개의 평가
440개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 431개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: sanoop r p s

Jun 18, 2018

It is extremely good. One should do this before starting data science course.

교육 기관: Wut H H H

Apr 06, 2017

-

교육 기관: Kostas H

Mar 09, 2018

This course is designed for those either without a college level math background (calculus, probability, etc) and thus need an introduction to fundamental math skills or for those who need a refresher. This is not a course that teaches data science, nor the math of data science (linear algebra, random processes, algorithms, etc). But rather it teaches the math behind the math of data science. It reviews the basics of sets, plotting, sigma notation, derivatives, logarithms, mean and variance, Bayes theorem, etc. It is a gentle introduction to basic math skills that everyone should have. This is a course to definitely take as a refresher or before venturing into more higher topics such as collegiate math, data analysis, machine learning, computer science, engineering, etc.

교육 기관: saket

Apr 27, 2017

Awesome Course!

교육 기관: Priyanka S

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

교육 기관: Tim J

Jun 28, 2017

I found it quite engaging and challenging at times to get my head back around high school maths!

교육 기관: Tushar H J

Dec 18, 2017

Basic Revision of all concepts of probability and sets

교육 기관: Val

Dec 05, 2017

Clear and straightforward introduction to the key mathematical concepts that underpin statistics and data science. Video companions and practice quizzes complement the lectures in an effective way and prepare the student well for the graded quizzes.

교육 기관: James T

Apr 02, 2018

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Mahyar

Aug 22, 2017

Good course because it focuses on basic statistical science needed in Data Science. Only issue I had with this course was it was pretty short. Shorter than I thought by looking at the syllabus. Also the agenda is very simple in the first couple of weeks until it gets to the last week.

교육 기관: Steve T

Mar 21, 2017

Great course covering the fundamentals which I had largely forgotten (not used) since college.

교육 기관: Armine

Apr 04, 2018

Everything was great except probability theory. The videos were hard to follow and understand because everything was a kind of mess. Reading materials would be much better for probability section. Overall it was very helpful for me and I am very grateful for this wonderful course!!!

교육 기관: Vidyasagar V

Jan 26, 2018

right course to brush up on mathematical skills for Data science.

교육 기관: Mariana E

Apr 08, 2018

Este curso lo recomiendo mucho a quienes estén interesados en refrescar sus conocimientos de matemáticas para pasar a cursos de estadística o data science. Es muy compacto por lo que los temas se tratan de manera concisa, pero realmente se avanza si se invierte el tiempo necesario. Yo estoy interesada en la estadística y mi campo es la lingüística, así que me tocó trabajar muchas horas haciendo cuentas en el papel y en la calculadora, buscando cómo hacer para sacar las distribuciones binomiales y las funciones básicas, pero me pareció al final que he dado grandes avances, me encantan las matemáticas.

교육 기관: Zhenqing H

Dec 17, 2017

This course gives me the basic conceptions about the mathematics, especially parts about calculus and possibilities, however, if would be great if there are samples or basic practices related with the data science.

교육 기관: Aditya K

Sep 21, 2017

This course offers a great refresher of the FUNDAMENTALS of Linear Algebra , Calculus and Probability.

Do note the strong emphasis on fundamentals.

All lectures are well produced and the material put forward in an unambiguous and layman language.

The concepts presented are very easy to grasp , all thanks to the brilliant efforts of professor Bendich and professor Egger.

This course , along with another course on Calculus would serve as a great starting point for all data science enthusiasts and I strongly recommend it to everyone.

교육 기관: Nitish K

Jun 13, 2017

Good Content

Thanks

교육 기관: ANUJ S

Mar 29, 2018

This course was very good. Adding few advance topics like various distributions will help too.

교육 기관: Tony J A

Jul 21, 2017

Really good course to get a understanding of the basic concepts required to start with data sciences. Teachers are excellent and the quizs and assignments are challenging.

교육 기관: Ashish P

Jun 30, 2017

A must take course. Really helpful in understanding terms in simple way

교육 기관: Joel R

Mar 11, 2017

great course! it was a nice refresher for me, though I still learned new things as well! thank you!

교육 기관: Karl W P

Feb 05, 2017

I graduated with a BS in computer science and mathematics 15 years ago. Since then I've been working as a Business Intelligence consultant and I've recently decided to look into the field of Data Science. I was looking for a math class to refresh my math skills rather than start from scratch and this was the perfect course for that. Kudos to Daniel Egger for creating the class. It saved my a lot of time.

교육 기관: Ankita O

Nov 12, 2017

Excellent course with excellent examples and challenging test. Really enjoyed the course!!!!

교육 기관: Hari S

Mar 18, 2018

Good course. Initial practice could have difficult

교육 기관: mansi g

Jul 04, 2018

it is easy subject