Chevron Left
Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

3.6
별점
503개의 평가
183개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You may never be sure whether you have an effective user experience until you have tested it with users. In this course, you’ll learn how to design user-centered experiments, how to run such experiments, and how to analyze data from these experiments in order to evaluate and validate user experiences. You will work through real-world examples of experiments from the fields of UX, IxD, and HCI, understanding issues in experiment design and analysis. You will analyze multiple data sets using recipes given to you in the R statistical programming language -- no prior programming experience is assumed or required, but you will be required to read, understand, and modify code snippets provided to you. By the end of the course, you will be able to knowledgeably design, run, and analyze your own experiments that give statistical weight to your designs....

최상위 리뷰

DS

Jun 04, 2017

This was really useful. The course was well structured and provided excellent real-life examples that are easily transferrable to other scenarios. Keep it up!

MP

Jul 17, 2019

Very difficult content of the module, but the teacher explained the issues clearly. Tests were also helpful in understanding and mastering the material.

필터링 기준:

Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments의 179개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: cristina m

Jun 25, 2020

This course requires significant knowledge of statistics and coding. It is not a class you can just jump into to learn as a beginner. The teacher doesn't explain anything well - he assumes you already know what he's talking about and he is not helpful in his Discussion Forums often blaming students for not already knowing what he's talking about. This class should not be part of this series.

교육 기관: Sanjana J

Jun 06, 2020

This course is targeted towards a very narrow audience who are already highly familiar with R and R coding as well as related stats. It totally alienates other learners who may be coming from non stats/ non-research/ non-coding backgrounds. Given that this course is part of the larger Interaction Design Specialization that is built for all types of learners, this is a huge problem! You can't even unlock the Capstone Project until you successfully complete this 9-week, extremely difficult course. From learning about social computing you are suddenly watching a series of lecture videos where the professor is just running lines and lines of R codes that he previously wrote and talking in stats/R jargon.

They really need to restructure this course ASAP: (1) Spend more time on teaching and explaining the various stats concepts (2) Examples, exercises, quizzes that help us practice how to choose an appropriate experiment design, identify factors/levels and choose an appropriate stats test (3) Consider other stats softwares that are being used in the tech world today that are WAY more user friendly (e.g. Exploratory- that helps simplify and use R). (4) SHOW US HOW TO INTERPRET EXPERIMENT RESULTS AND APPLY THOSE RESULTS TO IMPROVE OUR DESIGN. (5) OR make this course independent and replace it with something that is actually meaningful to this specialization.

You don't need to learn R coding in order to be successful at most design job out there. If you are an amateur in stats, I would just be really cautious going into this course. It is not impossible to complete but I don't think it will improve your understanding or help you be a better designer.

교육 기관: Dimitra R

Mar 29, 2020

I'm sure it's a very helpful course for people who specifically need R training or are familiar with statistical computing , but it shouldn't have been part of the Interaction Design specialization. It's extremely complicated, assumes a lot of previous knowledge, and feels hardly applicable or related to the previous courses. It was a complete pain from start to finish, like being back in school in an obscure math class you have zero interest in, especially after completing 6 interesting design courses full of practical assignments. Even the title is misleading as there was nothing about designing, running and analyzing experiments (that actually sounds interesting) - this course is more like 'running data analysis tasks on Rstudio' and that's about it. If we did need some kind of glimpse into this world for the specialization, a simple 'Introduction to Social Statistics' or somethings similar would have gone a long way.

교육 기관: Tania C

Jan 09, 2017

NOT FOR PEOPLE WHO DON'T KNOW R TOOL!

This course needs an interesting approach to keep students wanting to study. The teaching method was boring. The professor was reading things from the screen 90% of the times (he looked bored himself). The topics covered in this course need more time for students to understand 10 weeks are insufficient.

교육 기관: Gabriella F

Apr 06, 2017

This is the specialisation that sucks all joy out of the entire course. 6 month on and I am still on week 2. The software and the provided files are not fully working, something is always missing, constant error messages... If you don't have background in statistics, you will have a very difficult time.

교육 기관: Christoph H

Apr 03, 2016

Overall the videos related to the quizzes are to vague and un detailed, I more often than not feel lost.

Also this should not be part of the interaction design specialisation, and just be a small part of another course.

Not once have I needed R or statistic in my 7 year design career.

교육 기관: Jayneil D

Nov 06, 2017

The course content is really valuable but the follow up exercises are really difficult to solve on your own. There is not enough explanation given in the lectures by the professor and its really difficult. Some of the answers are incorrect yet no explanation is given.

