Chevron Left
American Deaf Culture(으)로 돌아가기

University of Houston의 American Deaf Culture 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
268개의 평가
90개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a six-week course providing a historical overview of the American Deaf community and its evolving culture. Theoretical frameworks from sociology are explored. Deafness as a culture and not a disability is explained as participants are guided into the world of Deaf culture....

최상위 리뷰

CP
2017년 10월 9일

I've gotten an Associate's in Sign Language and learned a lot about American Deaf Culture and this was a wonderful refresher for me! I did NOT want this class to end!!\n\nPlease offer more like this!

JM
2017년 6월 15일

I am also a CODA, and I am so happy that a course on Deaf Culture is on CourseRA. Very proud of the collaborative efforts of exposing hearing people to the deaf community. ILY!

필터링 기준:

American Deaf Culture의 88개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Meaghan C

2020년 7월 22일

TEACHER WAS GREAT CLASS WAS GREAT

교육 기관: Lucas W

2019년 9월 24일

Great instructor and interpreter

교육 기관: Kimberly M

2019년 1월 19일

Very informative and enjoyable.

교육 기관: Winston A W

2020년 6월 24일

Excellent, thank you.

교육 기관: Clair M

2019년 11월 4일

amazing course!!!

교육 기관: masroor b a

2020년 4월 24일

Thank you

교육 기관: Mary C G

2020년 7월 25일

good

교육 기관: Salvatore D S

2021년 3월 8일

American Deaf Culture is an informative introduction to Deaf cultures and history in the United States. The course uses internal and external lecture videos as well as readings (e.g. academic articles and white papers). As of March 2021, the course quizzes have a difficult to read format on Mozilla Firefox. Also, one quiz question implies that solely African Americans, Latinos/Latinas/Latinx, and women have experienced discrimination. There are other discriminated groups too and their exclusion from the question risks undermining their advocacy efforts. It might be best to replace this one question with a question which is about Deaf cultures--not comparison with other groups. Learners seeking a concise accessible introduction to Deaf culture experiences in the U.S. should be satisfied and curious to learn more.

교육 기관: Sam C

2020년 10월 19일

This course was wonderful, and as someone who knew little to nothing about deaf culture it was very informative as well. I really felt like I learned. However the videos are a bit too short, and I found myself confused or having to look up extra information for a few of them in order to understand. I don't even know if I was taught some of the information on the final exam(though, this could have just been because I didn't read the articles well enough). The instructor was clearly a wonderful instructor- I think that if the videos were longer and more detailed, however, all the issues I faced could have been solved. I did learn quite a bit though, so thank you very much!

교육 기관: Omar L

2018년 3월 23일

I learned so much about deaf culture, most definitely appreciated learning about The Rehabilitation act of 1973 along with other laws that were implemented to protect those with disabilities. There is so much we take for granted, this course was great.

교육 기관: Yessenia S

2020년 9월 4일

I think this course is really interesting. I recently took a Deaf Culture class and this was basically a summary of what we learned. I will say the history part was new to me. I wish the quizzes were a little longer. I really liked the course overall.

교육 기관: Zoe E

2021년 7월 14일

The course information was incredibly helpful and the instructor is a pleasure to watch and incredibly emotive which is helpful. The interpreter just didn't match the instructor. It was really disappointing.

교육 기관: Luna E

2020년 9월 17일

The course could have gone more in-depth, but it was certainly intriguing and very well done. The personal experiences and course materials were my favorites!

교육 기관: Татьяна

2019년 7월 22일

Курс понравился. Немного раздражает вступительная музыка.

Хотелось бы услышать больше о процессах обучения, чтобы сравнить со своей страной.

교육 기관: Chelsea V

2020년 10월 4일

The final quiz was worded oddly And repeated itself. Seemed like a glitch?

Course should have an option to skip the video intro music.

교육 기관: Bryana S

2020년 7월 23일

The American Deaf Culture was truly and very informative. It is a class that EVERYONE should be required to take. Enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Eve S

2020년 10월 12일

Really liked the prof and learned a lot. It's made me interested in learning more. I wish it was a little more in-depth.

교육 기관: Timothy n

2020년 11월 9일

Great starter course to learn about American Deaf Culture. Would like to see an expansion class into ASL.

교육 기관: Sathi M V S R

2020년 11월 1일

i like this course but i want to learn ASL

so please release a new course to teach ASL

교육 기관: Lynnette H

2020년 5월 26일

This review is for several things:

Content 3 stars: sparse. The videos merely grazed the content. The readings were good, albeit a bit dated. Some of the videos and readings seemed to be filler. They were only vaguely referred to and had no real impact on the 2 question quizzes. Which, c'mon- there are three documents to read in one section and then give a 2 question quiz?

Instructor 5 stars: Very educational and is obviously an expert. I enjoyed the real life examples and his ability to make very good connections between experience and content. I would love to see another course with more content and where this Professor could really shine with more screen time. It was also very cool that the instructor and the interpreter were introduced. Very cool.

Certificate 0 stars, but not the Professors fault: Oh have mercy. I worked harder to just get a certificate for this course, then I actually worked on the course. First, I had to verify my account. What the H, Houston? This is a MOOC. THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE are taking these things. They are by no stretch high stakes testing. So, simmer down on your verification BS. Finally, after 4 photos, I send off my drivers license, which I am not happy about. And then downloading it was impossible. Utterly impossible. I had to screen shot the certificate to submit it for PD.

Review: What is happening with this formatting? Why am I all bundled up here in the middle? Get it together Coursera.

교육 기관: Lindsay M

2020년 9월 2일

I expected a more in depth exploration of the topics and while the resource materials were more thorough, I would have loved to have gained that information from Professor Brittan. I loved his personal story presentations and just wished the lessons were longer overall!

It also would have been more helpful if the voice over interpretations were recorded asynchronously so the interpreter would have time to more thoroughly relate the signs. So often we only got paraphrases of what was being said. I think it would be more helpful to new learners to be able to associate signs with words and notice speech patterns, but that's hard to do if the interpreter doesn't speak along with the signs consistently.

The quizzes and final were not prepared well. Questions and answers are not clear and force the learner to rely on guessing than real knowledge.

교육 기관: Corey F

2020년 7월 27일

This is fairly appropriate for hearing people who want to learn about the deaf culture and a very basic history of American deafness. The course itself felt kind of lacking, and the reading materials seem a little dated; having said that, ASL is still a very quiet culture in America (from a hearing person's POV). I did enjoy it, and would recommend it, but I hope there are more in-depth options available in the near future. The more we know, the more likely we are to accept and appreciate and learn how to communicate with this culture.

교육 기관: Emily J E

2020년 12월 5일

The final exam had several errors in it. One question had the question listed and the first choice was the same question. Two questions out of the 15 were the same.

I felt that the course was disorganized, was poorly structured and was more confusing than it needed to be. I think that the creators of this course need to go back "to the drawing board" before other people waste their time taking the course.

교육 기관: Katarina O

2017년 9월 14일

While it introduces many interesting topics, the course is mostly made up of videos that are only a minute or two in length and mention complex and interesting aspects of a topic without providing evidence, expanding on the topic, or providing an optional reading that goes into further depth. Most of this course remains very surface level and general.

교육 기관: Lisa G

2019년 11월 25일

I didn't like some of the translation of the instructor's signs, there were mistakes. Plus the instructor oversimplified a lot of the instruction as I'm deaf myself so it just felt inconsistent with the general deaf community that I've experienced. He has somewhat of a bias.