Chevron Left
From Disease to Genes and Back(으)로 돌아가기

노보시비르스크 주립 대학교 의 From Disease to Genes and Back 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
232개의 평가
45개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Human genetics explores the genetically determined similarities and differences between human beings. This scientific discipline encompasses a variety of related fields such as molecular genetics, genomics, population genetics and medical genetics. Study of human genetics can help to find answers to questions regarding the inheritance and development of different human phenotypes. The field of medical genetics is quickly growing and dynamically developing thanks to the new technologies such as the next-generation sequencing. Most human diseases have a genetic component. This genetic component varies by disease. Some rare diseases appear to be completely determined by the genome, whereas more common diseases arise from a complex interplay of many genes, the environment and chance. The understanding of how our genomes contribute to disease susceptibility offers the prospect of large gains: it may guide disease diagnostics and prognostics and help in developing new therapies. The overall goal of this course is to describe how the researchers find genes responsible for different diseases and how this information is used to better understand and fight these diseases. You will learn about current approaches for finding single genetic variants underlying monogenic (Mendelian) diseases and sets of variants responsible for more complex, multifactorial ones. Furthermore, you will learn how the identification of these genetic variants makes it possible to understand how the affected biological pathways lead to disease development. During the final week of the course, we will talk more about clinical applications of the genetic findings. Upon completing the course, you will be able to: - give examples of monogenic and complex disorders - recognise patterns of Mendelian inheritance of monogenic diseases; - understand and describe principles and methods of gene mapping ; - describe the main steps and principles of genome-wide association studies (GWAS); - give examples of modern technologies that are currently used to find variants underlying human diseases; - discuss the approaches to finding causative variants underlying complex disorders; - discuss the possibilities and areas of application of genetic findings....

최상위 리뷰

PF
2020년 12월 3일

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

AP
2020년 6월 29일

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

필터링 기준:

From Disease to Genes and Back의 46개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Mohamed N S M E

2020년 2월 1일

Very informative course. It was most fruitful in week 4 about genome wide association studies (GWAS).

교육 기관: Patricia A F

2020년 12월 4일

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

교육 기관: Farbod E L

2018년 9월 27일

Highly recommended!

An interesting, up-to-date course with eye-catching and well designed videos.

교육 기관: Analeigh G

2018년 4월 3일

This course is well organised. The course materials are new. I've learnt many of the concepts in this course years ago. I feel many of my knowledge is outdated. This course is a great refreshment and add-on.

교육 기관: Anuradha P

2020년 6월 30일

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

교육 기관: Dayan V

2020년 4월 13일

It is a complete course for specially biotechnology and genetics. Not only the medical and biological aspect is explained but also the mathematical: how to understand and calculate genetic information/data. Im about to enter to the university so I do not have any higher education, however it was actually not that difficult if you study every day!

교육 기관: lcy9086

2019년 11월 7일

this is a fairly hard course(especially for week 4) I would not suggest anyone who is not studying in this field to take it. More help and clearer illustrations are definitely needed to complete this course and understand the material

교육 기관: Francisco A

2021년 7월 28일

A​ very interesting course, it gives you a very close view of the best approaches to identify causative genes in human populations. It doesn't spend too much time reviewing basic Genetics concepts. Instead, it deepens on the methods to identify potential problems in the analysis of data from DNA sequencing, giving good advice on how to avoid false positives. I truly recommend this course to anybody who wants to know more about how to identify causative genes for rare diseases.

교육 기관: amoulay

2021년 3월 27일

This is an amazing course. Weeks 4 and 5 were a bit f a challenge but overall, excellent work. My only wish is that the course should have a real practical example of GWAS study to takes students through the many steps of the computational and statistical analysis. Perhaps something to think about for a future edition of the course.

교육 기관: Diego

2020년 9월 18일

Realmente un curso muy informativo y muy interesante, aunque no son necesarios conocimientos previos recomiendo que la persona que tome el curso tenga conocimiento básico de biología molecular y Genética

교육 기관: Zaeem Z

2020년 3월 26일

this is extremely good course and it was very helpful for my research

교육 기관: RA H

2019년 10월 3일

Loved the course though I believe there´re some topics that could be explained in a better detail as in the case of population genetics and estimations of some math calculations but in general the course is really great, remarkable lecturers. Recommended.

교육 기관: ABIRE A

2020년 7월 18일

It is a really interesting course, very enriching for me as a medical doctor interested in genetics and research. I hardly recommend it for all scientists and students working on genetics research and application

교육 기관: PRACHI S O

2020년 5월 24일

Very Interesting subject!! All the professors explained it in a very simple way, easy to understand. Quizzes before and after session and weekly are very useful - must to attempt to understand where we are.

I strongly suggest it for Biological Science students interested in Human Genetics. Thanks a lot to all professors!!!

교육 기관: Чуйко Э А

2018년 11월 24일

Очень классный курс. Прям видны огромные старания, которые стоят за этой работой! Годнотаааа. Просто огромное спасибо авторам курса за прекрасный материал! Даже после прохождения курса будет полезным возвращаться к нему. И отдельное спасибо за огромное количество дополнительного материала! В общем 10/10, мастхев.

교육 기관: Thennakoon M D D

2020년 7월 26일

Such a excellent and informative course!!!!!!!I have learnt new concepts in deep.They are very useful for my studies.I would like to thank to all the lecturers and coursera for giving me this golden opportunity.Again thank you!!!

교육 기관: Esra Y

2019년 10월 24일

It was really helpful for me to refresh my memory and learn additional information. It helped me a lot in order to study in order and to cover all the topics that I should review.

교육 기관: Eric B

2021년 4월 5일

This is an excellent course, very clear. I was not expecting that much of coverage and depth. Easily worth the 5 star ratings

교육 기관: D S i A

2021년 5월 10일

the course is exceptional and the teachers are great in dealing with the details of the course

교육 기관: Aldo T C P

2021년 9월 27일

Excellent course, which covers many topics in genetics with valuable information on each one.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 12월 30일

Fun and interesting course. Great review of material I had forgotten, sadly.

교육 기관: Томилин М А

2019년 12월 16일

ТОП What a great course, thanks all the cousemakers for such a nice work.

교육 기관: Mishaal F

2020년 10월 10일

the entire journey was filled with lot of knowledge, thank you

교육 기관: Hrushikesh L

2020년 8월 9일

Nice introduction to genetics behind complex diseases

교육 기관: Tanisi R

2020년 8월 9일

amazing course. very informative and well explained.