Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Fundamentals of Music Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
1,513개의 평가
481개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

최상위 리뷰

GE

2021년 4월 1일

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS

2017년 8월 22일

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of Music Theory의 477개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Gurashis S

2020년 4월 6일

week 3 could have been elaborated more.

교육 기관: Tansel S

2017년 9월 5일

A bit fast but extensive course.

교육 기관: Gilbert P C

2017년 2월 19일

really helpful, but also tough

교육 기관: Lemuel P

2017년 6월 4일

this course is great

교육 기관: Fernando B

2020년 11월 12일

Muy bueno el curso

교육 기관: Krista H

2020년 3월 4일

GOod for beginners

교육 기관: Tayo O

2020년 6월 24일

I learnt a lot...

교육 기관: Megan M

2016년 12월 20일

Very interesting!

교육 기관: Madhur S

2021년 12월 30일

great experience

교육 기관: Alberto I

2020년 7월 16일

Its good course

교육 기관: degreeuser1 d

2021년 11월 9일

g​reat course

교육 기관: Leonardo B

2021년 10월 27일

Excelente

교육 기관: Percy Y

2017년 2월 27일

Wonderful

교육 기관: Ro

2018년 1월 6일

good.

교육 기관: Aien K

2021년 6월 2일

Good

교육 기관: James N B

2020년 6월 2일

I have very mixed feelings about this course. On the one hand it was rich with content, and proved a tough challenge for the its whole duration, managing to include a great deal of theory in a short space of time. I have learnt a lot from it so I can't fault it there. However, the course is strewn with small errors and mistakes, which did surprise me as I found myself quite often confused about something only to realize it was a mistake on their part. The other aspect that seriously lacks from this course is the communication with the "instructors". I say this because the videos were clearly filmed a while back and the content is not updated. Questions and doubts take several days to get answered and it just seems quite lazy in all honesty. In addition to this, none of the exams/tests are looked at by the instructors, not even the final exam, which is in fact marked by other students. So although the content is rich and well explained, it does not really feel like an active course, rather a series of YouTube videos with a few questions added in. If you are confident that you can solve doubts and issues yourself, then I highly recommend this course, however if you are a complete beginner and want more guidance, I would perhaps look elsewhere, or at least do this course with someone else.

교육 기관: Louis O

2017년 1월 5일

Pretty good in overall, but there are a few points that could be improved:

- The content is taught in a weird order and the difficulty doesn't increase steadily. For example, week 4 and 5 feel like they have been made separately and about the same subject, but week 5 goes further. The last video of week 5 is interesting, but it seems improvised...

- There could be more examples, especially from modern music. John from week 5 uses examples from the Beatles, which is great, but he's the only one. Week 3 has pretty much no examples at all.

- Suppplementary material and notes are uneven from week to week. Week 2, 4 and especially 5 have good summaries of the videos and examples, but week 3 almost only has links to wikipedia...

- The final exam is VERY difficult. There are some crazy chords and rhythm to analyse and there are advanced questions on points which have been seen very quickly in the videos.

I can't really compare since I new some of the content of the class, but I think it's weel made for beginners as well as for intermediate musicians. But you'll probably need to do a bit of research yourself if you want to be ready for the exam.

교육 기관: Jorge A

2020년 7월 16일

The idea of the course is pretty well organised until you arrive to week 4, when the extension of the explanations do not match the importance they give to them. In upcoming weeks, they expect yo to know a lot more that it has been explained about certain topics. Meanwhile, some videos are overlapping and going too much in depth in subjects that are not key in the development of the topic.

Also, the technical quality of some of the videos (and their audios) are a lower than expected.

To summarise, I am happy I took the course because I strengthen and remembered some concepts in which I was rusty, but I would have appreciated a better structuring of the syllabus.

교육 기관: Aniketh K

2021년 10월 29일

Definitely not for beginners. Although the first two weeks may seem alright, the following weeks are very difficult to understand as everything is rushed through. The final tests almost seemed impossible for me to clear but I've managed to clear it finally within time. I have a small background in music and yet I struggled. So please do not think that you can take this course lightly. If you have some background knowledge, you can do it without much issues. Else it's not such a good choice. I repeat, please note that this is NOT a course for beginners. Happy learning :)

교육 기관: Andrew M

2020년 5월 26일

The course is really a challenge and should not be labelled 'for beginners' in my opinion. Worth persisting though but no way is it 8 hours, you need to commit to additional research and reading outside of the material and be prepared for several resits if you have no formal music training or qualifications behind you. Having said that I really enjoyed completing it and valued the learning which I have applied together with a parallel guitar course also from Coursera. Thank you for this opportunity if your keen and committed, go for it.

교육 기관: tim f

2017년 3월 14일

It was good, and i learnt a lot, but it vexed me that in the first lesson they stated you didn't need to read music to get on with the course, but everything from then on seemed to require reading music including an very difficult final test reading some complicated Beethoven apparently! I understand why they did it that way, as they are used to reading music, but music can also be described as actual note names and the theory will be learnt nevertheless, without the massive barrier of having to translate it all from musical notation.

교육 기관: Marc S

2017년 8월 28일

Good course covering some of the fundamentals of music theory. I found the difficulty of the quizzes to be disproportionate to the material in the lectures and some of the material could be explained better. It would certainly be a challenging course to more novice students. I would recommend "Getting Started With Music Theory" by Michigan State University as a prerequisite. The cadence of the material is a lot more systematic and incremental and what I learned in that course helped me get through this one tremendously.

교육 기관: Marquad E

2018년 5월 24일

Areas where uncertainties are within the course melodic include phrasing and secondary dominants. I had make use of other online platforms to gather information on these two topics. Also, I feel that the exam is too difficult. I only learned a few things from it, not a great deal. But other than that, I learned quite a great deal and I am very grateful for it. I didn't really get how the circle of fifths worked before I was exposed to this course. Thank you very much, for the opportunity.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2021년 12월 26일

This is called a fundamental theory course, but it is definitely geared for students who already have a music theory background. It's definitely a good review course for musicians, but I believe it would be very difficult for anyone who doesn't have a theory background, and it would be even harder for students who can't read music or play piano.

Again, a good review course but incredibly fast-paced for a fundamentals class.

교육 기관: Sean M

2020년 5월 17일

While I learned quite a bit in this course, the quizzes and exams were a bit misaligned with the material covered. There seemed to be little direction in the way of further study other than the occasional Wikipedia link. The jump from beginner material to more advanced theory did not transition very smoothly. it would be a better learning experience to know why a question was missed on a q