Chevron Left
Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
6,546개의 평가
1,494개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

최상위 리뷰

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel의 1,483개 리뷰 중 1126~1150

교육 기관: Robert H

Sep 11, 2017

Clear and concise instruction. You learn basic Excel. After completing the first course, it is an open question whether this course and the rest in the specialization is actually worth the monthly fee. Edit: this is a good introduction to the hard skills in Excel required in further courses, but as a standalone Excel course I think there are better options. Nonetheless, as part of the specialization this is well done.

교육 기관: Pam B

Nov 05, 2017

I learned some significant skills manipulating data in Excel. My only criticism is the quizzes do not test learned skills. They are very discouraging when time after time I cannot achieve the right answer. The lectures need to demonstrate some of the more nuanced skills that are referenced in the quizzes. Other than that, I can honestly say this has been the most enriching course in Excel that I have ever taken.

교육 기관: Anand S B

Dec 22, 2018

Good Course on introduction Data Analysis using Excel. I was expecting it to cover Data Analysis tool in MS Excel in depth. If entire Data Analysis tool is covered as a part of this course, it will really become a 5 star course. But other than this whatever else is there in the course is covered really well. A very good course for someone who is relatively new to MS Excel and Data Analysis.

교육 기관: AKSHAY P J

Apr 17, 2020

If you don't know anything about Excel, then trust me, you are at the right course. This course will thoroughly guide you through the very basics of Excel. Some advanced functions and shortcuts are not well explained, but the course is worthy of itself. I am damn sure that the challenging assignment questions will ensure that you'll never forget the lessons taught by the Professor.

교육 기관: Juan D R A

Aug 08, 2020

Me gustó mucho, es un curso muy importante. Tuve varios problemas en las pruebas semanales con respuestas que no validaban pero estaban correctas o que no se podía entender con claridad qué era lo que pedían. Llegué a estresarme un poco y siento que la idea es disfrutar al 100% el curso.

De todas formas es un muy buen curso y vale mucho la pena llevarlo.

교육 기관: Sonja H

Apr 20, 2020

Very practical and well explained videos. Works as a recap for those who want to freshen up their skills but also for someone who hasn't used the various functionalities of excel much. An enhancement opportunity would be to explain the correct answers in quizzes and tests - sometimes you just don't get what you did wrong or why an answer is wrong/right?

교육 기관: ANILRAJ M

Aug 15, 2019

The course is good and it is very helpful for upcoming life. The way of course run in also imperative but I have problem on quiz, to understanding the question, they did not justify meaning of the question, I mean what does question want from us, that's why I am not able to do all question on every quiz.

but I did not feel any problem on course.

교육 기관: Madeline W

Jul 13, 2017

QUIZZES ARE REALLY SIMPLE AND NOT REFLECTIVE ENOUGH ON THE LESSONS. HOWEVER, THE WEEKLY EXAMS ARE GREAT PRACTICE AND MORE CHALLENGING. THE VIDEO LECTURES ARE GREAT AND HIGHLY VALUED TO VIDEO TRANSCRIPTS ALONG WITH ACCESS TO ALL OF THE DATA FILES TO FOLLOW ALONG WITH THE VIDEOS. THANKS. OVERALL, IT IS A GREAT BEGINNERS CLASS.

교육 기관: Denis Z

Mar 14, 2017

It was very nice to get my skills expanded. I would be very helpful, if the professor included handouts with functions, definitions, and instruction (e.g. on how to create a histogram). This way it would help to review something later without the need to open the videos again and searching for the content one is looking for.

교육 기관: Malika F

May 07, 2020

This was an interesting introduction to excel data analysis. The course was very well explained. However, for the graph course section, options are different using newer version of excel and I would have liked to see a section on standard error bars as it is a very important part of research and development data analysis.

