Chevron Left
Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy(으)로 돌아가기

노스캐롤라이나대학교 채플힐 캠퍼스의 Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,540개의 평가
691개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

최상위 리뷰

FA

2020년 8월 10일

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

MS

2020년 6월 2일

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy의 688개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Diana C

2019년 4월 7일

I do not have any connection in my nature of job and education to the law, but I found this course incredible informative, and it opened my eyes to the subject. It requires more attention to the material from non-professionals like me, but It all will be rewarded with a raised awareness to such law. Donald Hornstein is the best lecturer ever. The videos were informative, funny and bring interest to the subject. Thank you for developing this course and for allowing people from outside understand what is environmental law.

교육 기관: Melissa J W

2020년 10월 27일

Although today in 2020, some of the topic have certainly changed, this was an enjoyable and challenging course. Instructor Donald Hornstein made me feel welcome, and excited about the topics. His enthusiasm was addictive, so I looked forward to each lecture. I also very much appreciated the clarity of his teaching, and the cases he chose to have us learn from, and the well-written briefs. There were more than a few typos in the transcripts, but overall an excellent course. I will look for more from Mr. Hornstein.

교육 기관: Robert W

2015년 8월 29일

Excellent course!!!!! Not only was the professor's teaching style fun and engaging, he made environmental law exciting!!! I learned so very much. Although my current degree is in Environmental Management and I'm a Healthcare Sustainability Specialist for an International regulated medical waste disposal firm, the course inspired me so much, i'm actually considering going to Law School to specialize in Environmental Law!!!

Thank you so very much Prof. Bornstein & UNC staff for offering this amazing course!!!

교육 기관: Kelsey G B

2015년 8월 28일

Prof. Horstein was a great lecturer - he had a very structured approach and spoke to his audience, not just "at" his audience. I enjoyed the mini-quizes inside of the videos, and felt his lectures were the perfect length. I learned quite a bit in this course! I'm a trainee lawyer in the UK and have a Masters in international policy (political science) so this was a very good way for me to see if I'm genuinely interested in environmental law - which I am. Thanks!

교육 기관: Karolyn B

2015년 9월 26일

Law does not have a reputation for being light reading, an interesting field full of personality and humor. Professor Hornstein defies that stereotype. I learned a great deal from this course, and actually looked forward to the lectures because of his good nature and lighthearted presentation of the material. For anyone who wants a basic introduction but may be hesitant about taking a law class, I highly recommend this one.

교육 기관: Daniel T

2020년 10월 7일

This is an outstanding course, and Professor Hornstein is an exceptional instructor. I am PhD environmental scientist with over 25 years' experience in academia and industry. What I learned in this course was the legal, economic and philosophical underpinnings of my career and my avocations. I am grateful to Professor Hornstein for sharing his depth of knowledge, his keen insight, and his advocacy for the environment.

교육 기관: William T K

2021년 1월 12일

While unfortunately dated at this point, Professor Hornstein's introduction course does an excellent job of outlining the principles underlying environmental law, both in the United States and internationally. Everyone with the ability to do so owes it to themselves, their community, and their planet to become familiar with the subject matter of this course, which is becoming more urgently relevant day by day.

교육 기관: VELPULA S C

2020년 6월 12일

Very informative ; But cases are only from the United nations of America,it will be better if the cases are given from other countries(World).Because,Environmental pollution is in the entire world in the present world. The government in USA has very good laws but it is not the same in other countries. we can learn from the cases.

교육 기관: Rachel P

2021년 6월 8일

As someone who has never taken a law class or endeavored into law in any way so far, I have learned SO MUCH in this course! I am very thankful that Professor Hornstein taught the class in a way that was accessible for layfolks like myself. I found the course to be fun and challenging at the right level to get me to really think and consider legal thought as it relates to conflict resolutions. I had so many answers about this field/topic before I began and they were almost all answered in the course. I feel more confident in my abilities to understand the various aspects of environmental law and policy. I definitely recommend!

교육 기관: Nidhi S

2020년 12월 17일

The course is very lucid and highlights the multidisciplinary approach towards environmental law. I am extremely elated to share that enrolling in this course had been very fruitful since it has definitely changed my thought process and has added immensely to my knowledge of environmental law. I congratulate the University of North Carolina to have given us this opportunity of e-learning. I am also grateful to Prof. Donald who has explained every topic so well making it interesting with various case laws and totally comprehendible. The weekly quizzes were a great method of self-assessment. Thank You once again!

교육 기관: ARVIND K S

2022년 3월 5일

For non-law students like me (and probably for law students as well), the course came out as a refreshing change from the usual courses on offer.

It explains in simple parlance how water, air and GHG pollutants etc. need to be controlled and the statutes in place to help federal, state as well as multinational agencies do so. Interpretation of laws by the courts is explained in simple ways that students could easily comprehend.

The readings and quizzes rank way up there and buttress the lectures leading to better undestanding.

