Chevron Left
Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교의 Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
931개의 평가
188개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

최상위 리뷰

LS
2020년 9월 18일

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
2015년 12월 15일

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

필터링 기준:

Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration의 176개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Jason L

2016년 5월 7일

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

교육 기관: Dragana S

2017년 11월 13일

Really short lessons, and usually half of lesson is spent on introduction and talking about what will be in the lesson. Nevertheless, course is focused on theory, rather than the practice. I think it should be more detailed and with more practical assignments.

교육 기관: Linda S

2016년 10월 4일

Well organized lectures but the documentation is full of errors. This in combination with the lack of response on the a lack of responsiveness on the forums might make this class frustrating for some.

교육 기관: Tom C

2016년 3월 19일

This course needs a cleanup of loose ends on some of the assignments. Some assignment requirements are very ambiguous and in some cases the solutions are not matching the requirements of what was due.

교육 기관: srinivas

2016년 3월 4일

Real world data warehouse integrations are more complex than just inner joining the tables to drop those rows not found in the original tables. i wish more complex scenarios are covered.

교육 기관: Shalmoli N

2020년 6월 8일

Assignments are very good, in fact excellent, but the material could be a bit more descriptive. And the practice exercise of assignment 5 had lots of discrepancy with the actual

교육 기관: Andy O

2018년 1월 28일

Some good parts on data integration but the key sections on DW design and in particular the assignment are really poorly written.

교육 기관: Bruno A S I

2017년 12월 28일

It's a good course but it could improve the explanations provided in giving more detail and examples. Give deeper examples!!

교육 기관: Odile M

2016년 1월 13일

Missing course material about how calculating fact table size ans sparsity

교육 기관: Ravi

2016년 2월 16일

Good for Beginners to go for.

교육 기관: Ian M

2015년 12월 28일

This course was full of issues related to the installation and use of Pentaho Pivot 4J and Data Integration. The professor's presence is resolving these issues was practically nonexistent. Coursera needs to do a much better job at insuring that their professors are offering a quality course and living up to the expectations of the students. In the case of this course and the professor, they failed miserably. In addition, it is practically impossible to get support from Coursera when an issue exists and in most cases when contact is made, the assistance is minimal. It is a shame as the platform is nicely designed and the course topics are very interesting. If you are considering taking this course, be forewarned that the majority of the support of problems/issues come from the community, not the Professor or Coursera. In addition, you are required to grade the assignments of your fellow students. This is not done by the professor.

교육 기관: Jacob G

2021년 3월 24일

Content is lacking and final assignment was a nightmare; difficult to install multiple pieces of software only for a tedious assignment, that ended up not working the way they were supposed to leading to me not fully completing the work. Course videos are mostly wasted time - first introduce the topics that will be discussed, summarize points you should get from the lesson, followed by 2-5 minutes of actual content, then a summary of the minuscule amount of info you just heard.

Must not be a popular course, because peer grading often took a while, and there often were not other submissions for me to grade. Needed to go to discussion which solely consists of old posts from people needing grades

교육 기관: Sylvain L

2016년 3월 9일

Not enough implication from the instructors in the course. Students are left alone with the material, without any answers to there questions on the course.

Peer review process subject to personal interpretation and leading to frustration for the students.

That's quite unfortunate as this provides a bad experience whereas the course might have been good without that.

교육 기관: Danielle B

2019년 2월 7일

The course is very informative, but you have to work with a very slow website for an assignment and you need to install applications which are a lot of hassle and will cost you a lot of time. I still cannot get an application to work to finish the last assignment. Too bad for all the effort I put in so far and very frustrating.

교육 기관: David R

2016년 4월 2일

The course lectures were too sparse leading up to the final, very important assignment of learning to how to create an ETL package. More time and energy should have been spent on the technical aspects of the Pentaho Spoon program, rather than doing overviews of application pros and cons.

교육 기관: Antonio T

2020년 8월 28일

I think this course is not apropiated for work specialization, is only as light additional knowledge of several concepts without go into details.

I don't recomend it. I have left before finish trial week, because it doesn't reach my expectations.

교육 기관: Dietrich B

2018년 7월 6일

In module 5 the assignment was not able to pass without looking for further assistance in the web. The knowledge of handling Pentaho integration tool was not good enough explained to pass the assignment. Some steps were really tricky.

교육 기관: Serban T

2016년 2월 20일

Awful. Just awful. There are dozens of students trying to install Pentaho and failing. Only reason I managed is that I have prior experience with the software. There are no TAs, no help, nothing. The Quiz is a scam designed to force you to shell out even more money of the so-called-optional textbook, and the assignments are extremely vague and orders of magnitude beyond the laughable 30 minutes the instructor suggested they should take. My submissions for week 3 total over 30 pages -- and I work a full time job... Avoid this class, do not reward terrible courses with your cash.

교육 기관: Rob B

2020년 4월 17일

No instructor engagement in the course, see the history of posts by the professor. Last in June 2019. The course materials aren't sufficient to complete or understand the material beginning in Module 3. Figuring out how to download the software for the course is very confusing and the documentation is outdated. I would recommend pulling the course from the platform until the instructor(s) become active. I will be removing my monthly payment and don't intend to enroll in future Coursera courses anytime soon.

교육 기관: Philippe G

2016년 10월 29일

Course is very high level and teacher inspiring. As I highlighted already it took me 8 hours with a professional to install Pentaho... for what? to explain pivot tables totals. that is very unecessary. Also from Europe virtual machine use is just killing my computer and I end up spending more time crashing and restarting my pc than working on the course. (and I am surrounded by IT professionals in my company for reference). This is sadly a big let down for an excellent course theory wise.

교육 기관: Daniel X

2018년 3월 8일

Too academic, maybe normal for a University course. But really not a practical course for someone wanting to pick up the knowledge or skills. even though BI is a big concept. The tools are not very popular in the market, either highly enterprised Oracle or free tools. Really, those tools are good for doing a few excercise or playing some BI games.

교육 기관: fulvio c

2020년 4월 14일

This training course will drain your time on installing some freeware software instead focusing on make you acquire database skills. I waisted more than two weeks reading outdated guidelines. Save your time and avoid it

교육 기관: Thomas L

2018년 1월 14일

totally unsufficient guidance on external tools needed. Forum is full of users asking for help and reporting problems with installation of neccessary software.

교육 기관: Alexander K

2019년 8월 29일

I feel like the courses were shot in 1999.

교육 기관: Winnerson

2020년 6월 8일

So many mismatch subtitle