학생용
Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Foundational Principles(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Foundational Principles 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
8,970개의 평가
3,203개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
하이라이트
Engaging instructors
(331개의 검토)
Interactive content
(104개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

JJ
2018년 8월 17일

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

CR
2020년 5월 12일

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles의 3,158개 리뷰 중 2951~2975

교육 기관: HEMACHANDRAN K

2018년 8월 4일

good

교육 기관: Jaborova M A

2017년 8월 17일

cool

교육 기관: Tran H T

2016년 5월 10일

test

교육 기관: Amadou A A

2016년 2월 27일

cool

교육 기관: Radef N

2020년 10월 13일

gef

교육 기관: Lorenz B

2016년 6월 9일

:)

교육 기관: Elif Y

2020년 12월 11일

I

교육 기관: Sanjay J

2020년 6월 3일

K

교육 기관: Chanyang S

2019년 8월 18일

I

교육 기관: hailicui

2017년 6월 1일

g

교육 기관: Fátima P V

2017년 3월 26일

T

교육 기관: Masterenko A

2017년 1월 30일

T

교육 기관: Ahmed A

2016년 3월 16일

ر

교육 기관: Eugene P

2020년 4월 16일

A great start for anyone dreaming about becoming a certified English teacher. Basic principles laconically explained in high-quality videos by a very charismatic professional. Interesting and enlightening concepts helping to look at teaching from a different angle and enrich your own process of doing the job. Unfortunately, there are disadvantages to this too. For anybody whose English is C1 and higher this course will be a little undemanding. Weeks in the course consist of only several short videos and text lectures. But, as I have put it, this course is for beginners and, mostly, for foreigners whose goal is to teach English abroad and get a certificate as fast as possible. Another thing, probably the most crucial for me is lack of feedback from professional teachers regarding evaluation of essays. Your work is evaluated by your peers the majority of which are, firstly, not so well versed in English, making myriads of mistakes along the way without a second thought to correcting them, and, secondly, do not really care about the amount of work you put into your essays. It was quite common to see dry, simplistic "Good." comments without any proper critique. This, of course, does not encompass each and everybody enrolled to this course and has nothing to do with the very course itself, but this is the picture I dealt with most of the time having my essays reviewed. Anyways, the course is worthwhile and will definitely help you.

교육 기관: Rey H

2016년 10월 3일

I have just finished the first course of this specialization. I don't expect it all to be as easy as this was for me. I'd say the coolest thing, the way I see it is that, throughout the whole course, they never talked about grammar or rules, rather about how we learn best; how students are affected by teachers; pitfalls of teacher burnout, how to's a few, and how not to, yes, but they mostly stayed toward the positive. Sure, there were some things which might be a little exclusively for language teaching, but I'd say, more, really, the things they explained were about teaching and learning in general. Anyway, I can get that grammar stuff out of books , on the net, or even on the Youtube. It's what makes me a good or a better or a worse or a useless teacher I want to learn. And up until NOW, it's exactly THAT they've been helping me with. One real waker-upper was when they suggested that neither the world, nor the classroom is ever (and never going to be) perfect. THAT was a load off my mind, and one of the most encouraging teacher helps I've EVER had: like, "Don't look at what you don't have, but what you DO have is what makes you a "professional"! (even if the lights go out!) Many Thanks! ---Rey Hudson

교육 기관: Albertha B

2020년 8월 24일

This was a fun and exciting course. As a practicing teacher it was a great refresher for me and could make the connections necessary to help me along. The pace was not bad, The content was presented in a way that most people would enjoy. Dr. Dixon was a great model, he practiced what he spoke of. the metaphors were refreshing and gave me new insight to how I should view learning on a whole. Mrs./Ms. Haraway assisted by emphasizing the points discussed in the preceding videos were grasped. ty

On the other hand I wish that more time was spent on the theorists that would help learners who were not teachers understand better and make the connections between the cognitive processes and the acquisition of language or any content for that matter. I would also have appreciated small group interactions as some others courses do as group assignments and i wish that there was direct feedback from the tutors . I think that it would help authenticate the course even more.

