Chevron Left
Applications of Everyday Leadership(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Applications of Everyday Leadership 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
stars
1,196개의 평가
200개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course covers the following topics: negotiation, feedback and coaching, conflict management, and leading change. The objectives are to learn how to use leadership skills to work more effectively with others, how to use leadership skills to organize others to work more effectively together, and to apply the foundations of effective leadership skills to everyday situations faced by leaders. Learners: • Will be able to negotiate effectively and influence others • Provide feedback and coaching that is appropriate and influential • Will be able to manage conflict and lead change This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

최상위 리뷰

SR

May 20, 2017

Excellent learning. These kind of courses really help an individual learn and implement what leaders in organizations do. The best part of this was the Emotional Intelligence and the Negotiation part.

AO

Oct 18, 2017

This course has been an eye opener for me; a really great experience in deed. The faculty is lovely, and professor Gregory Northcraft knows how to keep you engaged virtually.\n\nThank you Coursera.

필터링 기준:

Applications of Everyday Leadership의 192개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Kyle B

May 12, 2019

The content in this course was more interesting and useful than its sister module (Foundations of Everyday Leadership) but the assignments are still a little underwhelming. Some of the assignments force you to go to an outside website to read a case study and then either attempt to coordinate with people in the forums or bother your friends about it. The case studies, at least, ARE interesting.

The writing assignments are worthless - the grading rubrics on them are so strict and the word-count so short that there is zero room for creativity or critical thinking of any kind - it is just a regurgitation of the vocabulary words. I've noticed that a lot of writing assignments I've graded fit the structure of the grading rubric EXACTLY, and that make sense because there is really no other way you could "pass" the assignment without seeing the rubric and then force-fitting an answer into it. At that rate, they might as well just use a multiple-choice questionnaire. In my opinion, though, since this is supposed to be a class about interaction, it would make more sense to have students reflect on situations from our own experiences where these lessons could have helped in decisions we've made or been affected by in real life. Alas, the opportunity is lost doe to the rigidity of the grading structure.

So while the lectures and the readings are interesting, I think that "passing" this class would be a poor indicator of whether or not someone really understood any of the material or would have needed to use any critical thinking skills in how they could apply it in their own lives.

교육 기관: Carlos d L

Mar 04, 2019

A very good companion course for foundations of every day leadership. Here its everything you need to apply the knowledge obtained in the previous course.

교육 기관: Messias M U

Dec 24, 2017

This course is about the application of everyday leadership. The best way to get greater benefits from this course would be taking the first and sibling course of the specialization, Foundations of Everyday Leadership, offered by the same Professor Gregory Northcraft. Applications of Everyday Leadership deals with four issues. The first issue is negotiation, where we learn that the best way to reach agreement when differences arise is by negotiating positions to favor interests. The second module deals with staff performance management. This module calls for attention for bias and subjectivity in the process of evaluation and how to use negotiation to make a fair performance evaluation. The next module deals with conflict management. here too, negotiation approach can be used to reduce differences. The last topic is leading organizational change. This is one of my favorite topics because I am planning to start consulting companies and change is one of the most fundamental hurdles of businesses today.

교육 기관: Bill

Jun 22, 2016

Excellent course! Very well taught. Dr Gregory Northcraft is very well spoken and engaging. This course is nicely structured with Readings, Videos, Cases, Essays, and Quizzes. About 6 hours per week for 4 weeks. Nicely paced. I did not take this with the for credit iMBA classes, but am considering doing so and might thus repeat these courses to take the iMBA classes. I like that you can get certificates and a Specialization in the Leadership and can even grow this into the iMBA which is a fully accredited world class MBA program from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. I highly recommend this course!

교육 기관: Javier F P

Nov 24, 2019

This course is much better that the first one. It is true that the first course was a introduction to the most important topics of everyday leadership, but this one was all about how to implement them in a daily basis. In other words, how to front difficult situations in a business environment, such as negotiation, weather the leader is or isn't in the dispute, or change management. I consider this last topic very important to understand and manage as a leader in order to apply a good management within a team and/or organization.

교육 기관: Nina R Y

Sep 23, 2019

Great Course, I am an entrepreneur with a background in accounting, the Foundations and applications of leadership have truly giving me new tools to better myself and my company. I've spent thousands of dollars to learn from industry leaders in my field and I can honestly say that I've gotten just as much from Coursera's Everyday Leadership Courses. Thank You, Professor Northcraft, and everyone else involved in making knowledge available to everyone that wants to learn.

