Chevron Left
Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
stars
584개의 평가
167개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

최상위 리뷰

TO

Jun 21, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

Mar 03, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

필터링 기준:

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution의 165개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Camilo M R

Jan 18, 2019

Gracias por todo, gracias por creer en mi para aprovechar todas las gratificantes y excitantes historias sobre la evolución de los vertebrados, gracias por darme su apoyo económico y por darme todo ese excelente material de apoyo y guías que brindan para cada semana. Los felicito por hacer un curso tan completo y gracias por apoyar mis estudios y avances en materia paleontológica; espero que algún día pueda agradecerles personalmente.

Con mucho cariño Camilo Mejía Rivera. Medellín, Colombia.

Estos son mis más gratificantes y excelentes aprendizajes mientras desarrollaba el curso de Paleontología: evolución temprana de los vertebrados

Aprendí a diferenciar las estructuras en los diferentes seres vivos desde el ordovícico, devónico y silúrico, las cuales nos ayudan a identificar como fue la evolución de las especies desde los cordados (ancestros primarios) hasta los tetrápodos (nuestros parientes con cuatro extremidades) Aprendí las diferentes funciones de las estructuras presentes en los seres vivos ancestros de los vertebrados y su respectiva manera y carácter de evolución.

Aprendí sobre los diferentes periodos geológicos (ordovícico, devónico y silúrico), el cómo era la tierra en estos periodos, como era el clima, las cantidades de oxígeno, dióxido de carbono, las rocas y especies características de cada periodo, además de las diferentes tasas de origen y extinción de especies.

Aprendí a distinguir entre los espacios de acumulación geológicos, sobre cuáles son los mejores para poder haber acumulaciones de seres vivos y su posterior etapa de fosilización; también sobre los eventos que generan una excelente instancia para que los fósiles conserven sus partes de la mejor manera (anóxico).

Aprendí sobre como es el estudio mancomunado de los geólogos y paleontólogos para describir cómo era la especie y como era el entorno en que se desarrolló. Aprendí a distinguir sobre los nichos que fueron determinantes para el desarrollo de la especie y como estos eran aprovechados por otras especies.

Aprendí sobre como los diferentes ancestros de los vertebrados que a partir de la necesidad desarrollaron su capacidad de filtrado de comida, su capacidad sensitiva debajo del agua, su mordida, sus dientes, la evolución de los huesos y cartílagos, la variación en forma y uso de las aletas; y como todos estos aspectos evolucionaron para que los tetrápodos pudieran apoyar sus cuerpos en cuatro extremidades, para que pudieran ver en el aire y no en el agua, para que pudieran escuchar en el aire y no en el agua.

Aprendí a Usar el árbol filogenético de la Universidad de Alberta, además de aprender mucho sobre la formación de la luna, formación de la tierra y eventos importantes que ocurrieron en la historia de la tierra para que esta sea hoy lo que es.

Aprendí de lugares importantes paleontológica y geológicamente hablando, de los cuales se extraen las diferentes especies en excelente estado para su posterior estudio.

교육 기관: Brice B

Sep 09, 2017

Great class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in four weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, interactive geologic time scale and phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) More pictures/videos of fossils, as well as videos on fossil sites, would have been great. Also sometimes the course sounded too much like a catalog of facts. More scientific reasoning would have been great.

교육 기관: Eugene Y

Oct 07, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone interested in evolution or paleontology. The course does an excellent job in picturing one of those truly revolutionary time periods in the history of animal life on Earth. The level of detail, pace, materials and visuals are just perfect. And the presenter does a top-notch job of delivering the material. Thanks to the University of Alberta and the team behind this great MOOC!

교육 기관: Bruno L P C

Jul 03, 2018

This course is absolutely great! It was very informative, organized and helped me a lot when it comes to the knowledge of this scientific area. Since i'm hoping to become a student in a Masters degree in Paleontology, i definitely recommend this course, because of how rich it is in information, and how fun and interactive it is. There were some creatures, our long ancestors, that i didn't know about too, until viewing this course.

교육 기관: Steve M

May 18, 2016

This (like the other UoA paleontology courses available on Coursera) is an excellent introduction to the subject. Detailed enough to be really interesting to those with some background in the area, the material is engagingly presented by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic lecturer. The format is exceptionally well-structured, combining cutting-edge research and discoveries with helpful graphics. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Jeff Y

Aug 05, 2016

Even if you've never had a lifelong fascination with natural history like I did, this course should be fascinating and educational enough to draw you in. Scott Persons is an amazing teacher: clear, concise, knowledgeable and passionate enough that you will never feel lost, learn a great deal and yet never feel bored. Highly recommended for anyone with even a modicum of interest in fossils and vertebrate origins.

