Chevron Left
이산형 최적화(으)로 돌아가기

멜버른 대학교의 이산형 최적화 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
669개의 평가

강좌 소개

Tired of solving Sudokus by hand? This class teaches you how to solve complex search problems with discrete optimization concepts and algorithms, including constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming. Optimization technology is ubiquitous in our society. It schedules planes and their crews, coordinates the production of steel, and organizes the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Optimization clears the day-ahead and real-time markets to deliver electricity to millions of people. It organizes kidney exchanges and cancer treatments and helps scientists understand the fundamental fabric of life, control complex chemical reactions, and design drugs that may benefit billions of individuals. This class is an introduction to discrete optimization and exposes students to some of the most fundamental concepts and algorithms in the field. It covers constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming from their foundations to their applications for complex practical problems in areas such as scheduling, vehicle routing, supply-chain optimization, and resource allocation....

최상위 리뷰

SK

2019년 5월 29일

Exceptional coverage of optimization fundamentals. Learning of practical applied methods. Real university level course, no water down "data science". Absolutely love it! Thank you professor Pascal.

JB

2017년 7월 21일

Great course, the teacher is very clear and often goes into sufficient depth for the student to understand concepts.

Assignments are challenging and help understanding course content.

필터링 기준:

이산형 최적화의 151개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Michael G

2022년 3월 23일

This was not an easy course and it consumed more time than I expected, but it was worth the effort and I learned a lot. Professor Pascal Van Hentenryck is a very engaging teacher. Even for complex topics his explanations are clear and to the point and illustrated by interesting examples. He has a very special body language and an amazing screen presence. The assignments were challenging, but essential to the learning process. Overall, this was possibly the best online training that I have ever taken.

교육 기관: Manuel A

2019년 9월 8일

A very comprehensive and challening course on optimization. Algorithms are explained at a high level and is up to the student to implement them (on any language, but Python is sugested). Canonical problems in optimization are tackled, such as TSP, VRP and facility location. As a Data Scientist with no Computer Science background, implementing those algorithms to pass assignmets have been very challenging. Industrial solvers like ortools, gurobi, etc. can be used, but they are not covered.

교육 기관: Marcin W

2016년 12월 23일

One of the best and most interesting courses I have taken a part in. Very demanding and frustrating sometimes but absolutely brilliant. Interesting lectures, problems to solve, etc. Small improvement in my opinion can be achieved in two areas:

1. I could not get used to instructor's showmanship and he sometimes covers up the slides.

2. I would suggest changing submission format not to post code but solution. In this case we would not be limited in programming language's choice.

교육 기관: Li H

2018년 1월 6일

The programming assignments of this course are very challenge and the pursuit of the 'Good Optimization' is torturous, especially after Knapsack Problem, such as the TSP, Facility Problem and VRP. However, the sense of achievement gained when you passed the online judge is also unspeakable. Last but not least, Professor Pascal Van Hentenryck is really a nice man, he is humorous and charming. Wish you a memorable and nice experiences on the on the journey of OPTIMIZATION.

교육 기관: Tom B

2020년 6월 3일

One of the most challenging courses I have taken, but extremely rewarding. The course does not hand hold you through assignments but rather uses the lectures to introduce and explain concepts (exceptionally well).

The assignments support a wide variety of approaches and typically require extensive further research and understanding.

They are not kidding about the time commitment, but if you can make the time for it this is an incredible course - highly recommend

교육 기관: Pedro J

2020년 6월 4일

I already knew some concepts but with this course i am able to finally understand them. It is very well explained and it goes through a lot of topics in discrete optimization, giving a good theoretical and experimental basis.

The assignments are hard but very rewarding when you complete them. They push you to think about the problem and how to solve it, even with the right tools you still have to put everything together, just like in a real world situation.

교육 기관: Øystein S

2018년 6월 27일

Good course. The instructor is really a fast talker and it may be hard to grasp everything at the first time you watch the videos. About the assignments: The assignments are really hard. Yes! Really really hard. I've never taken any MOOC course where the assignments are so hard. Al in all, I can say that this course really thought me something about discrete optimization, and I would love to learn even more about this interesting field.

교육 기관: Michael R S

2022년 6월 20일

This is an amazing course, Pascal is very enthusiastic, informative and entertaining. The assignments are tough and a great way of improving my/your programming skills. Lots to read about too, as these are classic real-world problems where the optimum solution would take far too long to compute. Wasn't sure I'd even be able to pass each assignment until I eventually did. A real Indiana Jones journey! Thank you!

