Chevron Left
Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation(으)로 돌아가기

아메리카 자연사박물관의 Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
953개의 평가
265개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

최상위 리뷰

AJ

Jun 02, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

LB

Apr 17, 2020

A great summary of the challenges being faced in the conservation science community at the moment. From an Environmental Science background it was great to learn about new case studies.

필터링 기준:

Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation의 267개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Nazerke B

Jan 22, 2020

I would like to thank all the researchers who participated in making this wonderful course! Started in a simple way, the classes then gradually presented more complex and in-sight issues and gave detailed explanation to ecological definitions in a most comprehensive manner. Given examples helped complete the understanding of different ecological situations. I enjoyed the documentaries and lectures of all researchers. Now I wish to one day visit Gorongosa National Park, as well as meet all these researchers who work so hard to conserve the nature of our home, Earth! Thank you again! Best wishes!

교육 기관: Leyla Y

May 11, 2020

This course changed the way I thought about ecosystems entirely and enabled for me to completely embrace the systems thinking idea. It was also very enjoyable and led me to realize my interest in ecology and also modelling ecological systems. It was very interesting to learn about how ecosystems can be approached differently and how the butterfly effect has a very significant place in ecosystem dynamics. Additionally, the way the concepts were given in readings followed by videos enforcing the ideas into the specific scenario made the learning more permanent.

교육 기관: Karis D

May 06, 2020

Excellent foundational course in ecology with a fascinating case study component. I am an ecologist by training, and found this to be a great "refresher" course on ecological concepts and theorems. I especially enjoyed the closing lectures on biocultural conservation and sustainability--many ecology texts neglect the human component rather than emphasize it! I would strongly recommend this course to anyone seeking a basic understanding of ecological principles, or with a general curiosity about natural interactions.

교육 기관: Zachary S

May 05, 2020

Informative and well paced. I was apprehensive at first of how focused this course would be on Gorongoza, but the use of a single ecosystem as the reference point for all discussion topics really helped to paint a more complete picture of what needs to be considered in conservation efforts. The lectures were well presented and the wealth of additional resources for those who are curious was greatly appreciated. I was so engaged I finished it early and I never finish schoolwork early :P

교육 기관: Daniel J

May 06, 2020

Se pueden aprender aspectos muy importantes para entender la dinámica de distintas especies dentro de un ecosistema. Asimismo, cómo cada parte (seres vivos y elementos climáticos) está interrelacionada y debe ser conservada. Una de las partes más valiosas se encuentra en las semanas finales, donde se evalúa la participación del humano en los procesos de conservación y que en efecto es posible establecer una relación de beneficio mutuo entre ambas partes.

교육 기관: Lucia S

Oct 05, 2019

I am immensely grateful for the opportunity to learn from such knowledgeable and commited researchers and educators about ecosystems since I believe it is the most necessary knowledge to aquire right now in order to understand and save ourselves from ourselves. This course is extraordinary and if I could of course I would buy the certificate. I hope I can get it later if it is possible for you.

교육 기관: Matej B

Apr 02, 2020

Very well structured course, the main distinctive features - heavy use of real world scenario of conservation in Gorongosa National Park in Mozambique which showcases many of the theoretical concepts explained; lectures by established experts from best universities; systems thinking lens; first-seat look into how conservation science works in practice. Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: Milena H R

Apr 03, 2020

Este curso brinda una visión integral de cómo afrontar las problemáticas ambientales y da a entender la importancia de un enfoque claro para iniciar una investigación y cómo el mismo proceso puede modificar las necesidades y los retos.

Muy motivador ver el trabajo en la reserva de Gorongoza y todo el camino que han recorrido. Esto mismo lo hace un curso con aplicación.

교육 기관: Заплитный И Д

May 26, 2019

Thank you very much for your hard but so fruitful work. For me, as a political scientist, it was extremely interesting to learn about various aspects of the formation, management and preservation of the environment, to get acquainted with the various theories and views of scientists-practitioners on such urgent and disturbing problems. From Russia with love.

교육 기관: Shinad K

May 16, 2020

I am a post graduate in zoology especially on the field of biodiversity conservation and management, so I am very interested in ecology and conservation of biodiversity. So, for that this course is an excellent one for people to get ideas about ecology and their conservation strategies. We can earn from the organisms level or species level to the biosphere.

