Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
2,181개의 평가
741개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

최상위 리뷰

BH
2017년 6월 22일

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

JJ
2020년 3월 21일

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

필터링 기준:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity의 728개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Shannon L

2017년 2월 26일

Larry is the best-I highly recommend! I loved this course and really enjoyed exploring these concepts. It is very well put together in a way that gives you time to ponder and try to truly understand the theory before getting to the "cool stuff." I will miss this weekly adventure!

교육 기관: Bee_r

2017년 3월 26일

Amazing,thanks very much for your professional and responsible in teaching.

I am always having the curiosity about Einstein,so i hope maybe someday you can give us the curriculum on his general theory of relativity.

Thanks again for all the courses i've learned from your teaching.

교육 기관: Pratham S

2019년 7월 30일

Lovely course. A well taught and elaborate explanation of the Special Theory of Relativity. Also an insight into Einstein life and how he came up with his theories in different sectors and the 5 famous papers of 1905.

A must for every physics, astronomy and aerospace enthusiast.

교육 기관: Vivien T

2016년 9월 24일

Excellent course which presents the special theory of relativity in a very clear and accessible manner and also explains well the scientific, technological and biographical context of this discovery. I warmly recommend this course. Congratulations and thanks to Larry Lagerstrom

교육 기관: Marcos P O

2020년 1월 13일

Excellent course. Although I'm not into this kind of science, I've managed to finally understand it. If I can, you can. You can do the course with calculations or without calculations. Anyway, I've you are curious about the subject, just take it. Thanks to the Coursera team.

교육 기관: Juan S M F

2018년 6월 22일

Muchas gracias profesor por el curso expuesto. Me ha encantado, su forma de explicar es maravillosa. Me he motivado de gran manera para profundizar el conocimiento entregado. Muy agradable su forma de compartir el conocimiento. Gracias a Coursera por dar este tipo de cursos!

교육 기관: muhamed n a

2017년 9월 18일

great course and great instructor i deeply understood the special theory of relativity

1- very well organized , from simple to complex gradually

2-detailed

3 -persuasive , full of examples and logic arguments

4- clear effort and patience of this great lecturer

3- gradual

교육 기관: Ray G

2020년 9월 25일

I have really enjoyed this course, the lecturer "Larry Randles Lagerstrom" presented the course in a clear and concise way. The presentations and examples used where in easy to follow steps, which supported my learning styles...... A big thank you to Lary and the team.....

교육 기관: Jordi T

2019년 6월 14일

This course is very comprehensive and it is also very well prepared in order to have a progressive understanding of the theory of the special relativity. Lectures made by the instructor are very interesting and you can get addicted as if you were watching a Netflix series.

교육 기관: ACADEMAN

2017년 7월 24일

THE COURSE WAS A DELIGHT! MR. LAGERSTROM WAS AN EXCELLENT INSTRUCTOR. IT WAS A REAL PLEASURE TO SIT IN ON HIS LECTURES EACH DAY AND LEARN A DIFFICULT SUBJECT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COURSE TO ANYONE WITHOUT HESITATION. THANK YOU MR. LAGERSTROM FOR A TRULY WELL DONE COURSE.

교육 기관: Bruno M

2018년 4월 1일

Thank you very much to Professor Lagerstrom for sharing his knowledge publicly for the benefit of others. This is a fantastic course for learning the concepts of the special theory of relativity. Highly recommended if you are getting started or getting back into physics.

교육 기관: Pierangela M

2018년 4월 5일

This course is organized very well, and useful handouts are provided. The lectures are very easy to follow clear despite the difficulties of the topic. An historical and Philosophical contest helps to understand better the arise and development of these beautiful theory.

교육 기관: Rohit B

2017년 7월 8일

A brilliant course presented with knowledge and passion by Prof. Lagerstrom. It is very easy with minimal dependence on Mathematics. It certainly has inspired me to follow on to learn more about the Special and General theories. Thank you for providing the list of texts.

교육 기관: Dipraj C J

2019년 8월 3일

This is so helpful for those who wanna understand our universe and who are not learning in college for that...it helped a lot for my curiosity. Thanks to sir Larry, he has put so much efforts to let us understand what is needed...again thank you Larry Sir and Coursera.

교육 기관: Cris P

2017년 3월 4일

Excellent course. Prof. Lagerstrom provided detailed explanation regarding the special theory of relativity in a very simple and understanding manner. I hope to attend more courses from the good professor soon. Thank you for sharing your knowledge to us, sir. Kudos.

교육 기관: Bilal H K

2017년 8월 4일

exceptional introductory course to review and revisit the basic fundamentals notions about the relative motion and Einsteins special relativity ,hats off to instructor for making it look simple and interesting carry on the noble cause of spreading knowledge. Thanks

교육 기관: Owen L

2020년 8월 9일

Great course, highly recommended. Very engaging instructor (at 1.25x speed at least), fascinating topic covered in-depth.

I really enjoyed the organization and structure - the quizzes were effective, and the handouts were a great way to keep my thoughts organized.

교육 기관: Carlos H

2020년 9월 12일

I enjoyed a lot the course, knowing very little about relativity, this course explains me in a very gently manner the principles of special relativity, it is an excelent choice for beginners who wants to learn and for people with background who wants to remember.

교육 기관: SAMMYAK S

2018년 6월 22일

Great Course for those who want to study the basics of special theory of relativity qualitatively, without scratching their heads too much. Math involved is of higher secondary school level and shouldn't be a problem for people with a non mathematical background.

교육 기관: Sumit B

2017년 6월 10일

Ennobling experience as Einstein said in one of his quotes. Thank you Professor for making things so simple and interesting. I was struggling to understand these key concepts of relativity from a long time. Would definitely join other courses similar to this one.

교육 기관: Helmich V

2019년 4월 23일

The course explains the Einstein theories in common words and language. Of course there is limited mathematics to make you feel convinced of the correctness of "Special Relativity". I enjoyed the lessons and course by a terrific teacher and professor. Thank you.

교육 기관: Antonio B

2020년 6월 15일

Grateful for the opportunity to access an extraordinary online University course. Larry make easy, simple and inspirational every little step taken towards Einstein's mind, theories and talent . Fresh air for an already one century old insights. Thanks indeed.

교육 기관: Akshai R K

2020년 6월 1일

The course deals with one most exciting theories in the world of science and having taken it, I can say that it is molded so as to imbibe curiosity in the minds of the most basic man with the least exposure to science. Great job by Professor Larry and Stanford.

교육 기관: Robin A L

2020년 1월 2일

This is an amazing course. It could have used some graphics or animations, but the math and diagrams done on the whiteboard were really nicely done. I came to actually understand the Special Theory of Relativity. You need to know some algebra to get this.

교육 기관: Robert N

2017년 11월 14일

Excellent course! The instructor speaks slow, so I adjusted the speed to 1.25x. But that is his motto: Festina Lente. And to be honoust it is a very abstract course, so that some items were told two or three times, makes even the hardest parts understandable.