Chevron Left
Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
8,707개의 평가
1,890개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

최상위 리뷰

JS

Jan 13, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

필터링 기준:

Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS의 1,862개 리뷰 중 1651~1675

교육 기관: kyla d

Oct 28, 2015

i like it alot

교육 기관: J.SWETHA

May 25, 2020

Easy to learn

교육 기관: DHANRAJ N

Jan 31, 2019

informative!

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jan 11, 2019

Great course

교육 기관: Yashika R

Jun 29, 2020

good course

교육 기관: SHIVAM B

May 02, 2020

nice course

교육 기관: Utkarsh S

Apr 30, 2020

Good course

교육 기관: SAPTARSHI D

Jun 15, 2019

Good course

교육 기관: Laura N M

May 19, 2016

Great info!

교육 기관: Ondrej S

Dec 05, 2018

I liked it

교육 기관: Pritesh P

Sep 13, 2017

N

i

c

e

C

o

u

r

e

s

교육 기관: Khushdeep S

Jul 05, 2018

well done

교육 기관: Pawan k

May 02, 2020

Awesome.

교육 기관: Johnatan E F

Mar 25, 2020

Excelent

교육 기관: M S T

Jun 30, 2020

awesome

교육 기관: amaid h

Oct 30, 2016

awesome

교육 기관: Pawar V A

Jul 09, 2020

good

교육 기관: Varun N U

May 25, 2020

nice

교육 기관: Sarada m

May 23, 2020

good

교육 기관: M S

Apr 20, 2020

Good

교육 기관: BATHULA S R

Feb 03, 2020

good

교육 기관: Demi X

Dec 27, 2019

easy

교육 기관: Victoria S

May 14, 2020

There are some very good concepts and attempts at teaching here but there is a lot for frustration too. I have some experience working on GUI programming not quite the same but I understand that sometimes things just don't work the way you want... in this case though lots of concepts aren't explained or aren't linked together. We are given very specific examples without enough reference. When learning new things you build on the old, you can't just say in the last lesson we learned concept x so here is concept y. Now go figure concept z using concept x and y without any knowledge of z. It would be nice to take a few extra minutes to build from the base up so you know x+y=z. We never got that. The lectures are fairly informative and you do get the chance to learn a lot of new concepts but you aren't given enough to really implement your learning and by the time you figure it out you're usually so frustrated that you don't want to continue. The first week was awesome and I really enjoyed it. My webpage turned out well and it was easy to use but once JavaScript was added in the learning became disjointed. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to see that before I paid for the course because if week 2 was the first week I would not have taken this course.

The worst thing though is that I found that the "Try It" options came before we learned the concept! So I would grit and struggle and fail for hours (the time estimates are so far off for this course) and then finally decide to just move on, only to learn the key concept I was missing wasn't taught until the next lesson! That is so unbelievably frustrating as a learner. On top of that, some things just didn't work in the Duke Learn to Code Program for no reason causing me to have to export my code and refresh the page then reenter my code. So I would spend so much time thinking I did something wrong when I didn't.

Then when I was working in CodePen on a problem I actually did everything correctly but the files from the Duke website wouldn't come over wasting time trying to fix my code I went to the forums to find that there is a coding error on Duke's side that prevents the image library from working properly. They provided a solution but that solution does not work! I wasn't able to test something I worked on for hours and I was so frustrated. Why wasn't that issue added to the "Try It" instructions? Then I wouldn't have wasted my time.

The forums are fairly helpful because the mentors reply and are very good for the most part with their explanations; but not one of my classmates replied which is interesting to me because I saw one post where over 20 people reviewed my code and didn't know why it wasn't working. Most of the posts I saw also showed the frustration I felt with some of these concepts.

So, I think if you have some experience with JavaScript and watch the videos in order without stopping each week then go back and do the "Try It" options you will be more successful with this course. I certainly don't recommend for a person without any experience and I would reorder/restructure everything in this course to be better for the learner.

교육 기관: Maria J G G

Nov 10, 2015

Well, I think I learnt some things about JavaScript, HTML and CSS. However, the course hasn't been focused on programming with JavaScript to solve real problems. All assignments are based on the creation of images from scratch, the modification of these images and hide messages in an original image. I really don't think these types of assignments can help students to learn Web technology. In fact, I know some professional Web programmers that they don't use javascript to manipulate images but in some cases when it is really necessary. I'd change the way of how the assignments are presented to prove the students' skills. For example, a possible assignment could be the implemention of a counter on a Web page using JavaScript or the creation of a web page with buttons, emerging messages, menus etc. On the web (Googling), there are a lot of codes that allow these funcionalities and could be used and modified by other students to create their own Web page.

교육 기관: Tatyana S

Jul 22, 2019

Course was ok, I expected more. The main downside is the use of non-standard methods like SimpleImage, which is not something in the standard library and that is not even explained until you are well into the course. I don't understand what the point is of learning to use it, when it can't be applied in the future. Also, not using a 'real life' IDE really diminishes the value of the course. I understand that using the environment provided makes it easier/faster to teach the material However, in my opinion, the benefit of learning to use the proper tools is essential, and leaves significant gap in knowledge that I, at least, find frustrating. I hope the next class on Java is better, but I already see a download of yet another course specific IDE, which leaves me skeptical. I will give it a shot, but I will cancel if it is like the first class. It's very disappointing, this course seemed very well rounded and had such great potential.