Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Fundamentals of Music Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
1,513개의 평가
481개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

최상위 리뷰

GE

2021년 4월 1일

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS

2017년 8월 22일

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of Music Theory의 477개 리뷰 중 426~450

교육 기관: Rebekah L

2020년 9월 9일

The lectures were really nice and easy to follow, but the quizzes were far too complex. Many of what was covered in the quizzes were not explained in the lecture. If you are going to make the quiz more difficult than what was taught in the lecture, please improve the lecture and what is covered in it so that students can know better what to expect and what they should study for.

교육 기관: Cees O

2020년 11월 21일

For me this was the first of many courses on Coursera where the quizzes and exam were way too difficult compared to the videos and reading materials. I had to find and use a Dutch Music Theory textbook to be able to understand the subject matter and to complete the quizzes and exam. My advice: more video instruction and reading material is required.

교육 기관: Hannah L

2018년 4월 9일

It would great if explanations could be given alongside incorrect answer choices. I'm auditing the course and got stuck on a few question during weekly tests, and I didn't know what I'd done wrong with them even once I'd passed the test. I'd love if there was a feature that explained why an answer choice is correct or incorrect.

교육 기관: Sann T

2021년 7월 17일

T​his course is very intersting at first but after the third week, it is getting harder and the videos and the reading texts could not provide enough information to take the tests. Anyway, I learned some useful things from first weeks as the basic knoeledge of music theory, Thank you very much<

교육 기관: Brian B

2020년 2월 13일

Level of difficulty is inconsistent. There are better basic topics to cover (learning how different note lengths actually work, completing bars with notes, time signatures) rather than cadances, the extremely technical and impracticle explaination of note length values etc.

교육 기관: Jose V

2019년 8월 20일

The last part of the recording or video was completely bad. you couldn't understand a word.

Some of the question in the tests were a bit out of the lecture spectrum or at lest they were not take deep enough in order to ask some of the in tests.

교육 기관: Hercules C

2021년 5월 20일

The classes have not passed the necessary details and necessary training vis a vis the level of the quizzes and of the final exam. In my opinion, this course should be divided in 4 courses with more basic training included in all sections.

교육 기관: Gregory C

2019년 3월 4일

The lectures were entertaining and the lecturers are qualified and competent. However, I feel that they left content out which was needed to pass the quizzes and tests. I spent significant time on the internet researching the topics.

교육 기관: Vicky V

2019년 1월 27일

It's an upper intermediate course reviewing everything you must know already. I have basics of music theory and had to retry this course twice. I haven't finished yet. I will when I gather more knowledge elsewhere...

교육 기관: Fanny J

2020년 8월 31일

There is a lot of content, the course goes very quickly. It could have been structured in a better way to make it easier to approach. Some notions are discovered in the exercises, which is a bit surprising.

교육 기관: Saran T

2022년 3월 30일

I​t was easy enough for an absolute beginner like me at first. But by week 4 the difficulty had gone up drastically. Challenges are good for learning but I feel it may be a bit too challenging at my level.

교육 기관: Alan J D

2021년 8월 3일

I enjoyed this course. However, some fundamentals could be tackled in greater detail namely chords of the the augmented sixth, these were lacking in explanation.

교육 기관: Yi-An L

2017년 7월 2일

A little bit not well organized. If the music and the staff can be demonstrated at the the same time to show the progression of the triad would be better.

교육 기관: K. L

2020년 7월 9일

Hard to come in without a music background. I still had some trouble, even though I've been playing music since I was a child.

교육 기관: Sunita S

2018년 2월 6일

The assignment at the end was pretty tough to attempt with the content of the course

교육 기관: Natanielle F

2021년 1월 17일

The first three weeks were great, but I found it advanced too quickly in weeks 4-6.

교육 기관: Jonah A

2018년 3월 20일

It was difficult for me. This course would be challenging for beginners.

교육 기관: Abby G

2021년 8월 5일

I​ thought this course was great but a little hard to follow

교육 기관: Fei H L

2021년 4월 27일

Not for American musical terminology, pretty confusing.

교육 기관: Michael S

2016년 11월 9일

YOU TURN ME ON

교육 기관: David H

2020년 7월 12일

If one completed the course the person definitely has learnt a lot. But I haven't completed it. I was looking for a course that really only covers basic terminology and concepts, however, the course covers also intermediate and advanced topics, and the learning curve is steep. It's really challenging and requires at least a simple keyboard for practice and lots of time for self-study by using external materials and sources. This is definitely more effort than I planned to invest.

I managed to pass the first three weeks but really struggled with week 4 and onward. The presentation feels dull and the material taught in the videos and notes often does not cover the exam questions. Many, many details were missing. It would have been better if the pace was slower, the material more in-depth and spread out over time, and the syllabus should be reworked to be really closer to a "fundamentals" course.

교육 기관: Nandini A

2022년 1월 5일

It's surprising to see that this course has been listed for beginners on Coursera. At most, it is suitable as a refresher for those who are already familiar with music theory. The lectures are disorganized, and the course practically falls apart in week 3. New concepts are introduced and brushed over too quickly to comprehend, and Wikipedia pages are often linked as supplementary course material rather than a substantial explanation of the topic at hand. The weekly quizzes and final exam are unnecessarily difficult, demanding a much more sophisticated understanding of music theory that is not covered in this class. If you are new to music, I would not recommend this course.

교육 기관: Tom E

2020년 11월 9일

First, I did enjoy much of the course and learned a great deal. My intention was to complete the course. Overall, I found it disorganized and too dependant on the use of a keyboard (I am a beginning cello player). I found the final exam very unfair. There was the use of language and notation that was not discussed in the course which confused and unnecessarily complicated the question. I would recommend that you re-evaluate this course and the delivery model (one or two instructors).

교육 기관: David M

2017년 5월 1일

The information in the videos was very interesting and well presented. I feel like I learned a lot. However, the quizzes and tests seemed to be of a very different level, and often covered material that was hardly discussed in the lectures. I understand that students are expected to do independent learning of material, but the gulf between lectures and test difficulty was extreme. If others were interested in learning about the basics of music theory, I would not recommend this course.

교육 기관: Julie B

2020년 2월 10일

This course is really unbalanced in terms of difficulty. The first week is aimed at complete beginners, but by the fourth week or so things get much, much harder. I didn't feel like there was adequate explanation or materials for many of the questions on the quizzes at that point. I did manage to finish and pass the course, but the last couple of weeks were really frustrating. I think this material would be better spread out over a longer course, or multiple courses.