Chevron Left
Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics(으)로 돌아가기

HSE 대학의 Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
113개의 평가
35개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Enumerative combinatorics deals with finite sets and their cardinalities. In other words, a typical problem of enumerative combinatorics is to find the number of ways a certain pattern can be formed. In the first part of our course we will be dealing with elementary combinatorial objects and notions: permutations, combinations, compositions, Fibonacci and Catalan numbers etc. In the second part of the course we introduce the notion of generating functions and use it to study recurrence relations and partition numbers. The course is mostly self-contained. However, some acquaintance with basic linear algebra and analysis (including Taylor series expansion) may be very helpful. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

최상위 리뷰

RA
2018년 3월 29일

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

HS
2020년 7월 6일

very nice course.very well taught by professor.one thing that can be improved is detailed solution of quizzes and assignments.thanks for the course:)

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics의 32개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Tyler R

2017년 4월 12일

This is a wonderful course. The lectures are engaging, clear, and intuitive, but from my perspective the best thing about this course is the depth of the problem sets; although not long (usually 3 - 4 problems), each problem requires genuine thought, understanding , and creativity. This has been especially refreshing in the world of online courses, where shallow and computational problem sets can sometimes be the norm. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in an introduction to this beautiful subject.

교육 기관: DAVID R M

2017년 6월 2일

This was an engaging course and I welcomed the opportunity to try something a bit more advanced than the typical offerings on Coursera. Lectures are very well presented. Homework assignments were pretty good and the online forum was helpful. I recommend this course and I would be interested in further courses like this one. I found it helpful to have a couple of textbooks on hand for reference. For the earlier material I used Shaum's Outline of Combinatorics by Balakrishnan (free download on archive.org) and for the material on q-series I referred to Theory of Partitions by George Andrews.

Suggested improvements: add student interaction during lectures to test understanding and supplement with worked problems in videos. Also add lots more problems for students to work on.

(I have found that with nearly all online courses the number of problems provided is too few for me to learn a topic).

교육 기관: Shen-Fu T

2019년 5월 8일

The course starts with basic enumerative combinatorics like counting sequences, permutation, etc. and gradually moves into generating function, which is a very powerful tool in combinatorics. It also gives interesting combinatorial proofs of several classical results. The quiz is helpful and final assignment a bit challenging and definitely fun!

교육 기관: David A I T

2017년 8월 28일

I enjoyed the course.

The lecturer was very good and the material quite interesting.

I feel that the assignments where sometimes very different compared to the material covered but I ended up doing extra research and learning more which is good!

Many thanks to the Coursera Staff as well as the Higher School of Economics.

교육 기관: Harry A H

2020년 4월 29일

This is a marvelous course, starting from absolutely basic things to quite advanced things. Extremely didactic. The problems sometimes seem frustrating, but after a few trials and review of the material one gets there. Thanks for this course,

교육 기관: Enrico P

2019년 6월 14일

Really great! Clear, concise, rich and stimulating, filled with many examples. Only the last part on q-world, although extremely interesting and very well introduced, is left almost without practical applications :-).

교육 기관: arvind

2020년 9월 18일

This was one of the best introduction to advanced mathematics courses in coursera.

except for a few minor issues like accepting similar forms of answers in quiz,content wise it was a brilliant course thanks a lot!!!

교육 기관: Sharath R

2019년 2월 19일

The professor is a little slow when he speaks but apart from that, he is a brilliant teacher. The course lets you get to the very roots of the topic by pushing you to do the derivations etc. Brilliant course!

교육 기관: Ry A

2018년 3월 30일

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

교육 기관: harsh s

2020년 7월 7일

very nice course.very well taught by professor.one thing that can be improved is detailed solution of quizzes and assignments.thanks for the course:)

교육 기관: Robin B

2020년 11월 18일

This course is very well put together. The lectures are very clear and cover a wide range of interesting topics in combinatorics.

교육 기관: Ritvik R

2017년 8월 22일

Great lectures and content. I really enjoyed it. However, the solutions exercises could be clearer and in more detail. Thank you!

교육 기관: DAVID P P

2017년 4월 20일

Very good gourse, I persoally enjoyed the lectures in which the relatipnship with other areas of mathematics were discussed.

교육 기관: Franck D

2017년 5월 7일

This course is great! The instructor exposition is very clear and simple. Recommend to anyone considering this topic!

교육 기관: Daniel M

2020년 9월 22일

Excellent class spanning both elementary and nonelementary topics. Would highly recommend!

교육 기관: sami

2020년 4월 11일

i loved the course thanks to the

National Research University Higher School of Economics

교육 기관: Herman Z

2017년 4월 10일

Marvellous online course. High level and ultimate lessons.

Don't underestimate the level.

교육 기관: Ze T

2017년 6월 20일

Excelente course with real university level of concepts and exercises!

교육 기관: Cong X

2018년 2월 12일

by far the best math course I had (and I've taken many) on coursera

교육 기관: Ajit B

2017년 4월 11일

Excellent course. I hope there are more courses by the same team.

교육 기관: Cheung W C

2020년 1월 12일

A detailed introduction to enumerative combinatorics.

교육 기관: Francisco P

2018년 5월 7일

Funny

Very good presentation

교육 기관: NARAYAN R

2020년 10월 23일

A well taught course.

교육 기관: Michael F

2017년 6월 18일

Great course!

교육 기관: Dmitrii S

2018년 6월 7일

Nice work!