교육 기관: Jorge E

Apr 04, 2016

Disappointed ... very technical course and not so practical for today's world, there is a lot of terms and subjects that you require a good background in statistics analysis to understand well. It is a shame that this take part of the specialization program.

교육 기관: Orit S

Apr 11, 2017

Too much statistics, too much coding and inadequate instruction. This is not a coding specialization and if I wanted to learn coding I would have taken a coding course! This 9 weeks course has been a nightmare!

교육 기관: Katie T

Jun 03, 2017

This class was terrible. The homework took significant leaps beyond the in-class exercises, it was hard to follow, and definitely overwhelming for someone without R, programming, or statistics experience.

교육 기관: Anastasiya S

Oct 23, 2017

I have no statistics background so I'm struggling to make any sense out of this course. I wish I could skip it but it is mandatory to proceed to capstone project of the specialization.

교육 기관: Alwin K

Sep 26, 2018

There are lots of issues with different version of R and the compatibility with some packages. Especially Mac users can't finish specific tasks.

교육 기관: Muhammad Q

Oct 19, 2017

not helpful , extremely difficult for non programming background people , out of context of the course , bad teaching material and approach

교육 기관: Wendy B

Mar 24, 2016

Not recommended. Not clear why we need to use R and learn all this statistics. Not practical for use in UX design.

교육 기관: Keenan W

Mar 20, 2016

Little to no use for me. Should not be included in the specialization... I didn't sign up for a data class...

교육 기관: Fernando B G

Apr 22, 2018

Needed to much knowledge of the R language and has little to do with design

교육 기관: Alex K

Aug 29, 2017

This has been the most frustrating experience of my digital life.

교육 기관: Daryna A

Dec 16, 2016

Too much theory less practical things.

교육 기관: Dariia O

Oct 07, 2020

It is rather intense (which means - very informative) course and I enjoyed it very much. It helped me understand the principles of the experimental design, how to read data analysis reports and the logic behind statistical analysis techniques.

I've read many negative reviews before starting the course and was very nervous at first. But even without any programming background, it was possible to follow the instructions and complete the coding tasks for me. In any case, the course doesn't require you to code, but mostly copy-paste the provided code and insert new values. You just need to slightly understand what is what in R studio.

All of that being said, I want to add big thanks to the tutor - Jacob Wobbrock. You managed to evoke curiosity towards statistical analysis in me - something I've never expected to happen :D Now I am eager to explore more in this field.

교육 기관: Carlos M D

Sep 23, 2016

Amazing class. Covers a great deal of statistical methods and explains them in a plain/clear/accessible way with good examples.

It cuts through the chase and gives you what you need to know (the real essentials) from a practical standpoint. You will not get a lot of theory (for that, there are plenty additional courses) but you will get enough theory to select the right method for each scenario.

It will not teach you to program in R from zero (for that there are many other courses) but it will jump start you with snippets of code that you can read, understand, modify, and use.

Real useful stuff... done the proper way...

교육 기관: Juliana E R

Jun 07, 2017

I could immediatly implement the concepts and instruments provided in this course to my professional activity. I must say that I have a poor training in statistics and a superficial knowledge of R, but I needed to implement more professional usertests (I'm an instructional designer with a background on education).

I really enjoyed the clear explanations; above all, how the concepts where linked to R practice, which was thrilling to me.

Thanks to the team! Great course!

Juliana

교육 기관: Julie B

Oct 17, 2018

This course was extremely helpful in understanding which statistical test to use when, with applications specifically for interaction design, which is what I need :) I appreciated the clear relationship between the lectures and the quizzes & assignments. The lectures also were clear. The course was broken up into doable chunks that made it easy to take while still having a full-time job.

교육 기관: Anastasia T

Jun 08, 2016

That course was going to drive me mad but it's one of the most useful parts of the specialization. I already know where to use it in my job as most people listen to numbers more. I think that the problems that appeared in the process of calculating the results are some bugs in R and have nothing to do with the design of the course. Good job, Jacob and Scott! You're great, guys!

교육 기관: Victoria

Aug 13, 2019

Great course on experimental design providing a detailed overview of running and interpreting factorial ANOVAs beyond the 'standard' t-test and chi-squared test. Given that the bulk of the assessment is based on analysis of experiment data in the R programming environment , I can see why this course may be challenging for those without programming or statistical knowledge.

교육 기관: Gez Q

Oct 02, 2016

Excellent course. Very well organised. Challenging yet satisfying. Jacob Wobbrock is a very good tutor and despite the complex nature of the course material, he is engaging and thorough in his approach but leaving just enough for the student to explore and practice on their own. Very enjoyable. Thanks