Chevron Left
Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs(으)로 돌아가기

국립 연구 고등 경제 대학의 Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
269개의 평가
64개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The main goal of this course is to introduce topics in Discrete Mathematics relevant to Data Analysis. We will start with a brief introduction to combinatorics, the branch of mathematics that studies how to count. Basics of this topic are critical for anyone working in Data Analysis or Computer Science. We will illustrate new knowledge, for example, by counting the number of features in data or by estimating the time required for a Python program to run. Next, we will apply our knowledge in combinatorics to study basic Probability Theory. Probability is everywhere in Data Analysis and we will study it in much more details later. Our goals for probability section in this course will be to give initial flavor of this field. Finally, we will study the combinatorial structure that is the most relevant for Data Analysis, namely graphs. Graphs can be found everywhere around us and we will provide you with numerous examples. We will mainly concentrate in this course on the graphs of social networks. We will provide you with relevant notions from the graph theory, illustrate them on the graphs of social networks and will study their basic properties. In the end of the course we will have a project related to social network graphs. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in Python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in Data Analysis, starting from motivated high school students....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Feb 28, 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs\n\nthe first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

LR

Mar 31, 2020

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

필터링 기준:

Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs의 62개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Manmohan K

Jun 21, 2020

Very good course

교육 기관: TANGIRALA S P S

Feb 24, 2020

good session

교육 기관: Mohammad S

Jun 12, 2020

Great course

교육 기관: Pham L Q N

Jul 05, 2020

Very good

교육 기관: Ahmed A

May 23, 2020

Thank you

교육 기관: MR. J T R A

May 26, 2020

GOOD

교육 기관: SREEYA N

Feb 25, 2020

good

교육 기관: John T S

Apr 26, 2020

I think the coverage of materials was very good. Sometimes there were holes in the presentation: a few grammar conventions (rather understandably) made for confusing moments. The quizzes sometimes presented things which were a bit less explained than they might have been... but then on the other hand they required a bit of independent looking-around, which was not bad. (One example was the 'number of isomorphisms' question, which was needlessly perplexing for someone just introduced to the formal definitions, and didn't know what sort of wrinkles might be added. Or maybe that was a good way of thinking downward from the presented idea, even if it was in itself very simple. I'm not sure.) Perhaps a few more visualizations would have been helpful, too... the ideas are abstract, but I (personally) find visualizations a good way in. Also, perhaps the python loops could have been more used. They are quite demonstrative -- the relation between tuples and permutations, in particular... but maybe there are some nice ways of doing that. Anyhow, I enjoyed the unsimple simplicity of it.

교육 기관: Jack K

Aug 11, 2020

Mostly this was a very well explained course, especially where visuals are used (and just maths jargon). The teachers take the concepts and step you through them very clearly in most cases, though sometimes when the concepts get more complex, learners like myself would appreciate if it could not rushed through.

교육 기관: Andrew A

Mar 15, 2020

This course was challenging, but manageable. I like that 100% correct answers are required on the exams, which forces you to understand all the key points. The information in the course material relates enough to the exams, so if you understand the concepts, the assessment is quite doable.

교육 기관: Zhao Y

Apr 04, 2020

Very good introduction for newbees. I like the style that it gives you a lot of quiz immediately after the teaching vedio. The only thing to improve is the introduction to the finnal assignment, which is some how misleading. But after consulting on the forum, I finally have it done.

교육 기관: Vasily K

May 20, 2020

First part of the course (Combinatorics) is not so interesting as the others due to not-very-good English of lecturer (sometimes he's not-understandable, sometimes the speach is monotonous).

교육 기관: CHAN K

Apr 15, 2020

Generally it is a great course but sometimes a new concept is being introduced in a few minutes and it takes time to digest.

교육 기관: Somanath K

Aug 13, 2020

The questions given in assignments and the points discussed in lectures always does not have any resemblance.

교육 기관: Felix

Aug 18, 2020

The first and second lecturer is fine. The third one is not so clear in explaining materials.

교육 기관: Eran S

Aug 25, 2020

Interesting course on a fascinating subject. I wish questions were a bit more challenging.

교육 기관: Issam B

Apr 17, 2020

It's a good course. This is my first step in graph theory and that 's so interesting.

교육 기관: Rangam H

May 20, 2020

Course was good with hands on experience

교육 기관: k v r

Apr 04, 2020

good content covered with good examples

교육 기관: Yamil A M F

Jul 08, 2020

Good course, sometimes hard to follow.

교육 기관: Mohammed R

Jan 27, 2020

THe talking less clear for me

교육 기관: Gokul A S

Jul 02, 2020

Good

교육 기관: j s k

Feb 24, 2020

good

교육 기관: Adam D

Jun 28, 2020

This course is fairly clearly presented, but it's really three disconnected mini courses squished together. The section on combinatorics is only loosely applied in the probability section. Neither the combinatorics nor the probability parts are really necessary in the graph theory section. That said, the information presentation is fairly solid. It would be vastly improved by adding in more practice problems. I always felt like I understood the material, but I know that I will forget it quickly since I didn't have to practice it much. The final coding project was a complete joke. The hardest part was figuring out how to format the submission files (you just need two text files, one for each numeric answer. In each file, include absolutely nothing except the number)

교육 기관: Nicholas D

Mar 19, 2020

For the most part it is good and I feel like I learned a lot about subject I wasn't sure I could handle at first. The final programming was challenging which was, but since it was not that related to the rest of the course and the professors did not provide additional background on it, it took me months to complete. I just feel the course would benefit if students are gradually introduced to this assignment over the course of several weeks.