Chevron Left
The Politics of Skepticism(으)로 돌아가기

에라스무스 대학교 로테르담 캠퍼스의 The Politics of Skepticism 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
35개의 평가
12개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a course about the history of Skepticism from the ancient Greeks to today, with special attention to the political ramifications of questioning man's ability to know the world and himself with any certainty. We will discuss the debates raging between Plato and the Sophists, the rise of Christianity in the Roman world, and the so-called 'Skeptical Crisis' of the Renaissance as well as Pierre Bayle's Skepticism and David Hume's. In addition the Natural Law tradition will be explored and the relationship between Skepticism and Conservatism. In the second part, we will explore the systematic relations between Skepticism and politics. What is skeptical doubt? When is doubt relevant? How does Skepticism relate to tolerance and to freedom of expression? And can it help us to solve political problems not only in a critical, but also in a creative way?...

최상위 리뷰

EC
2017년 8월 26일

Very good materials and quality videos. Great teachers. This course made me decide upon Erasmus as the university i want to study at, next year.

CC
2020년 9월 11일

Excellent course :-) The videos were interesting, clear and to the point. Both instructors were great, and I enjoyed the scenic settings

필터링 기준:

The Politics of Skepticism의 12개 리뷰 중 1~12

교육 기관: D S

2018년 3월 26일

Great course, but I really disliked the course requirement to watch full-length films in order to progress with the assignments. The points being lectured were not complicated or detailed enough to warrant 2 hours of YouTube-styled films to demonstrate the issues being discussed in the courses.

교육 기관: Remington C

2020년 1월 23일

Very solid ideas. The readings were great and the movies were all stellar and unique. I think that the lectures were unfortunately lacking at times (they were good, but I wanted more), and there could of been more testing or quizzing. Very solid course overall

교육 기관: J H B v d M

2019년 5월 8일

Expert philosophers/teachers who presented the lecture material in a pleasant and clear manner. The special locations where the videos are recorded, make watching the videos ageeable. The text below the videos was a good addition.

The advised or required literature was always available via a link. To make the essay's as requested, I regularly used other and complementary literature. For me that was an enrichment of the study. For all this I am grateful to the teachers.

To anyone who is interested in philosophy, I can heartily recommend this course : "The politics of Skepticism". This also applies to a further study philosophy at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam.

J.H.B. van der Meer

교육 기관: Ellie C

2017년 8월 27일

Very good materials and quality videos. Great teachers. This course made me decide upon Erasmus as the university i want to study at, next year.

교육 기관: Catherine M

2020년 9월 12일

Excellent course :-) The videos were interesting, clear and to the point. Both instructors were great, and I enjoyed the scenic settings

교육 기관: Debraj B

2020년 5월 15일

Looking for philosophical insights, this is the right place.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 6월 4일

Nice Course. Enjoyed the concepts. Thanks, sincerely

교육 기관: Trent T

2018년 6월 1일

Loved the lessons, structure, and the professors.

교육 기관: LAMPRINI-ELENI K

2021년 1월 28일

Nice course

교육 기관: Joy S

2017년 9월 5일

pretty good class.

교육 기관: Sharon Y A

2021년 10월 1일

E​xcellent readings but no oversight from staff. Discussion questions are too open-ended and since there's no feedback from staff, students are left to wonder if they're understanding the materal presented. Video format is distracting and often not pertinent to the subject under discussion. This course would be much better if the professor just lectured and provided quizzes to check for understanding. Can't recommend it until problems are fixed.

교육 기관: Thomas D

2020년 10월 20일

The assignments pages are weirdly formatted so that entering homework results in a string of unreadable characters. There are not enough people taking this course for the peer review system to work.