Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Foundational Principles(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Foundational Principles 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
6,978개의 평가
2,393개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
하이라이트
Engaging instructors
(331개의 검토)
Interactive content
(104개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

VM

Apr 10, 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles의 2,353개 리뷰 중 2201~2225

교육 기관: Weisi Z

Dec 04, 2015

The course is very inspiring and educational. I do appreciate that coursera and ASU can put this course on site. It synthesizes education theories and actual teaching experiences. However, I do think this course would improve a lot if teaching practices could be incorporated because for teaching professionals the teaching itself is the most important thing.

교육 기관: lukasz f

Oct 26, 2016

well organized, user friendly, brief but informative, based on videos (nevertheless, a transcription is always provided), if you are fond of metaphors you will definitely enjoy it. you have a choice to prepare a video clip (if you prefer the spoken language) or an essay (if you prefer the written language) for each assignment

교육 기관: Carlos B

Dec 22, 2015

Estuvo muy bueno, de pronto sería bueno incluir más videos en los que se pone en práctica los distintos principios. De todas maneras, debo reconocer que es una muy buena alternativa para aquellos que se inician en la enseñanza y quieren tener una idea más clara sobre lo que implica enseñar. Felicitaciones!!!

교육 기관: Lingling Y

Jan 23, 2020

The content is clear and the instructors are engaging. However, I was expecting the course to focus more onto how to teach English like how to teach grammars etc. Nonetheless, I learnt a great deal. It helped me to revise some of the things I had learnt in teaching college. I enjoyed the course thoroughly.

교육 기관: Polina v R

Jun 09, 2020

I have been teaching for a while, and I am familiar with most of the information presented in this course. Nevertheless, I took it because I would like to complete the entire set to receive the TESOL certificate. It might be useful for those considering to become teachers in the near future.

교육 기관: Luis M G M

Jul 05, 2018

Although it is an introductory course I would have preferred to have a hard course in this first part. However it is an excellent course and it sheds light on many topics in the teaching area. I strongly recommend it to everybody interested in learning more about English teaching.

교육 기관: Oriana S M T

Feb 20, 2020

The course portrays the general overview of being an English teacher, the main reflections on classroom language instruction and mainly focusing on the students language acquisition, opening our eyes to understand the opportunities us teachers have every single class we teach at.

교육 기관: Naomi S

Mar 12, 2016

I know that it would be near impossible to do this on a website like Coursera where thousands of people are probably enrolled in your course, but it would be great if there was some real evaluation (teachers or experienced alums to comment on the quality) of our essays/responses.

교육 기관: Johan H

Jan 19, 2019

Thank you to the team for insightful learning - and for being such good teachers!

You helped me deal with myths about teaching and specifically language teaching and inspires me to keep going.

Your work is structured, well researched and yo are fund to watch Dr Dixon!

Well done.

교육 기관: Jeremy W

Mar 30, 2016

A nice introductory course. For people that already have some Teaching or Language Acquisition under their belt, there may be some feeling of review. However, there is also valuable information and fresh angles on how to look at some aspects of language learning and teaching.

교육 기관: Darnelle L R

Jan 31, 2016

I learned some great techniques in this course, one in particular is to the 80/20 rule. Language teachers should allow learners to talk more, and teachers talk less! My only drawback is that I could not see my own responses to Essential Questions or feedback from my peers.

교육 기관: José I G U

Jan 26, 2016

Great! If this was the first I'm excited to start the others. The content is very instructive, a lot of concepts and useful tools. They should add more content per week, because is too little material to study per week. Thus, sometimes it seens to be boring. But it's ok.

교육 기관: Faridah H

Dec 19, 2015

I liked the course and I found it useful . I will recommend it to my friends. However , some of the instructions are not clear. I understood that I have time to catch up till Dec 21st. But now, My assignment and editing are not accepted and I want to know what I can do.

교육 기관: Opraha M A

Sep 25, 2018

This course presented the material in a very clear and understandable manner. The instructors used a lot of great metaphors and examples to engage learners and clarify the content. Anyone could take this course whether you have teaching experience or not.

교육 기관: Smriti L

Jul 12, 2020

I enjoyed the course and the way the content was distributed. I did however think some of the MCQs in the quizzes were slightly vague in what they demanded. They were too subjective to be part of a quiz. Other than that, I enjoyed it and learnt a lot.

교육 기관: Lukas S

Feb 26, 2018

I really liked the course, as it was intuitive, well set-up and good to handle in an every-day-setting. And although I understand that the videos are meant to inspire the students (teachers), sometimes the childlike approach gets a little bit to much.

교육 기관: Chayarat

Oct 17, 2018

This course is such a great example of micro learning. I could learn new things in very simple ways. The content is great, the website is very supportive. I totally recommend this course to anyone who wants to teach.

교육 기관: Sarah F S

Feb 15, 2020

Hi dears ,

It was good and informative; I learned a lot from the course.

But I think it would be much better if we had had the review of the lecturers on our assignment at least one time during the course.

Thanks

교육 기관: ADEMIR G D S

Jan 08, 2017

In the first week the course gave a bonus video called Teacher Talk. This could be gave for each week, a great lecture based on theories and techniques taught during the course, recorded from real world classes.

교육 기관: John M

May 04, 2020

Good course and well presented. Mostly fairly common sense and straight forward. Very easy to pass. Could be a little more challenging perhaps but overall a good basic foundational course. Thanks very much.

교육 기관: Tara J

Jul 24, 2016

Really fun and easy. The course was cleverly presented and I appreciated the emphasis on some of the notables in the field. It wasn't very challenging or it would have been five stars. Nice.

교육 기관: Rafael d A G

Jan 27, 2020

It was incredible how many things I've learned and improved with this course. From the way I teach English to how to relate to my colleagues, it's undeniable I've learned a lot. Thank you!

교육 기관: Chloe B

Aug 11, 2019

The course itself is informative and helpful and I liked the quizzes, the peer graded assignments seem erroneous and it takes a long time for your submissions to be graded by anyone.

교육 기관: Mas M M

Jun 09, 2020

Some quizzes have glitches and even though i've selected the correct answer, it showed that I was wrong until I have to retake it twice to only use the same answer and get it right.

교육 기관: Dorina P

Dec 26, 2019

Love the layout and that I can work at my own pace! I do not like that I have to wait on other people to grade my writing responses though. Other than that I have learned a lot!