교육 기관: Anders A

2018년 9월 19일

This is my fifth or sixt online course on coursera, and it is without a doubt the best one I have done. Apart from the little goofy start with Indiana Jones, I simple loved the course. There was a lot of useful material covering what would have been several courses at my university. The assignments were challenging, sometimes frustrating, but really fun as well. I had a lot of fun doing this course.

교육 기관: Hichem C

2022년 3월 25일

Wow, Wow, Wow I discovered something in computer science, I didn't know it's so interesting and challenging. Constraint Programming !!! (you don't have to code and develop your algorithms !!!) You need to know that it exists, and know how to connect the wires !!! between your real problem and the Constraint Programming Solvers !!! Thanks for the excellent teatcher !!! thanks thanks thanks !!!

교육 기관: himanshu k

2022년 3월 22일

Really enjoyed doing the assignments of this course, the only challenge is that some of the test cases in assignments took a lot of time to get solved, hence it would be good suggestion to give an estimate on how much time to solve each test case can be considered as practical. The rest of the course offereda very good learning and insights to further dig into the hto topics

교육 기관: DS

2020년 8월 26일

Amazing course! The Lecturer is not only a leader in the field, but also an excellent educator. The concepts are explained clearly. Historical remarks and anecdotes bring the material to life. I also really enjoyed the assignments. They were challenging and quite time-consuming, but very helpful toward the learning experience.

교육 기관: Zoltan B

2021년 2월 23일

Amazing course, one of the best in this topic. Its so motivating how Pascal Van Hentenryck is presenting the lectures with that much enthusiasm and then all the programming assignments are also very well crafted. It is obvious how much work has been done to create this course. Thank you very much for this amazing course!

교육 기관: Vasiliy C

2020년 5월 5일

Just finished the last assignment and want to say huge thanks to prof. Van Hentenryck and all the crew for putting their efforts into this brilliant course. One of the best courses I've done on Coursera.

PS : to all who is just starting this course - embrace yourself, the ride is gonna be though but it's woth it!

교육 기관: Shihan, Z

2019년 7월 5일

I appreciate the enthusiasm from the professor's teaching. Also the quality of the homework is very high, which help me deeply understand the concept about optimization methods. I highly recommend this course to all the people who desire the basic knowledge about NP-hard problem, and optimization thought.

교육 기관: Edmund

2019년 9월 28일

Difficult course, but rewarding once you have completed the assignments. This course presents a variety of discrete optimization problems to be solved. Great course overall, although I wish the course is structured such that we don't need to read research papers to complete the assignments.

교육 기관: Aliaksei K

2017년 7월 16일

One of the most challenging and interesting sources among all that I've passed so far. The lector has it's own hilarious style of teaching. All the material is carefully created and well structured. Every time that you pass the programming assignment, you feel that it's a real achievement.

교육 기관: Andrew K

2019년 10월 30일

Best course I have done so far on Coursera. The assignments are the best part of the course and are very challenging but ensure that you learn and understand the material. You will want to have some programming experience as you will need to code optimization algorithms from scratch.

교육 기관: Francisco J R S

2020년 4월 12일

Awesome! It was my very first course on this platform and I coudn't be more satisfied. The main instructor was hilarious sometimes and finally I terminated to love him hahaha. It's dense but this course it is perfect to any student of computer science, maths or economics.

교육 기관: Guillaume F

2021년 2월 9일

Very challenging as the assignments can be very hard, especially if you want to write your own algorithms and not use a pre-existing tool. The teacher is fantastic, very clear and enthusiastic at the same time, you can feel the passion from his presentations.

교육 기관: Leo

2020년 1월 21일

I was surprised how clear are the Lectures. It's such fun taking this course. We use the techniques (Dynamic Progrmaming, Local Search, etc) to solve those NP-complete problems. Highly recommond it to anyone who wants to refresh their optimization skills.

교육 기관: Chitrang S

2019년 3월 31일

Excellent Course, I would highly recommend for all algorithmist and programmers. It step by steps teaches how to approach NP-hard problems. The way the professor teaches make this highly difficult subject easy. Of-course assignments are very challenging.

교육 기관: hope

2019년 8월 26일

The best course on Coursera. Unlike the do-it-by-rote Deep Learning classes, there is much creativity and freedom in tackling all assignments. The assignments are stimulating, challenging, and approximate real life problem solving very well.

교육 기관: Erick L d S

2020년 5월 4일

This is a really challenging and demanding course! Give me a great fundamentals of discrete optimization and make me think how to solve many classical hard problem as Traveling salesman Problem and Vehicle routing problem. It worth it!

교육 기관: Carlos V

2017년 4월 1일

If you want to understand better optimization techniques, this is an excellent Course, the explanations and examples are one of the best, the Course is also very challenging but worth the time and effort, you will learn a lot.