교육 기관: Rahul M

Apr 15, 2018

I like the style of Instructor. Language is very simple and understandable. Instructor never throw or make jargon of words. though it is a very basic (introductory) course I had enjoy learning, brush off

my old knowledge of Excel. It would we more meaningful if added more details about Excel.

교육 기관: Rishabh S

Aug 18, 2020

This course cover a lot of ground on Excel in a short span of time but doesn't skip on information. The practice exercises cement your knowledge and the weekly quizzes really hit it home.

I would give 4 stars because I hoped to do a final project which included simulated a real world project.

교육 기관: Thiago R B R

Apr 13, 2020

Curso interessante para manuseio do Excel. Se você busca conhecimento aprofundado no Excel esse não é o curso pra você. Não tem nada de muito avançado mas é muito bem embasado e didático para ensino de criação de tabela dinâmicas, gráficos e uso de funções com SE, PROCV, SOMATORIOS, ETC.

교육 기관: John W

Oct 05, 2017

Great Course. There are some problems on the tests that went into much deeper application than the lectures did. While it did provide some learning, I found that having to look it up, and then try to apply it to the test, didn't teach me as well as following along with the lectures.

교육 기관: Fabio L G Á

Aug 08, 2020

Very good course for beginners. Lessons are clear and time use is flawless.

The only setback is, the course is a little bit outdated. They use Excel 2013 I think . Videos quality could be higher cause 720p in a wide monitor (mine isn't even that big, just 23.8'') looks blurry.

교육 기관: Uwe H

Aug 17, 2018

Course is very interactive and new items are always learned. Pivot tables section was the best. Areas of improvement: 1) Update course with Excel 2016 SW (menu difference and defaults) 2, Exam questions are sometimes poorly written, and makes one wonder what is being asked.

교육 기관: Dannie L T Y

May 29, 2020

The course is very informative. During the video, the professor makes it so easy. I understand it perfectly. However, when it comes to the exercises, it becomes challenging. I wish that for us who had passed the course, a full copy of the files/explanations were given to us.

교육 기관: Colin P

Apr 18, 2018

Solid intro excel course. I competed in < 1 week, w/prior excel skills/knowledge (It would of taken longer if I didn't have excel experience/skills). Pivot tables and charts are very relevant for business analytics, so I think the skills learned can be applied immediately.

교육 기관: Ariel D

Mar 06, 2017

I found out I already knew alot of the beginning material in this course. So I just used this course for learning Vlookup, Hlookup, and pivot tables. The histogram section was a nice refresher if you have taken a statistical class before. Very helpful and great examples.

교육 기관: Lauren V

Apr 23, 2020

Video quality could be better. Disappointing to not have real-time opportunities to get help/ask questions. Having only forums and no office hours or chat is pretty frustrating since it means having to potentially pause learning for days until there is a response.

교육 기관: Gabriele S

Sep 03, 2020

The length of the course is very overestimated: for every quiz they have counted 30 minutes but there are only two (extremely easy) questions (like: "What if I write =1+2?").

Four stars because it is probably helpful for those who have never used Excel.

교육 기관: Ankit S

May 31, 2017

The course is pretty good and equips to develop excellent skill set. The course is fun to learn and gets you involved completely. However, I request to give solution to the quiz which will help us to know appropriate solution to the requested problem.

교육 기관: Mahmoud A M

May 09, 2020

This course gives an overall insight into how to look at the data and get the required information and result from the so money numbers utilizing Microsoft Excel. a good starter for data analysis career and the first step in excelling the Excel.

교육 기관: Sanskar D

Apr 18, 2020

It was a valuable session for me. The videos were easy to understand and practice. The quiz at the end was also equally helpful in learning as it was based on practical problems rather than theory based.

Thank you overall I enjoyed this lesson

교육 기관: Yeasin A A

May 25, 2020

The Course overall was well arranged and well constructed. Helped me a lot. Only complaint I have is that the lesson on "Pivot Table" was quite hasty. You should one extra lesson on practicing "Pivot Table" problems and related resources.