Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Fundamentals of Music Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
1,530개의 평가
484개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

최상위 리뷰

GE

2021년 4월 1일

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.

Good enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS

2017년 8월 22일

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of Music Theory의 481개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Jimmy V

2021년 5월 20일

Lots of fun

교육 기관: FREDERICK O A

2018년 2월 13일

Excellent!1

교육 기관: Samanta G P

2017년 6월 16일

Excelente!!

교육 기관: Albert T

2017년 1월 26일

nice course

교육 기관: Ruarai M

2019년 1월 29일

Excellent!

교육 기관: Daniel W

2018년 8월 23일

Very nice.

교육 기관: Eugene E

2018년 5월 16일

Excellent!

교육 기관: Vicente B

2022년 4월 26일

excellent

교육 기관: Emmanuel c o

2018년 3월 21일

i love it

교육 기관: Guillermo Á M C

2017년 10월 26일

¡Gracias!

교육 기관: Wam R

2017년 7월 3일

Loving it

교육 기관: Yvonne C

2017년 3월 30일

仔细、认真、全面。

교육 기관: Sarah G d S

2019년 2월 24일

Exelent!

교육 기관: Stella K

2017년 12월 21일

Thank yo

교육 기관: Антон Ю

2017년 6월 24일

Perfect!

교육 기관: Prithiraj R N

2021년 11월 4일

Amezing

교육 기관: Maria V C

2018년 9월 19일

amazing

교육 기관: Nomit N

2017년 6월 14일

superbb

교육 기관: andres b

2017년 1월 19일

Gracias

교육 기관: Marlena B

2016년 9월 9일

Super!

교육 기관: Akhil18 V

2019년 7월 28일

good

교육 기관: Hai y

2018년 6월 8일

TQ

교육 기관: Gregor M

2021년 1월 5일

What began as a passing interest in improving my scant knowledge of music theory became a full on obsession by the end of this course. I was staying up until 9pm over my Christmas break, taking and re-taking quizzes and studying cadences, secondary dominants and modulation. Who would've known? Certainly not me when I began!

For me, playing music is a hobby. I've never studied it, taken graded exams or anything of that sort. I saw 'fundamentals of music theory', free of charge, and thought it would be a good place to start. A word of advice: this is certainly not for beginner musicians.

My only criticism of the course would be that the end of unit quizzes, and final exam, are a VERY steep climb from the comparatively pedestrian level of instruction (barring the rhythm section, which required a lot of further study to get my head around).

The formula seems to go: crawl (teach concept), baby steps (watch demonstration of concept), Olympic 100-metre sprint (answer university level questions). If you have the time and dedication to put into this course the rewards are plenty. You can take end of unit quizzes as many times as you would like, meaning the challenge just about meets the pace of learning.

I am thoroughly pleased with the time I put into this course, and I am excited to go back to my instruments (saxophone and guitar) armed with a greater understanding of these fundamentals, and indeed more complex concepts, of music theory.

교육 기관: Alison C

2020년 7월 6일

Most of the course was delivered at a suitable pace, with plenty of examples. The one week where my eyes glazed over was week 3 (I think) which was all about time values of notes, etc. Fortunately, I already read music, and so managed to pass the assessment. Otherwise I think I'd have struggled. Even so, some of the questions really stretched my brain - many of them were NOT normal rhythms!

I felt that one or two of the questions in the final exam were quite complicated - cases where we were to disregard "passing notes" for instance, which was something I felt wasn't really covered in the course, and the one about "phrasing structure" (but that may have been in week 3).

In short, I'm not sure it's the FUNDAMENTALS (which to me means the basics) of music theory, but after well over 40 years of being able to read music, and over 20 singing in choirs, I finally understand the structures and names of chords, and simple progressions, and can work out an accompaniment for a simple tune, which was absolutely what I wanted to achieve. Thank you!

교육 기관: Răzvan M

2016년 11월 27일

I am absolutely delighted to have had the opportunity to study the fundamentals of music theory from a prestigious university such as The University of Edinburgh for free online. I extend my most sincere gratitude to Coursera and the professors teaching the course for making this possible. The course makes it very easy to build knowledge going from week to week. The assignments are all challenging. In this way this course encourages studying to understand the concepts. I have attended the course as a beginner in music theory, having encountered only some very elementary concepts earlier. I have found all the teachers to be very pleasant and very clear in their explanations. I have given 4 stars to this course because I would have liked to learn more from the professors on some topics which were very briefly mentioned. Some of the courses have external links to Wikipedia instead of a more clear explanation. This are however the exception and not the rule. The majority of the course is well taught and presented.