Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Fundamentals of Music Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
1,513개의 평가
481개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

최상위 리뷰

GE

2021년 4월 1일

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS

2017년 8월 22일

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of Music Theory의 477개 리뷰 중 351~375

교육 기관: Dr. r n D J G

2021년 3월 5일

Very challenging course. I must say, this is definitly NOT a fundamental or starter course. The level of frustration was quiet high and exploded in week three. Week three is terrible, without any learning benefit. Everything els was challenging, no beginner level in my eyes, but in the end I learned a lot. Thank you!

교육 기관: marcel m

2021년 4월 24일

The course is very interesting but I would suggest the course material to be complemented by an overall PDF file including a comprehensive summary of all topics ( including the topics for which the lecturers refer learners to wikipedia or other websites) discussed in the course for further reading by the learner.

교육 기관: Emerson M D V Z

2021년 10월 27일

I think its a grate course, i've lenrt a little by myself, so this reali helped me know my strenghts and weakness, the only think i would change it's that sometimes i think it was a little to dificult because the materials and the test were in two different dificulties (the exams were a lot harder)

교육 기관: Yvonne G

2020년 11월 18일

It would have been a great course for those new to music theory, but I think the way Week 3 was taught needs a huge improvement. I almost dropped the course because of that alone. But otherwise, the other professors did a great job of teaching music and conveying the feelings it brought with it.

교육 기관: David G

2018년 4월 10일

Really helpful for getting a basic grasp of concepts that I've struggled with without really learning in other places. The final exam is somewhat of a departure from the course material though and requires a fair amount of self-learning to complete. But I'm thankful for the free course!

교육 기관: Conor F

2020년 6월 6일

On the whole a good level of detail and introduces concepts nicely, however i think particularly in week 3 a lot is thrown at you with not much explanation. An addition I think would be useful is explaining how knowing certain things in music theory can help us make music.

교육 기관: don e

2020년 10월 18일

The final exam seemed to be about things not covered in the course, but peer review of other students contributed to dispelling the ambiguity. What was covered provided a great over-all look at music theory and sets up a sound model for development of concepts.

교육 기관: Viktoriia M

2020년 11월 15일

It's really difficult for the beginners. And you will have to search a lot on the Internet. I suggest students go straightforward to the final exam task, download the pdf-file and look at it carefully to get the idea of what is waiting at the end.

교육 기관: George Z

2022년 4월 22일

The course for being Fundamental is challenging, so if you are a true beginner you have to review many times or even search for more information about the material to clarify a little bit more what they are explaining mainly after the first week.

교육 기관: Danila G

2018년 10월 24일

The explanations were not always clear nor sufficient for beginners in the part of Functional Harmomy (week 4), which probably should have been preceded by the (brilliant) explanation of Chords, Inversions and Cadences (week 5).

교육 기관: Véronique G

2021년 3월 4일

Very interesting! A lot of theory but also practical examples for the harmony topic.

A lot of stuff in a very short time. And not always explained in the course.

The difficulty increases suddenly: stay motivated until the end!

교육 기관: Grace C

2021년 11월 5일

The course material is not in depth or comprehensive enough. A lot of times I have to rely on other sources to understand some materials. The quizzes are quite useful because they show me there are gaps in my understanding.

교육 기관: Gervasio G

2019년 12월 23일

Course was great. The main challenge seemed to be the big gap between the first 4 or 5 weeks and the analysis of a musical piece expected for the final exam. It would be nice to have a more guided path for that final task.

교육 기관: Beryl O

2017년 7월 15일

More dfficult than i thought it would be especially week 5 and 6 which moves to complex concepts very quickly. A lot of content in week 5 which may be easier to digest if split? Otherwise a good challenging course!

교육 기관: Donato P

2021년 5월 3일

An excellent and very challenging course for beginners like myself. I found the additional on-line recourses helpful to gain the understanding needed to successfully complete the course. Well worth the effort!

교육 기관: Ishaan K

2016년 10월 3일

Very informative course. Teaches all the fundamentals till they're painfully obvious. It has helped me understand the skeletal structure of the music I listen to and has helped answer many questions. Thank you.

교육 기관: Yasmine A M

2017년 7월 21일

Wow! The course is very rich! I never knew that music is so complicated.

The professors are really amazing, and they teach us verbal cues to memorize the complicated parts (Every good boy deserves fun!!)

교육 기관: IKTAN D L V B

2019년 10월 22일

You need some knowledge on music before starting the course, some of the lectures and quizzes are too hard but it’s definitely worth it. I learned a LOT and I’m happy that I took this course!

교육 기관: Aristarkh T

2020년 9월 27일

Great course! Felt like a good overview of important basics. Most of the lectures are quite clear and descriptive. The parts on form and structure felt a bit rushed and condensed, though.

교육 기관: Joshua H

2018년 1월 7일

This course moves just a little bit too fast for beginners. I think it needs to be spread out a little bit with further explanations for people who don't understand what they are saying.

교육 기관: Alejandro G

2020년 7월 23일

I had no musical background and this was a challenging experience. I've learnt a lot in this course, I recommend it. I'm not giving it 5 stars because one of the weeks must be improved.

교육 기관: Fabio S C

2020년 11월 17일

The course is quite challenging, since you have to complete the learning topics by investigating by the student. However this teach you not to give up, which brings great experience.

교육 기관: Enrique H

2020년 11월 19일

This course has a lot of very interesting and useful information. I like the way the instructors handled it.

Looking forward for courses that can be like a continuation to this one.

교육 기관: Aziz M A

2020년 10월 18일

It was a fantastic course. I was introduced to the basic concepts and ideas in music theory. Even though the course was hard to keep up, it was a good experience overall. Thanks