Chevron Left
Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression(으)로 돌아가기

멜버른 대학교의 Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
734개의 평가

강좌 소개

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1 The course will re-open in 2022....

최상위 리뷰

NN

2021년 8월 1일

This is the best course on coursera, 10/10. I wish it was longer and I could take it all over again. you will need background knowledge for this course but it is an amazing course and I will miss it.

MM

2018년 10월 1일

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

필터링 기준:

Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression의 201개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Simona B

2019년 5월 20일

This course is certainly a perfect way how to learn about this exciting field of Biology. Very interesting and useful examples of epigenetic control across the species. I especially value Dr. Marnie Blewitt and her way to explain these phenomena in a clear and understandable way.

교육 기관: Vincze V

2020년 5월 20일

It was the first course that I took after searching for the right one, and it didn't disappoint me. I learnt a lot as a Biology student, the videos and explanations were clear and covered really fascinating subtopics. I recommand it to everyone who's interested in this field.

교육 기관: Ivan I M

2016년 5월 8일

Intriguing interective presentations and positive lecturer who grabs the attention not only on the course material, but on the matter and problems of epigenetics, in general. Very thorough and detailed course, but the material is easy to understand, interpete and remember.

교육 기관: Ummi C

2016년 12월 14일

I find the course to be very interesting and full of information. The course is structured very nicely to make it easier for learners to gradually gain more and more insight into the field with minimum difficulties. I feel very satisfied by the time I finished the course.

교육 기관: Farbod -

2016년 6월 16일

If you think that epigenetics is just about DNA methylation, you are wrong and need to watch this course. It is fascinating ! It is full of new scientific materials and bizarre phenomenon such as "X chromosome kissing" offered by a nice presentation and wonderful movies.

교육 기관: mohamed l

2016년 5월 14일

Good course with many aspects and details in the field of epigenetics. I think it is better to formulate the course at more weeks because there is much information at short time. The courses in specialised scientific field should get details like this course.

교육 기관: Saba A

2020년 5월 6일

It was a very good course. It increases my knowledge regarding epigenetics and especially the role of epigenetics in cancer. Dr Marnie Blewitt explained everything very well. She is the best instructor and explained everything very well and in a simple way.

교육 기관: Priyanka S

2020년 9월 16일

I really enjoyed this course (the assignments too, they made you think!). Each week contained the right amount of material so as to not be overwhelming. I also liked the range of topics covered. I'd love to take on more such courses in this subject area.

교육 기관: Rob H

2016년 5월 12일

A challenging course that does a superb job of exploring the topics.

The lectures are well-presented and engaging, the additional materials are well-selected from both popular press and academic literature.

I wish there were more courses at this level!

교육 기관: Rebecca P

2021년 8월 16일

This was such an informative and engaging course! Although I found the content quite challenging, I really enjoyed learning a new topic that I am yet to be taught in Sixth Form, and in more depth than I expect we will be taught.

Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Yukthashree S

2020년 5월 21일

i liked this course very much though it was a new topic for me, i understood it in a proper way. And thank you for the teaching staff. With the knowledge i have gained through this course i am now more interested for further studies in this field.

교육 기관: Perceox P

2019년 9월 3일

Espectacular.

No soy un profesional del área salud y ha sido un desafió comprender. aun asi, y aunque tenia algunos conocimientos básicos, en lo que estoy investigando, que es el cáncer, este curso ha ampliado mi visión de una manera espectacular.

교육 기관: Anne L

2017년 5월 2일

This course gave an excellent overview of epigenetics including molecular mechanisms with multiple case studies and a focus on cancer in the last week. I learned a lot and feel more confident branching out into the field after taking this course.

교육 기관: Abhiyanta M

2020년 5월 19일

This course was really interesting and very informative. Each and every topic is explained with the help of diagram. Even the animations used was very very interesting. The presentation was very informative. It is very easy to understand.

교육 기관: Rhea J

2020년 5월 20일

The course proved to be very informative. My knowledge on the subject has definitely increased. This course has also refueled my interests towards this field. I thank the team, Coursera and Dr. Marnie Blewitt for this great experience!

교육 기관: EDUARDO R P

2019년 9월 28일

It is a somewhat complicated course even knowing a little about the subject, however it was an excellent course and I learned a lot. I discovered new topics and acquired new knowledge. Congratulations!

Thank you for sharing this course.

교육 기관: Antonina K

2016년 3월 26일

As far as we have no Genetic, no Epigenetic courses in our medical universities. I feel that I have a huge gap in my knowledge in this field. I am so happy that I can attend such interesting and necessary course. Thank you very much)

교육 기관: Claudia B

2016년 3월 30일

What can I say? An extremely complete course, very resourceful, dynamic and with great quality content from reliable sources. If you are interested in genetics, you will love this take on epigenetics; definitely worth it.

교육 기관: Vinicios A

2017년 8월 13일

This course is an incredible introduction to the Science of Epigenetics. Thanks to the course I've learnt a lot about Epigenetic and now I feel confident to read and understand all the papers in this field of knowledge.

교육 기관: Hugo F

2017년 10월 16일

Really good course! The design of the last assignment is more close to what I believe online courses should do. It really challenges yourself to apply the knowledge acquired from lectures and reading material.

교육 기관: Paul S

2019년 3월 30일

Well organized and thought out. Developed the concepts well with clear examples from literature. Gave an understanding of the state of the field and where there are things that still need to be worked out.

교육 기관: Vanessa L

2017년 3월 9일

I really enjoyed this course it's really interesting and I learned a lot about epigenetics. I really liked the professor and the way she explained and really enjoyed the materials she suggested us to read.

교육 기관: Niusha

2021년 8월 1일

T​his is the best course on coursera, 10/10. I wish it was longer and I could take it all over again. you will need background knowledge for this course but it is an amazing course and I will miss it.

교육 기관: Mary M

2018년 10월 2일

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

교육 기관: Dan S

2018년 8월 25일

This is an excellent course that introduces you to fundamental knowledge of several hot topics in the field of epigenetics. Dr. Blewitt herself studies X inactivation, and I learned so much!