교육 기관: Tunç G K

Apr 29, 2018

Thanks for offering the course. I have not still finished the course but I want to rate and post a comment. I like your curriculum and the way you communicate your content very much. You have great lecture notes and vivid videos.

I think you might also include some more general infographs since it sometimes get harder and harder when so many things are introduced together.

교육 기관: Chris V

Jul 15, 2017

The provided material and videos are just amazing and Scott is an awesome presenter. *thumbs-up* It was really easy to follow along and learn heaps of new information. I was always interested in the early processes of evolution and I am happy I found this course. I would definitely recommend this course to friends and anybody else who has an interest in palaeontology.

교육 기관: Joanne O

May 25, 2017

Another wonderful course from University of Alberta. Dr Scott Persons is a fantastic guide through this exciting period on evolution. The course notes and interactive phylogenetic tree are excellent resources. Among the many things i have learn't in this excellent course, i have come away with a new appreciation for sea squirts and lung fish.

교육 기관: Kimberly K

Aug 09, 2016

I love all your online sources. I think the information is presented well and with logical questions to test the information. I like how the presenter was clearly knowledgeable and spoke with excitement. He was very engaging. The visuals are great. The fossils are great. The extra time and effort put into the materials is obvious.

교육 기관: Llelani C

Jan 24, 2019

Lecture material very comprehensive, well explained, and engaging. The diagrams assist in understanding, although in some lectures instead of just showing the artistic reconstruction of the animal repeatedly, perhaps show more information depicting the structures being discussed.

교육 기관: Skye L G

Oct 10, 2019

I found this course to be a bit more difficult than Dino 101, but I learned a great deal. Studying these creatures makes the dinosaurs seem like the modern newcomers they really were. This course takes you WAAAAY back in time. Very enlightening; I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Don M

May 21, 2016

I originally took Dino 101 as a U of A MOOC and found it very worthwhile -- and challenging. Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution was equally interesting and challenging. As the opportunity presents itself, I will explore taking other MOOCs in Paleontology.

교육 기관: Brietta D

Nov 22, 2019

Awesome course! I love paleontology and was very excited to find a practical course! It was a great course for my level, easy to understand but not tedious with explanation. you can tell the teacher loves this field. I would love a continuation of this course!

교육 기관: Aneirin C P

Oct 19, 2019

I absolutely loved this course. I took it to deepen my knowledge of paleontology because it is part of my job in the museum I work in, but it made me want to learn more about aspects of paleontology that I have not yet explored.

교육 기관: jonathan f

May 02, 2016

This class was very interesting and explained things clearly. I already had a bit of knowledge about this subject but this course taught me new things and connected the things I already knew to these new thoughts. Thank you!

교육 기관: Иво Д ( D

Apr 28, 2019

Great course! Explained with simple words which is great for people from other countries. The illustrations were awesome and the professor is very positive. Thank you for your amazing work! Salute from Bulgaria!

교육 기관: Carol B

Jun 25, 2017

Excellent videos, clear evidence of evolution and why certain adaptations were advantageous. Notes are very high quality and the pacing of material and interactive questions keep you engaged from week to week.

교육 기관: Will G

Feb 18, 2017

A very enjoyable course. Fantastic for those who want to learn about early vertebrates, particularlly those thar gave rise to tetrapods. While a small amount of biological and geological knowledge is useful, s

교육 기관: Glenn P

Apr 18, 2016

Enjoyed the class, only part that was bad is I couldn't do any of the quizzes. I can't afford the cost. Other then that the class was very informative and I found it very entertaining as well. Thank you.

교육 기관: Carlos G

Jun 24, 2017

Very good the course, I consider it a personal training material of great value for those who like this science but unfortunately we can not access them in our country, as it is in Venezuela. Thank you.

교육 기관: Ïan B

Jul 02, 2018

Excellent ! I have invented a joke for you. Sure it is better in French (I'm a Parisian woman) but it can be understand in English I hope :BONY AND CLADE !Thank you very much ! I love my inner fish !

교육 기관: timothy j o

Jun 21, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

교육 기관: Jennifer C

Mar 03, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Timi A

May 26, 2018

Great short course, perfect for an introduction into early vertebrate evolution. I recommend taking the other Palaeontology courses by this university on this site if you haven't already.