교육 기관: Micaela R

Aug 06, 2019

As an environmental manager, there weren't many new topics for me, but I did learn more details and acquired richness to knowledge I already had. I did, though, learn a lot about conservation efforts and system thinking. This is an amazing course, clear enough for beginners and rich enough for experienced environmentalists/ecologists to enjoy both alike.

교육 기관: Ella M

Apr 20, 2020

I am a Scottish high school student currently studying biology and I wanted to learn more about ecology and conservation practices. I completed this course whilst at home because of the current covid-19 situation and it has kept me occupied and interested and left with the desire to learn more about ecology and human impacts on biodiversity, thank you!

교육 기관: Dean B

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent content, examples, and lecturers. Thought the breadth and depth of the material was perfect. Extremely effective use of Gorongosa National Park throughout course. Enjoyed the scenes shot in the park. Appreciated the inclusion of a little math/modeling. Very satisfied with this course, enjoyed it, and feel much more knowledgeable.

교육 기관: Sabrina

Apr 16, 2020

Found this course provided a great introduction to what the study of Ecology is and the different topics you would learn about in pursuing this field of education. Would recommend that explanations be provided for each of the exam questions in order to further understand why an answer is correct or wrong. Great course, thank you!

교육 기관: Hui Z H

May 15, 2020

A meaningful course that is simple to understand and emphasizes the importance of understanding how ecology works and, in a way, using nature itself to solve climate issues. The 'Systems thinking' concept is eye-opening for me and I see myself using it often now. Well done to every person involved in producing this course!

교육 기관: Jingtian Z

Feb 02, 2020

I like this course, I know about Gonragosa and how life become rare there. I also know how to think systemly, this is the basic of understanding ecosystems. I now how hard we try to recover Gonragosa's ecosystem. Have we successfully recover the ecosystem to pre-war status by killing waterbuck and producing other animals.

교육 기관: Sarah H

May 24, 2020

I have no prior professional experience or education in ecology, but am interested in learning about conservation. This course provided me with a solid foundation to understand how to talk about conservation in terms of ecology and psychology. Includes a solid mix of mathematics, science, and anthropology.

교육 기관: Richard M M

May 12, 2020

This online Ecology class is awesome! I learned so many insights about how ecological systems work and how components of ecosystems inter-relate with one another. The conservation part of the lessons are also eye-opener into the real world aspects of sustainability, development and resource management.

교육 기관: Samyuktha R K

May 08, 2020

This was a beautiful and fun course with many case studies and detailed analyses on what worked for each case and didn't. This is filled with interesting insights that are often not mentioned in textbooks and help ecologists understand each process on different spatial and temporal scales.

교육 기관: Karien S

Nov 20, 2019

I am qualified as a Nature Manager (Centurion Academy South Africa) and was in the mood to review and compare data. The course is great as a base to build upon and very interesting. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in ecology and the very unique Gorongosa Restoration Project.

교육 기관: Ching L

Mar 04, 2020

I took the course because I was curious about this field. I had learned a lot from this course. Even though my job is not related to this field, it is still important to have the knowledge since we are all human beings and we are all related to the ecosystem. I like the course a lot!

교육 기관: Melissa V

May 30, 2018

Absolutely loved this course. The diversity of topics, the clear thread on how these theme's and subjects are approached currently as compared to historically, and the continual linkage to current projects, research and paradigms made for a fascinating and valuable experience.

교육 기관: GIAN M

Apr 15, 2020

Fully interesting and teaching course for basis (but not only) in ecology. Particular interesting the wide approach to vert different views of this science: building blocks concept, basis of a mathematical view, experimental example and so on. I really appreciate it.

교육 기관: Autumn M K

Oct 02, 2018

Great course, thank you very much! I learned a lot about ecology in general, and look forward to taking what I learned about restoration ecology, and the questions posed, forward to a tropical island restoration project where I will be volunteering. Thank you, again!

교육 기관: Adewale O A

May 14, 2020

Being my first online course endeavor, I was surprised by how much I can learn in the short space of time with much available resources at my disposal. It was a great and unique experience as the course has honed my skills in becoming a conservationist.