I am grateful for the opportunity afforded to me .

교육 기관: Alejandra R

2018년 4월 1일

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has little experience or really needs to learn classroom strategies for teaching language, or even teaching in general. I'm not giving it 5 stars because even though I can't say I didn't learn anything from it (I did), 39.99 per course for a few courses (is it 3, 4 total?) is a little much for me. I was seeking something for my professional development, I don't regret it. The teacher in this is very clear and charismatic, the information is easy to understand and never boring, and the strategies and theory, which is only discussed lightly (with additional resources) is extremely useful. I understand why it's a paid course, but it's pricey for my teacher salary.

교육 기관: Paul J M

2016년 3월 14일

Although much of the content seems common sense it is probably necessary to build a common foundation here for later courses. The peer assessments are potentially interesting but, in practice, the majority are so trivial--3 or 4 sentences repeating back material from the lectures--as to be hardly worth reading. Since there is no real qualitative assessment in the peer grading, the work put in by a minority is not acknowledged nor the shortcomings of many highlighted.

The instructor is unbelievably upbeat and animated which some will love and others. . . not. I tend to be in the latter camp but recognise this may be due to cultural differences or simply that I'm a boring old sod!

교육 기관: Dicle Ç

2016년 3월 5일

I think it's a really good opportunity to be able to obtain a TESOL certificate online and this course seems to be able to do it very efficiently. However, I have found the approach of the style of the lessons a little bit slow and too dramatic- and somewhat even childish. I'm sure the planning of this certificate program is to ensure that people who take it will remember it so that they can really make use of it in their profession- so they probably avoided long and boring lectures. But still, I must admit that the lessons look a little bit annoying sometimes :) Still, thank you for the opportunity.

교육 기관: Seddik B

2019년 11월 29일

This course was and still is a great start for individuals who want to start their teaching carriers. It contains amazing videos, readings and assignments. The missing 'STAR" was for the peer graded assignments. Even though my assignments were graded in a short time by my friends and peers, others really had to wait a bit longer. But their assignments were graded finally. To sum up, I recommend you to enroll in this course as well as to the other five courses by AZU.

교육 기관: David L A

2015년 12월 5일

The course is good enough--a means to an end. The 4-part, six weeks apart format is kind of bothersome because the wait period sort of dampens the momentum and enthusiasm created during the first course (especially if you complete the whole thing in a week-end). The course is well put together and infused with a little humor. The visuals are good and if you're in the right mood, the course is enjoyable and ifun to interact with folks from around the world.

교육 기관: Ken M

2020년 1월 8일

This is a fun, informative and helpful class for anyone wanting to become an effective language teacher. It's a nice mix of best practices and proven techniques that really work. I'm more confident and encouraged by this constructive approach toward teaching teachers how to most effectively help and motivate adult students to learn a new language. The ASU presenters and content team are very knowledgeable and passionate about teaching.

교육 기관: JENNIFER O

2017년 5월 23일

For a neophyte to online learning, I feel lucky to undergo a course where the instructor/ course presenter made the lessons easy to understand, the lectures were presented as if the instructor and the learner are in the same room and not just the presenter talking to the camera. It became easy for me to finish up the segment of the specialization and was driven to push through with the entire course because of it. Kudos to you all!

교육 기관: Ann B P

2017년 10월 10일

Excellent teaching but not as amazingly easy to access as the linguistics course or the Mandarin courses I took, probably because of the demand. I had to complain several times because I was sometimes directed to a module I had already completed. I was charged twice in September, once on the 2nd and again on the 10th. I supposedly began for free, so I think my first charge should have been on the 10th.

교육 기관: Weisi Z

2015년 12월 4일

The course is very inspiring and educational. I do appreciate that coursera and ASU can put this course on site. It synthesizes education theories and actual teaching experiences. However, I do think this course would improve a lot if teaching practices could be incorporated because for teaching professionals the teaching itself is the most important thing.