교육 기관: Debasish D

Mar 04, 2019

It is just amazing how it helped me to regain peace within me... the flexibility options through discussions unfolded by the Prof to seemingly aggressive positioned case studies made me believe the innate human nature and how management is all about managing that. I long to be among the class room students of these profs. One thing, I liked how Professor Jack Goncalo engages with eye contact with Professor Jeff Loewenstein... I loved his amiable style.

교육 기관: Yan

May 15, 2017

Concepts are easy to understand and follow. Professor Northcraft is one of my favorite professors in Coursera. His courses are well-structured and get deeper and deeper gradually. The case study cases and the examples he used to explain were practical. Follow professor's pace I found myself completed the course without difficulties (oppositely it has given me lots of chances to think and discuss with others). Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Kevin R S

Apr 14, 2019

This course is an excellent follow-up to Foundations of Everyday Leadership. The modules are informative and the case studies provide more detail and additional challenge in a way that encourages participants to reflect upon the information given in both this and the previous course. I found that by the end of the course I had reflected upon the information given in a way that I could utilize in my career effectively.

교육 기관: Brian D

Mar 06, 2019

This is a very good course on leadership. Professor Northcraft clearly lays out important aspects of leadership in this course like negotiations, conflict management, and leading change in an organization. This course is only the beginning of one's leadership journey though, there are also many recommended readings where learners can build upon the knowledge gained in this course.

교육 기관: Laura S

Dec 30, 2016

I thought this course was very well structured and the information immediately applicable. The instructor is clear and I enjoyed the examples he used to reinforce concepts. This is the first course I've taken toward the iMBA program and I hope the other classes are as informative and interesting as this one.

교육 기관: Joanna B

Jul 07, 2018

Excellent merit coverage, very convenient time schedule easy to follow and adopt to ones business life time. Thorough knowledge enabling to structure ones experience and develop new skills. Strongly recommend to try and take the effort of completing module. Great satisfaction is a few hours ahead.

교육 기관: Samiul H

Jul 25, 2018

It is a very practical course for the Leadership. The topics are well described by the instructors. At the same time, the reading materials are excellent. By the end of the course, the learning makes me aware of the possible applications of the leadership skills discussed in this course.

교육 기관: MICHAEL J

Aug 23, 2018

There are several take a ways from this course, there was decision making on a large scale, ways and tips to acquire information and when to intervene in conflicts and overall value in people and looking for more ways to make a positive impact on all sides. #DirectorOfEngineering

교육 기관: Olusolade B H

Oct 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Thank you for the opportunity to learn. I have indeed learned so much, and I am excited to infuse all the things I have learned into my daily life and dealings with teams and others. I am looking forward to the next course. Thank you once again.

교육 기관: Mohammed E

Aug 12, 2018

I really liked how this course is applicable in real life with great impact. I took this course and applied most of the ideas and thoughts discussed here before I write my review, and it has a great impact in everyday leadership. Strongly recommended.

교육 기관: Richard M ( D J

Jun 24, 2018

This has been my favorite course so far in the Strategic Leadership & Management Coursera Specialization at the University of Illinois. There was a lot of good material covered in this course, most of it very applicable and relevant to my current job.

교육 기관: Cecilia S

Oct 03, 2017

The Professor was an extremely well educated and clear in his lectures. He explained everything in a manner so that there wasn't one thing I was unable to understand nor did I ever feel doubtful. I strongly reccomend this course.

교육 기관: Amelie D

Jul 16, 2018

I really appreciated this course. All the concepts were explained is a very pragmatic way which helps real life application. I particularly enjoyed the module on conflict management and the segment on emotional intelligence.

교육 기관: Kevin T

Dec 12, 2016

The segments of this course on negotiation and conflict resolution are extremely valuable for managers and entrepreneurs. Professor Northcraft's presentation style is very polished and the readings add depth to the subject.

교육 기관: Camesha R

Oct 08, 2019

This was a great learning experience and convenient for a working, single parent such as myself. I feel confident in having such a platform that will allow me to continue to grow and develop as a business professional.

교육 기관: Jose S

Sep 05, 2019

Professor Gregory Northcraft adds so much value to this course, the way he explains and presents the course content is so easy to follow and learn. Assignments are accurate, well designed and cover the topics.

교육 기관: Smita R

May 20, 2017

Excellent learning. These kind of courses really help an individual learn and implement what leaders in organizations do. The best part of this was the Emotional Intelligence and the Negotiation part.

교육 기관: Akinyemi O

Oct 18, 2017

This course has been an eye opener for me; a really great experience in deed. The faculty is lovely, and professor Gregory Northcraft knows how to keep you engaged virtually.

Thank you Coursera.

교육 기관: Maya R

Oct 26, 2019

Very good follow up course for the one on "Foundations of Everyday Leadership". This course brings all the concepts together and links them with issues we face in our every day work life!