Chevron Left
Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction(으)로 돌아가기

바르셀로나 자치대학교의 Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
326개의 평가
98개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Philosophy is like sex: sure you can get some interesting results, but that's not why we do it. Going one step beyond…why do you FEEL pain or pleasure? Do plants have emotions? How is possible that some people do not understand other’s emotions? Emotions seem to be everywhere, giving meaning to all events of our lives. They are the backbone of social activities as well as they drive the cognitive processes of several living entities. Several animals, including humans, have emotions but…what about machines?...Do machine can have emotions? This course will help you to understand and to identify most important philosophical ideas and debates about emotions, as well as it will provide you a rich source of data about neurological, psychological or anthropological analysis of emotions. In a nutshell: this is a course to feel and think about....

최상위 리뷰

BK

Jun 12, 2020

Great Material! Excellent presentation! Very good use of Coursera technology including Avatars and great summaries in End Remarks on the videos. Highly recommend Bob

JB

May 27, 2020

This course is very well put together with lots of emotions. It is very interesting on how are emotions come about. Thanks to the Professor.

필터링 기준:

Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction의 97개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Sue S

Aug 01, 2017

I very much enjoyed this experience. I have never before smiled through an entire course, online or in person. Jordi Vallverdu is a trip. It has been extremely refreshing to spend some time with a philosopher who is actually able to connect on a human level FIRST. And, hey, I learned some things along the way. I used the subtitles, but they often mucked things up more than they clarified. If the subtitles could be generated by a human as opposed to a computer, I think it would clear things up a lot. I highly recommend this course- interesting, well-paced, and fun.

교육 기관: RBUlrich

Sep 04, 2016

It wood be interesting, but unfortunatly Prof. Vallverdú's English is quite hard to understand. The scripts are therfore nearly unreadable. What a pity!

교육 기관: Beate P

Dec 09, 2019

The professor has a good personality. As an English speaker, I had a difficult time understanding the professor which made it difficult to focus. His English skills were sub-par and his pronunciation was painful at times. To improve, he could have rehearsed his lecture while having someone correct his mistakes. His slides contained many errors and some things did not make any sense. Also, it is distracting to have a small camera view of the professor. First, the professor should be front and center standing up (not sitting at a desk unless he is disabled). The slides should be behind him so that we can focus directly on him. Please refer to other courses such as Digital Marketing from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

교육 기관: Dorothy H

Sep 22, 2017

I would have loved this if it had been in the professor's native language of Spanish, but with that dense accent it was intolerable and unintelligible for me as a native speaker of English.

Please think about re-doing this one over again in Castellano.

교육 기관: Katja S

Jun 26, 2019

This is a great course! In the beginning it was a bit hard to understand the Professor, as English is my second language as well. But nonetheless, the information presented and the personality of the Professor totally win over. Also, there are subtitles!

교육 기관: karime e p g

Mar 20, 2019

Its a really great course, just consider that english is not his first language

교육 기관: Everton H M m

Mar 01, 2020

simplesmente maravilhoso aprendi muito realizando o curso.

교육 기관: Enrique J P R

May 04, 2018

Seria genial verlo tmb es español...

교육 기관: Philippe P

Aug 30, 2017

Great course. Thank you.

교육 기관: Ivanka D

Jan 08, 2018

Great course to learn more about emotions. The only thing was that it was sometimes difficult to follow the professor because of the language. But besides that it was verry interessting. And you can tell that the professor loves his work. He tells the theory with humor and allot of examples.

교육 기관: Victor G d O S

Sep 09, 2016

It was a fairly good course, the professor is funny and the slideshow itself is well made, but the content sometimes got boring and my mind stepped away from the course, something that did not happen even with other more difficult courses.

교육 기관: reneryu

Dec 20, 2016

The lecturer and his avatar are funny, the course content is structured but the delivery is a bit loose...

교육 기관: Deleted A

Mar 08, 2020

If I could give no stars, I probably would. The professor misrepresents St. Augustine's work and calls it a paraphrase when it is not. When asked about it, at first there is a tangential reference to Kant by a mentor (?) and then eventually the professor responds also with no acknowledgement of the misrepresentation that is not a paraphrase and only responds with more tangents that are off topic and takes no responsibility for the lack of academic integrity of his work. It's frustrating and not worth my time. I trust investing the time to read the original sources, and I have no respect for the professor for his lack of academic honesty and integrity. Not surprisingly, there are others also complaining about this on the same course discussion board. When I asked for Help with Coursera, the best I was given was to add a rating for a course that should be dropped entirely to stop the spread of misinformation and to keep the academic reputation of the courses high. Given that doesn't seem to be happening. I have no need to bother with courses from here as my time is better spent elsewhere with higher levels of academic integrity.

교육 기관: Harika

Jun 30, 2018

Its a great course that explains how our environment and the language we speak effect how we feel/express the emotions and how they play a major role in our cognitive tasks and also how the states of emotion are integrated part in brains cognitive functioning.Good intro to know how techniques like reinforcement learning are used also nice article on how our brains process and store information based on the idea of convolutions.

교육 기관: Fiona G

Jul 06, 2017

This was a great course. I took it to help me understand better what I was attempting to do with my hobby of abstract art. I learned how to focus on my emotions while painting and it has resulted in really creative work.

교육 기관: Sandu F

Jun 02, 2020

Very interesting and provocative course. It provides you with many ideas. Such a philosophical approach of emotions is welcome and I do hope many philosophers will take this course and use it in their future analysis.

교육 기관: Milecia M

Oct 07, 2016

This course gives some great insight as to why and how we act emotionally. It walks through the physical and cultural aspects of emotions in ways that really tell why we do and interpret things certain ways.

교육 기관: Bob K

Jun 12, 2020

Great Material! Excellent presentation! Very good use of Coursera technology including Avatars and great summaries in End Remarks on the videos. Highly recommend Bob

교육 기관: Fisico R B

Sep 08, 2017

Yo estudio las Emociones de las MujeresMexicanas de la Ciudad de Mexico y este curso ha siido Magnifico de Gran Ayuda, Felicitaciones al Profesor Jordi!!!

교육 기관: Jason B

May 27, 2020

This course is very well put together with lots of emotions. It is very interesting on how are emotions come about. Thanks to the Professor.

교육 기관: Ma E D L

Jan 24, 2018

Such a great course! Biologist involved with neuroscience will really find the contents delightful and a real learning enviroment

교육 기관: Tanya C

Aug 05, 2016

Love this course. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to understand emotions. Jordi, I can't wait to do your next course.

교육 기관: Traore A M

May 08, 2020

Le professeur a su bien dispensé le cours. j'apprécie beaucoup le cours c'est très important et j'a beaucoup .

교육 기관: Helder C

Jan 15, 2017

Very interesting course. It provides good informations about the basics of emotions as a philosophical issue.

교육 기관: sukran c

Jan 26, 2018

Very good presented and very beneficial. Thank your for sharing your knowledge with us