Thanks Professor for a useful and contemporary course well taught.

교육 기관: Kashvi A

2021년 7월 15일

Professor Hornstein managed to create an entertaining yet meaningful course on Environmental Law and Policy, with the conceptual and fact-based explanations making it easy for anyone to understand. I also really appreciated the structure and organisation of the course. One pointer is that this course focuses mainly on cases and statutes in the United States, with few being from other countries or on the global scale. Nevertheless, you still learn a lot about environmental law in general.

교육 기관: Natalia G G

2018년 12월 22일

It was really interesting, I liked the approach very much and the way the Professor explained everything. Our legislation in Colombia is basically a copy of the US legislation, so it is very important for me to understand why our environmental law is how it is, and in this aspect this course was so helpful. I would like it to be updated, since the reference of the GHG and the International Agreements have changed and the US has taken a different position with the Trump's Administration.

교육 기관: Mallory C

2016년 1월 11일

Absolutely love the professor. He is very clear and articulate. You also don't really need to do the readings if you're very good at listening. Or you don't need to watch the lectures if you're super good at law and policy and don't need any clarifications. He makes it fun and interesting. I also learned quite a lot. Love all the examples he gives. Great class I would definitely recommend for people trying to get a little introduction and background to environmental law.

교육 기관: Lucía P C

2020년 9월 11일

It's an outstanding course! Professor Hornstein is an excellent teacher, even if just an introduction to environmental law, we get to study a lot of important topics in more than a simple introductory way. Also, the readings recommended every week are very pertinent to learn not only theory, but what happens in the practice of environmental law. I wish the would update this course, adding another module, as it has passed some time since it was recorded.

교육 기관: Octrina N L

2021년 2월 20일

I love how the professor bring the course alive. Very suitable for beginner and definitely an interesting way of presentation. It also helps that the text for all the videos are broken down per few minutes to help focus to both audio and visual learners. Each course also doesn't take that long and reading assignment is reasonable and actually adding onto the existing story so it doesn't feel like a burden reading them. I want more of this.

교육 기관: AMBAR M R

2017년 12월 16일

It was a real honor taking this course and learning from Professor Hornstein who works hard into making each lesson absolutely remarkable. The topics exposed were very interesting and learning about them from someone who's passion is captivating, and who shows to have great wisdom in them is an amazing experience. I more than recommend this course to anyone looking to learn more about environmental law and what it consolidates.

교육 기관: Shivam G

2020년 5월 15일

Amazing course with such an awesome professor who even though being in a one-sided virtual class makes the students of this class feel as if they are actually present there and he takes so much efforts to make it interactive and a fun learning process by giving various out of the box hypotheticals and continuously makes the student work their brains to answer the questions. PS: Really loved his dress code for the lectures.

교육 기관: MARIA G L C

2020년 10월 6일

I am from Argentina south america. I am a lawyer. The classes are great and very dynamic and full of energy. The points are very clear and the teacher lawyer is excellent. I wish you can come to Argentina to a conference in our ENVIRONMENT MINISTERY for lawyers. Thank you very much. María Guadalupe Lo Cane Schloszarcsik Tisnés. ENGLISH TEACHER AND LAWER. I would very thankful to receive a certificate as an assistant.

교육 기관: Clarissa

2016년 5월 3일

The professor has an immense amount of charisma and a concise way of breaking down concepts. The content material is short and to the point. These short lectures allow the student to even explore philosophies of economics in detail giving a big picture to what the issues at hand are with Law, Policy, and Climate Change.

Great lectures, materials, discussions, and extremely effective Professor. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Erik C K

2022년 2월 1일

Although I am EUropean, and the focus was on US law and regulation, this was an excellent course that in a simple yet clear and consise way presented the dilemmas and issues around environmental law and policy. The course gives an excellent basis to dwell more into the issue, in particular in EU law, who could greatly benefit from having such excellent lecturer and good structure as this course.

교육 기관: Olumese E M

2020년 7월 3일

Wow it is been an interesting, fun and informative time spent with my most favorite professor in the world I had the privilege to learn from. Coming from a medical background with little knowledge of law and especially environmental law, Prof Don Hornstein simplified it and thus it reflected in my grade Looking forward to take any other course under him. Shout out to Prof and his team!

교육 기관: Rihan S

2021년 6월 18일

Professor Donald Hornstein is a wonderful teacher! He explains from the history of environmental law to the contemporary state with a view to the world legal regime. His insights at policy from Economics and Law from Statutes and Case law are delight to learn in fusion.

Although the course is set around in 2013-14, it has been great fun learning and has prepared me for future learning !

교육 기관: Hannah F

2016년 11월 15일

I loved this course! The professor is so enthusiastic and easy to follow, and I feel like I have the basic background knowledge that I need for my job now. It also helped me to interpret cases - I read the case (which he has condensed) each unit, tried to puzzle out what had happened, and then listened to his lecture to see if I got it right. Thank you Coursera and Professor Hornstein!!