Chevron Left
Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach(으)로 돌아가기

연세 대학교의 Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
140개의 평가
33개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Discounted cash flow method means that we can find firm value by discounting future cash flows of a firm. That is, firm value is present value of cash flows a firm generates in the future. In order to understand the meaning of present value, we are going to discuss time value of money, first. That is, the value of $100 today is different from the value of $100 a year later. Then, what should be the present value of $100 that you are going to receive in 1 year? How about the value of $100 dollars that you are going to receive every year for next 10 years? How about forever? After taking this course, you are going to be able to find the present value of these types of cash flows in the future. Unlike most of finance courses, in this course, you are going to learn how to use excel to find present value of future cash flows. In addition to the present value, you are also going to learn how to find future value given investment; interest rate given investment and future cash flows, payments given interest rates, number of periods to wait given investment and interest rate, and so on. After learning the concept and how to find the time value of money, you are going to apply this to real world examples and company valuation. After taking this course, you will be ready to make an estimate of firm value by discounting its cash flows in the future....

최상위 리뷰

CM

Apr 29, 2019

Amazing how easy the teacher explains financial concepts that helps you through the entire specialization and to successfully do valuations using discounted cash flows.

DK

Nov 10, 2018

Loved the course! The quizzes and cases really test your knowledge and make sure you understood the concepts and not just theoretically but practically

필터링 기준:

Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach의 33개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Shruti V

May 06, 2019

The course is very good if you need to understand how excel works in valuation per se. However, course title "Valuation for Startups using DCF" and the course don't go hand in hand. There is absolutely nothing here that speaks of how to specifically use DCF in the valuation of a startup. I was expecting more examples on these lines given the title of the course.

교육 기관: Francisco F

Jul 08, 2019

I think some explanations on finance concepts are shallow. It basically teaches you some formulas on excel for Bond valuation and then expands it for enterprise valuation. This is a good approach, but I think there should be at least a week of courses with the ground rules of finance concepts. Also, by the end it felt a bit rushed and there was little explanation on why each formula was used.

Moreover, I think there should be a bit more direction on the assignements, such as the number formatting expected.

교육 기관: Carmen M S

Jun 13, 2019

Very useful, easy to follow, easy to understand, practical examples, perfect course for a beginners in valuation analysis

교육 기관: Lidiya G N

May 19, 2019

The teacher is really great, honestly, he made more sense than my finance teacher and I completed my bachelors in finance.

교육 기관: saurabh k

May 02, 2019

The course is structured appropriately and progresses well by explaining examples. The problems and examples are quite good. Overall a five star rating!

However, it progresses fast and only sticks to excel based computing without illuminating on the fundamental concepts much. If not taught through the formulae based computing , this course would be difficult for complete beginners.

교육 기관: Carlos J B M

Apr 29, 2019

Amazing how easy the teacher explains financial concepts that helps you through the entire specialization and to successfully do valuations using discounted cash flows.

교육 기관: giacomo p

Apr 26, 2019

The course has good content but it is not focused on startups

교육 기관: Derek S

Apr 05, 2019

Hard to understand the lecturer.

교육 기관: Julian V

Mar 23, 2019

The course gives some good insight and concepts with the matter and some tools.

However, for a person with no precedent knowledge with that (financial) matter, it requires some "brain gymnastic" and important notions need to be more detailed (i.e Terminal Value in 3.3 and 4.1).

Furthermore, the degree of complexity between the quiz and the courses is to large, despite the forum provided some hints or partial answer. Additional examples similar to the quiz should be provided.

I was hoping for a more streamline method. If I have to value a company in the future, I would like to have a clear step-by-step method I could go back to and use.

교육 기관: Peter S

Mar 04, 2019

Videos and Instruction were enjoyable. Quizzes were convoluted

교육 기관: David W

Jan 20, 2019

Excellent! Very clear. Linking DCF to bonds was very helpful.

교육 기관: Dayanand K

Nov 10, 2018

Loved the course! The quizzes and cases really test your knowledge and make sure you understood the concepts and not just theoretically but practically

교육 기관: Marco F O C

Sep 23, 2018

no son claras las preguntas

교육 기관: Javier L G D R

Aug 30, 2018

Lacks explanation for minicase

교육 기관: Vanessa R M

Aug 06, 2018

The final quizz does not have the format of how answers should be

교육 기관: Justin W

Jul 09, 2018

Great information to start with the DCF approach. A number of assets (e.g., .xlsx files) were not available when they were supposed to be. Also, there's much to be done to foster collaboration (e.g., study groups) with the users taking the course. I appreciate the introduction, however.

교육 기관: Zia

Apr 15, 2018

Worth it.

Simple & easy to understand

Minor Issues existed in the Final test which needed some clrification

교육 기관: Anandkumar S

Apr 08, 2018

Lectures are clear. The quizzes are also OK, but I think rounding off instructions need to be made clearer in order to quickly move through the evaluation assignments. One possibility is a slight language barrier between instructors' team (Korean) and an English speaking audience. But this did not deter me from making quick progress through this course. Most of the slideshow and lecture material is clear and any clarifications that are sought are answered within 24-48 hours latest. I am quite satisfied with this course and I would recommend it for beginners in this subject area.

교육 기관: Xingzhang Z

Apr 01, 2018

quizzes are generally more difficult than taught in the videos - prior knowledge in finance is somewhat needed.

교육 기관: SRINIVAS R

Mar 24, 2018

The content i felt was less elaborate and left me gasping while doing the final quiz, which needs to be revoked at it terms of answers input. Also it would help to have couple of questions like the final quiz provided with answers provided along with explanation, which the will cut down our un necessary queries on discussion group.

Delivery of this course in that direction could be improved further.

교육 기관: Jordan C

Mar 07, 2018

Quiz questions were difficult considering the 3 attempt limit. Explanations for the solutions to questions are certainly needed and is lacking in the course currently. Personally, I still don't know what the terminal value was for the mini quiz and how to calculate in that particular example. A solution template for all the quizzes would be helpful.

교육 기관: Manas G

Feb 28, 2018

It is the best course i am ever doing in my life in coursera.Its leveraging my skills to how value a company whether its a startup or a established Company.There are actually various methods of valuing a company whether its a DCF or WACC Method. The course also helps to do valuations in The EXCEL Also wit full swing.

교육 기관: Matteo B

Dec 28, 2017

Some questions in the quiz might be expressed in a more clear way. But overall interesting and helpful to refresh some university studies!

교육 기관: Aditi V

Dec 26, 2017

Difficulty level is low.

교육 기관: Marcel M d A P

Dec 02, 2017

The only thing that was missing was a more detailed explanation about the format of the typed answers in the quizes. Apart from that the course is a great introduction.