Chevron Left
Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction(으)로 돌아가기

바르셀로나 자치대학교의 Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
204개의 평가
55개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Philosophy is like sex: sure you can get some interesting results, but that's not why we do it. Going one step beyond…why do you FEEL pain or pleasure? Do plants have emotions? How is possible that some people do not understand other’s emotions? Emotions seem to be everywhere, giving meaning to all events of our lives. They are the backbone of social activities as well as they drive the cognitive processes of several living entities. Several animals, including humans, have emotions but…what about machines?...Do machine can have emotions? This course will help you to understand and to identify most important philosophical ideas and debates about emotions, as well as it will provide you a rich source of data about neurological, psychological or anthropological analysis of emotions. In a nutshell: this is a course to feel and think about....

최상위 리뷰

TC

Aug 05, 2016

Love this course. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to understand emotions. Jordi, I can't wait to do your next course.

VS

Aug 02, 2017

This course is very interesting, I highly recommend it, and the professor is so cool!.

필터링 기준:

Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction의 54개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Katja S

Jun 26, 2019

This is a great course! In the beginning it was a bit hard to understand the Professor, as English is my second language as well. But nonetheless, the information presented and the personality of the Professor totally win over. Also, there are subtitles!

교육 기관: Prashant S S

Jul 31, 2019

Very Good and informative course

교육 기관: Egon W

Feb 25, 2019

A Philosophical introcuction with a huge knowledge of different domains. I liked the course very much.

교육 기관: Sheena B

Jul 06, 2017

Very interesting approach to understand the Philosophical dimension of Emotions. I did face a a little difficult with the accent which was predominantly Spanish, but the subtitles and transcripts provided filled that gap too.!

CHEERS!

PS: I also loved the Avatar!

교육 기관: Berenice J S V

Jan 05, 2017

Really enjoyable! A lot of information clearly unified and in consideration of different points of view. A little bit hard for the accent at the beginning, but fastly overcome.

교육 기관: mauricio m

Jun 24, 2017

excellent content, a little difficult to understand because the pronunciation in english, great course anyway!

교육 기관: Ergin H

Sep 01, 2017

A valuable introduction to the world of emotions. If you're thinking of studying emotions or considering emotions as part of your wider studies then this course is a great place to start. Of concern, however, is that along with other Coursera courses I have taken, some of the assessment questions are unconnected (and even disconnected) with course content. I'm left thinking that assessment has been quickly thrown together in an effort to get the course completed to some deadline- I imagine, rather than carefully put together to test and encourage learning. Evenso, this is a very good course.

교육 기관: Alexander S

May 13, 2017

The course is a nice introduction to the subject albeit the lectures are hard to follow and the transcripts are abominable. Papers and additional videos are sometimes more beneficial than the lectures themselves. The course misses the opportunity of providing the students with the formative feedback.

Content-wise I missed the discussion on how emotions are being expressed in human communication (verbal or non-verbal), while the neuro-focus of the paper was a little bit too much for me.

교육 기관: Joy S

Jul 10, 2017

Pretty good course. Instructor is entertaining in a goofy way. Final week, about robots and emotions, kind of fascinating

교육 기관: Chan R J

Jan 29, 2017

Thanks for the course. I've learned a lot and will share my experiences to my friends :)

교육 기관: Matheus A F C

Apr 22, 2018

A good introductory course.

교육 기관: Djana R

Jun 02, 2018

Good course!

교육 기관: Estefania R B

Mar 25, 2018

Interesting Course with a lot of information not only from a philosopical perspective but also from different scientific approaches!! Nice and very usefull bibliography !!

교육 기관: Joaquim

Jul 19, 2017

The instructor is very enthusiastic about the topic. He is an active researcher, and provides updated information on the subject. Videos are generally about the right length, the lectures are well organized. The provided external links to videos and webs are informative. If you have problems following his funny English, you can always turn on language captions.

교육 기관: Cliff S

Oct 22, 2016

This was a very interesting course. It presented a new way of looking at emotions I had not thought of before and the lectures were fun and interesting. The quizzes could have been a bit more challenging. Excellent forum participation from the mentors/staff.

교육 기관: L.Z

Jul 13, 2019

Great course, very thought provoking.

However:

it is better to suggest a little background in philosophy (and the philosophy of science) as a condition to enter the course.

The course doesn't focus enough on philosophical aspects - in fact, I'd say a better title for the course would be "A general introduction to emotions", since the course doesn't focus on philosophical aspects of emotions.

교육 기관: Ritesh K

Feb 15, 2019

Nice course to start with..!! you will learn lot about emotions, & unlearn may things as well...!

thanks..

교육 기관: Victor G d O S

Sep 09, 2016

It was a fairly good course, the professor is funny and the slideshow itself is well made, but the content sometimes got boring and my mind stepped away from the course, something that did not happen even with other more difficult courses.

교육 기관: Laura R D

Oct 31, 2017

The course is interesting and you feel the teacher knows about the topic and wishes to transmit plenty of knowledges, but I would suggest a few improvements of the videos: better organisation, rehearsal of the speech before filming the class (he has a strong accent as a non native english-speaker, and not too much fluency), or maybe reading what he wants to say (as in other Coursera courses) would be better than trying to explain everything with his own spontaneous words. Nonetheless, I do appreciate all the effort put on the course and on sharing this interesting topic!

교육 기관: Ivanka D

Jan 08, 2018

Great course to learn more about emotions. The only thing was that it was sometimes difficult to follow the professor because of the language. But besides that it was verry interessting. And you can tell that the professor loves his work. He tells the theory with humor and allot of examples.

교육 기관: RBUlrich

Sep 04, 2016

It wood be interesting, but unfortunatly Prof. Vallverdú's English is quite hard to understand. The scripts are therfore nearly unreadable. What a pity!

교육 기관: Greg G

Aug 09, 2016

A useful overview, but I think this course tries to be too many things all at once. It would have been better to break the philosophy, the ethics, and the science of emotions into separate courses. There is a lot of confusion and oversimplification in the considerations of consciousness and self awareness, and the implications of those things for emotions in humans, that would I think have had a better treatment, if the prof had pruned out some of the other stuff (perhaps ethics, or artificial intelligence, for example).

교육 기관: Simeon P

Feb 28, 2017

The material covered in the course is adequate and relevant to various aspects to our social lives. The course's purpose is to get you acquainted with the broad field of emotion study, to pique curiosity and fuel further research and deep dives into the multiple topics that are presented. It does this very well by offering lots of references to research papers, articles and videos. The course doesn't aim to dig deep into its topics. This remains as your task depending on your interests. As a final note, and this is critique I've already submitted, the presenter doesn't add too much to the slides in the videos. He basically reiterates what is written on the slides and doesn't expand on it much or at all. You're basically given links and references to what to learn by yourself. Hopefully this will change in future reiterations of the course.

교육 기관: Shaini B

May 31, 2018

It was really easy topic to understand. We can understand the depth of the emotions and its scientific approach.

교육 기관: reneryu

Dec 20, 2016

The lecturer and his avatar are funny, the course content is structured but the delivery is a bit loose...