Chevron Left
Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베니아 주립 대학의 Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,351개의 평가
340개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

최상위 리뷰

DB
2016년 4월 22일

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN
2016년 4월 11일

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

필터링 기준:

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases의 335개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Douglas w

2020년 4월 24일

The instructors were very good and many of there examples were very interesting. Of particular interest to me, was the story of the Irish potato famine and the the zombie ants.

교육 기관: Ahmad B

2020년 4월 20일

this course was the greatest course that i ever have been participated in , will organized , the information was easy to deliver and all teacher were great >>

really thank you

교육 기관: Yisen D

2020년 3월 22일

Thanks for the vivid animation and fulfill content, now I have learned more about the epidemics. As the COVID-19 outbreak, we need to be prepared in both knowledge and action.

교육 기관: MEERA K M

2020년 8월 18일

one of the Excellent short term course i had attended in my lifetime. Resource persons were so good and no words to say about their narrations about epidemics. Outstanding

교육 기관: senerm s

2020년 4월 22일

Great course which teaches you the basics and gives you intermediate information about different infectious diseases. It helped me alot and i think it will also help you.

교육 기관: Annabelle M

2020년 4월 10일

Great class! I found all the themes very interesting, the presentations were engaging, and it was nice to have some researchers talk about their work. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Abdulrahman M

2015년 9월 1일

Thank you to all the members of course on this great effort has been spectacular and of course benefited him a lot and was very entertaining explanation you are great

교육 기관: Rupok C

2020년 9월 19일

Great to learn a very intuitive course. Instructors have shown historic backgrounds and illustrates the underlying cause-effect related to epidemiology and biology.

교육 기관: Laura M

2017년 8월 8일

The first week gave me a lot of fundamental tools, im a biology student and i complete my normal pregrade education, THANKS for make this kind of courses can happen

교육 기관: Prajwal K

2019년 8월 18일

The course was interesting and very well structured. I thank the Coursera team and as well as the instructors for their sharing their valuable time and knowledge.

교육 기관: Daniela

2015년 10월 17일

It is great!. I have been learned about experiments that researchers have been developed to understand the interaction between the host and the infectious agent.

교육 기관: Flo B

2021년 5월 27일

I found this course hugely interesting. It has given me a good grounding in a topic I find fascinating and has opened new avenues of research for me to explore.

교육 기관: Anna I

2015년 11월 4일

Excellent class with a rich variety of instructors from multidisciplinary array of fields, lots of extra information and pretty much any question answered!

교육 기관: ROBERTO D G L

2020년 10월 24일

excelente aprendí mucho sobre la dinámica de las enfermedades y afiance conocimientos muy concretos sobre como se comportan las enfermedades infecciosas

교육 기관: Rameshwar R

2020년 4월 14일

Loved every minute of it, excellent content and masterfully delivered. I learnt a lot from it and feel encouraged to pursue it even further. Thank you

교육 기관: David A R R

2017년 3월 7일

muy interesante e introductorio a la dinámica de la enfermedades infecciosas que abarca determinantes tanto biológicos como sociales. Muy recomendado.

교육 기관: Dean C

2016년 2월 29일

Excellent course. The video lectures were outstanding, understandable and organized in a way that helped me digest all of the information presented.

교육 기관: Michael C

2021년 8월 19일

I came across this video after finding it in the training section of MIDAS. Excellent faculty involved in creating these videos, excellent course.

교육 기관: SUYEON B

2019년 8월 8일

Thank you all of the pfrofessors

Before entering my MPH course, I could grasp the concept of infectious disease control from your course. Thak you!

교육 기관: Yaset C

2018년 8월 20일

The best course that I made. I like the class and the simply of concepts related with the dynamics of epidemic. I congratulate to Professors team.

교육 기관: Louise J D

2015년 12월 1일

I enjoyed taking this course so much. The professors and students were great. I look forward to taking additional courses on infectious diseases.

교육 기관: TYANN B

2015년 9월 27일

I really enjoyed this course and I will use this knowledge in my personal interests of the ecology of food and waterborne infectious disease.

교육 기관: Tsveta D

2020년 5월 23일

Great course, providing a lot of valuable information about infectious diseases and keeping the student engaged during the learning process!

교육 기관: SUHOTRO G

2020년 5월 28일

Learned a lot with respect to different aspects about infectious diseases which has helped to put in perspective about the latest disease

교육 기관: Deanna C

2020년 5월 31일

Enjoyed the process of learning about infectious diseases with this class as it is currently in unison with our fight against Covid-19.