Chevron Left
Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베니아 주립 대학의 Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,181개의 평가
303개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

최상위 리뷰

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

필터링 기준:

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases의 297개 리뷰 중 276~297

교육 기관: Ediri M

Apr 09, 2017

Really interesting course if you want to be more informed about the dynamics of global disease transmission and emergency responses

교육 기관: Chris J

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent big picture overview of epidemics with very knowledgeable faculty bringing a wealth of expertise to the course.

교육 기관: Dwayne P

Oct 11, 2017

Thank you for all the effort the team put in to make this course. It is an amazing course, learnt so.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Sep 09, 2015

Nice course and extremely we'll presented. Cood ideas and the presenters also did a great job.

교육 기관: Wojciech W

Feb 02, 2019

Very interesting course with many wonderful information presented in funny and engaging way.

교육 기관: Mark

Feb 12, 2017

Very thorough and comprehensive course--all lessons are in easily-understandable English

교육 기관: Christof S

Apr 09, 2020

the course and lecturers are very good, the means of interaction is limited though.

교육 기관: Anais S

Jun 21, 2016

Some of the lectures were a little dull but the information was fantastic!

교육 기관: Darla C

Apr 11, 2020

A few spelling errors and minor bibs in videos but overall very good

교육 기관: Ryan R

Jan 25, 2016

The test difficulty was a lot easier than the actual course content.

교육 기관: Alicia U V

Sep 29, 2015

Really good material. Lectures are fun to watch and easy to follow.

교육 기관: Brendan T

Sep 21, 2016

Great course, will def be looking for more like this.

교육 기관: drashti s

Aug 26, 2020

nice to learning about diseases

교육 기관: Maria F S B

Mar 18, 2020

I loved the Course.

교육 기관: Ritvik S S

Oct 25, 2015

very intresting

교육 기관: Antonio B

Jun 04, 2017

very usefull

교육 기관: CARLOS A P M

Aug 18, 2018

excelent

교육 기관: Peter D

Sep 09, 2015

Was an interesting course but, at least to me, seemed to lack relevant material I was hoping for. When Addressing the concepts of Ebola, SARS, or the concepts of anti-vaccination the content was vague. But overall I thought the course was very informative on the concepts of how infections can spread and how we can track the movements in order to help control infection rates. I will definitely be going back to rewatch some of these lectures in the future.

교육 기관: Rune B

Oct 11, 2015

Interesting introduction to the topic. Would be beneficial if the course could be expanded and a formal certificate could be obtained providing credits or official points.

교육 기관: Heather S

Dec 01, 2016

It was an interesting class though the scale of difficulty was very low. I would improve this course by adding more technicalities.

교육 기관: Shannon N

May 13, 2020

Course requires some updating since it was made.

교육 기관: SARA G M H

Apr 04, 2020

Excellent course