Chevron Left
Distributed Programming in Java(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Distributed Programming in Java 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
440개의 평가
71개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of Distributed Programming in the context of Java 8. Distributed programming enables developers to use multiple nodes in a data center to increase throughput and/or reduce latency of selected applications. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular distributed programming frameworks for Java programs, including Hadoop, Spark, Sockets, Remote Method Invocation (RMI), Multicast Sockets, Kafka, Message Passing Interface (MPI), as well as different approaches to combine distribution with multithreading. Why take this course? • All data center servers are organized as collections of distributed servers, and it is important for you to also learn how to use multiple servers for increased bandwidth and reduced latency. • In addition to learning specific frameworks for distributed programming, this course will teach you how to integrate multicore and distributed parallelism in a unified approach. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Distributed map-reduce programming in Java using the Hadoop and Spark frameworks • Client-server programming using Java's Socket and Remote Method Invocation (RMI) interfaces • Message-passing programming in Java using the Message Passing Interface (MPI) • Approaches to combine distribution with multithreading, including processes and threads, distributed actors, and reactive programming Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of distributed Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other distributed programming frameworks that you may encounter in the future (e.g., in Scala or C++)....

최상위 리뷰

DH
2017년 9월 16일

Great course. The first programming assignment was challenging and well worth the time invested, I would recommend it for anyone that wants to learn parallel programming in Java.

AM
2020년 5월 30일

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Distributed Programming in Java course!

필터링 기준:

Distributed Programming in Java의 71개 리뷰 중 51~71

교육 기관: Andrew G

2020년 3월 1일

I will start with the teacher. The teacher is clearly very knowledgeable about the subject and is great at articulating things in a way that is understandable. I do think that some of the lectures about different paradigms focused too much on a specific application, as opposed to more general concepts about the paradigm, but overall this was not a big detractor at all.

The min projects were a bit too mini for my taste. I didn't feel that I learned any one thing as much as hoped. For instance, Spark seems really cool, but I only ended up writing a single function for the project. Perhaps this my fault for having the incorrect expectations.

Overall, a good quick intro to the various aspects to distributed programming in Java, with a relatively small time commitment.

교육 기관: Benjamin G J

2018년 8월 13일

Solidly worth the money!

The lectures and references are perfect, and the perspective is super helpful. The exercises still need work, but they still provide a good foundation for learning this material.

For the maintainers, a good model for compound assignments of graduated difficulty is the sbt-moderated grading for the scala sequence. I think you did a very good job within the (maybe self-imposed?) constraint of single file upload, but this is the only major area allowing any improvement in this excellent course!

교육 기관: Daniel B

2020년 5월 2일

Useful course overall, but a bit too short and too basic in covering a number of concepts. The MPI homework was needlessly painful due to inability to run under Windows other than by repeatedly submitting to the autograder as well as annoying undocumented "feature" of MPI_Isend in combination with MPI_Waitall that cost me 2 days.

교육 기관: Satchit N

2020년 5월 2일

The concepts taught were clear and precise which helped me with an ongoing project. It would have been really better if the mini-projects were a bit more complicated.

교육 기관: prabhakar k

2020년 5월 28일

thanks to coursera platform,to learn new way to solving distributed problem in java

교육 기관: Marcos N F

2019년 7월 13일

Excellent course and instructor. It is a nice introduction to several subjects.

교육 기관: Saifuddin M

2017년 9월 22일

The course was well laid out and introduced me to some new concepts.

교육 기관: Jimmy C C

2020년 7월 4일

Great lectures. I really learned a lot about distributed computing.

교육 기관: thiago a d m

2018년 5월 5일

First two courses are better. This one is quick and a little vague

교육 기관: Dima B

2017년 9월 25일

I would expect more indepth details about topics

교육 기관: sugashini.T (

2020년 5월 13일

nice experience. i have learned a lot programs.

교육 기관: Susmit S

2019년 12월 9일

The instructor was not clear with his approach

교육 기관: Samuele M

2018년 5월 29일

Course does not go too deep in arguments, but gives a quite basic knowledge about distributed data structures and algorithms.

교육 기관: MIAO K

2017년 9월 16일

Programming assignment is some what easy, I think it my be better to require student to finished the complete code.

교육 기관: Ramavtar M

2019년 6월 26일

The basicness of this course is simply unexpectable. It makes you "Jack of all trades, master of none".

교육 기관: Atsuya K

2018년 2월 5일

Covers topics not in the EPFL's distributed computing course. Assignments are trivial.

교육 기관: RAVI P

2018년 7월 2일

Good course for over view of all the concepts related to Distributed Programming.

교육 기관: Ankit M

2020년 5월 24일

Good course. I think MPI and Actors could use a lot more lectures and exercise.

교육 기관: Mehul P

2019년 10월 8일

Please provide a detailed explanation to give some background knowledge.

교육 기관: Yatin G

2017년 9월 10일

There are issues in the assignments created, and those are just due to negligence. The content is also not so challenging and teaching is average. Wont recommend the course at all

교육 기관: Keesun B

2018년 3월 9일

Very poor rating system for mini project 4. Why don't you fix the problem?