Chevron Left
Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
stars
3,396개의 평가
757개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

최상위 리뷰

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

LC

May 18, 2018

Excellent class, well-written and presented with real-world examples that are challenging but not impossible to complete if you follow the small quizzes and stay on top of the deadlines. Great job!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel의 737개 리뷰 중 551~575

교육 기관: Pam B

Nov 05, 2017

I learned some significant skills manipulating data in Excel. My only criticism is the quizzes do not test learned skills. They are very discouraging when time after time I cannot achieve the right answer. The lectures need to demonstrate some of the more nuanced skills that are referenced in the quizzes. Other than that, I can honestly say this has been the most enriching course in Excel that I have ever taken.

교육 기관: Anand S B

Dec 22, 2018

Good Course on introduction Data Analysis using Excel. I was expecting it to cover Data Analysis tool in MS Excel in depth. If entire Data Analysis tool is covered as a part of this course, it will really become a 5 star course. But other than this whatever else is there in the course is covered really well. A very good course for someone who is relatively new to MS Excel and Data Analysis.

교육 기관: ANILRAJ M

Aug 15, 2019

The course is good and it is very helpful for upcoming life. The way of course run in also imperative but I have problem on quiz, to understanding the question, they did not justify meaning of the question, I mean what does question want from us, that's why I am not able to do all question on every quiz.

but I did not feel any problem on course.

교육 기관: Madeline W

Jul 13, 2017

QUIZZES ARE REALLY SIMPLE AND NOT REFLECTIVE ENOUGH ON THE LESSONS. HOWEVER, THE WEEKLY EXAMS ARE GREAT PRACTICE AND MORE CHALLENGING. THE VIDEO LECTURES ARE GREAT AND HIGHLY VALUED TO VIDEO TRANSCRIPTS ALONG WITH ACCESS TO ALL OF THE DATA FILES TO FOLLOW ALONG WITH THE VIDEOS. THANKS. OVERALL, IT IS A GREAT BEGINNERS CLASS.

교육 기관: Denis Z

Mar 14, 2017

It was very nice to get my skills expanded. I would be very helpful, if the professor included handouts with functions, definitions, and instruction (e.g. on how to create a histogram). This way it would help to review something later without the need to open the videos again and searching for the content one is looking for.

교육 기관: Rahul M

Apr 15, 2018

I like the style of Instructor. Language is very simple and understandable. Instructor never throw or make jargon of words. though it is a very basic (introductory) course I had enjoy learning, brush off

my old knowledge of Excel. It would we more meaningful if added more details about Excel.

교육 기관: John W

Oct 05, 2017

Great Course. There are some problems on the tests that went into much deeper application than the lectures did. While it did provide some learning, I found that having to look it up, and then try to apply it to the test, didn't teach me as well as following along with the lectures.

교육 기관: Uwe H

Aug 17, 2018

Course is very interactive and new items are always learned. Pivot tables section was the best. Areas of improvement: 1) Update course with Excel 2016 SW (menu difference and defaults) 2, Exam questions are sometimes poorly written, and makes one wonder what is being asked.

교육 기관: Colin P

Apr 18, 2018

Solid intro excel course. I competed in < 1 week, w/prior excel skills/knowledge (It would of taken longer if I didn't have excel experience/skills). Pivot tables and charts are very relevant for business analytics, so I think the skills learned can be applied immediately.

교육 기관: Ariel D

Mar 06, 2017

I found out I already knew alot of the beginning material in this course. So I just used this course for learning Vlookup, Hlookup, and pivot tables. The histogram section was a nice refresher if you have taken a statistical class before. Very helpful and great examples.

교육 기관: Ankit S

May 31, 2017

The course is pretty good and equips to develop excellent skill set. The course is fun to learn and gets you involved completely. However, I request to give solution to the quiz which will help us to know appropriate solution to the requested problem.

교육 기관: yogitha n

May 24, 2018

I loved the course overall. Each and every aspect of the course are explained clearly and quiz after every lesson is a good idea. But questions in week3 cumulative quiz are not easily understandable else everything went great. Thank you!

교육 기관: Georgios R

Sep 14, 2017

Very useful overall, some improvement can be made in the way certain quiz questions are stated and in developing more specific FAQs for excel compatibility issues that users might face. All in all a very good experience.

교육 기관: Harsh J

Oct 19, 2018

The course is good . It gives emmense knowldege about how to analyse a data using powerful convinient and fast excel tools. Though its a basic course but good for those whose excel is not that strong.

교육 기관: Vittorio F

May 22, 2017

The course is helpful for beginners. I appreciated the professor, he was clear and simpatethic. Perhaps a more in depth dive in some functions and/or tool would be appreciated.

Thanks

교육 기관: Hernando R G

May 23, 2018

It is a good course. The only thing that I will add is the option of clicking f(x) for finding the formulas rather than spelled out the formula; but that is my personal preference.

교육 기관: Jonika D

Mar 20, 2018

This course was extremely helpful especially if you need to learn the basics of excel. It would have been helpful to see the answers to the questions that I could not figure out.

교육 기관: Nitish A

Feb 01, 2018

The course was well taught, but too basic for me, and so for that reason I gave one less star. For somebody who has never used excel, this course would be a good introduction.

교육 기관: Rasha E W

Mar 23, 2019

Very good course which provided a good starting base for using excel for non-experienced users. I enjoyed it and would recommend it to my friends with similar knowledge level

교육 기관: Camilla C

Mar 26, 2018

Great intro. Need more homework/assignments to solidify knowledge.

Quizzes and tests are relatively easy. That said, the testing builds on previous weeks which is FANTASTIC!

교육 기관: Cijo M

Oct 10, 2018

Liked the length of the videos (which are less than 10 minutes) which allows you to finish one topic at a stretch. The questions were relatively challenging for this user.

교육 기관: Surya N

Mar 29, 2019

Everything is very good about this course, but the assignments are very hard, you need a lot of deep work and the examples and sample quiz are so basic type of thing

교육 기관: Tim S

Oct 23, 2016

Great course, very helpful - though a few issues around the techincal wording and interpretation of questions being asked in tests, and more support for Mac users

교육 기관: Shivam M

Jun 27, 2019

please add some additional material that can be referred for more detailed information and there should be some material for the contents covered in the videos

교육 기관: Luis V

Dec 15, 2017

I would say very thorough overall. I would question the speed at which it is taught, but perhaps that's not what you guys are focused on (faster). Good job!