Chevron Left
Feminism and Social Justice(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아대학교 산타크루스캠퍼스의 Feminism and Social Justice 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
5,182개의 평가
1,301개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

최상위 리뷰

VK

2021년 7월 16일

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

SS

2020년 6월 22일

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

필터링 기준:

Feminism and Social Justice의 1,319개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Giulia S C

2020년 4월 27일

incredible course to think about feminism and social justice history in the USA. we are becoming more powerful and the world will change with us. More we - women- know more power we have.

I hope that more and more classes and other people will join the movement. Feminism is about women, equality, sustainable development, racism. the more feminism, the better the world will become

교육 기관: Kenneth A

2021년 10월 5일

This was a short, enjoyable and insightful course. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who is thinking about taking it. Even though it is taught by an American white feminist, the ideas and principles are universal, and can be contextualised with your own culture, country and tradition. Many thanks to everyone who made this online course for our intellectual enrichment.

교육 기관: Ali M

2022년 5월 28일

​This was an extremely informative course for me to learn about some of the major events in feminist history. The lectures were super engaging, and the movie we watched was really eye-opening. The only thing I wish about this course is that it were longer! I went through the whole thing in a couple of days just because I couldn't stop watching. Thanks!

교육 기관: Gloria O

2019년 6월 5일

This was an enlightening course! I had a limited understanding on the issues around feminism and social justice and I got listen to perspectives from many angles. And the Professor Bettina is great.

교육 기관: Salwa A

2022년 5월 27일

the course was so empowered me as a woman who lives under patriarchy world to break all the rules and stand for my own

교육 기관: Esther A

2019년 6월 24일

I have found the course of great help, giving me a whole thorough look at the social justice movement and feminism.

교육 기관: Tanya L

2019년 7월 14일

This course gives me a better understanding of what ferminism is.

교육 기관: ALBIN K L

2020년 9월 23일

it was very helpful course for me to know deeply about what feminism is. i could understand what is equality means. thank you.

교육 기관: Yana S

2021년 4월 25일

Very interesting and inspiring! And even being rather short, the course contains lots of historical facts and good cases and shows how all these things are connected. Hope some day I will use those cases told by Professor Bettina Aptheker in my new podcast devoted to awareness among Ukrainian women that they live in a very hostile environment and that this must be changed. Cause we still have a high level of domestic violence and at work and during studying women face harassment all the time.

Recently my two colleagues (both journalists) talked about the 8th of March and a demonstration of women in Kyiv, the capital, the slogan of it was "The pandemic has a woman's face". Because cases of violence against women in Ukraine really became a separate epidemic during the lockdown, but women began to tell about it publicly more and more. So, my colleagues (women) at the beginning of the podcast said that they cannot remember some violence or hostility against themselves. But at the end they began to remember, yes, there were several cases of hostile behaviour from men's side in their life: at a university, at school, at work, in the street... So. Women just often think its normal, I mean, that this is like a part of life that they cannot avoid and even their memory doesn't save those cases as violent ones. Awful. Must be changed!

교육 기관: Emma B (

2020년 11월 10일

As a rising feminist who wanted to understand the history of the movement and the current movement better, along with learning about the intersectionality of different forms of oppression, this course was exactly what I was looking for. The first week of the course was really an introduction, that explained what feminism is and what components it has. The second week was about a workers strike in the 1950s, and in addition to misogyny, addressed classism and racism and the intersectionality of all of it. Week 3 was about the Angela Davis case in the 1970s, and I found it really fascinating. The fourth week was much more modern and dealt with the #MeToo movement and how that has changed the way we look at sexual violence against women. The instructor was very impressive, and it was cool that she was involved in a lot of these cases/movements, because it helped me understand what it was like firsthand. The course is also not very taxing, as I'm in school right now taking a lot of honors classes, but through extra time during the week and on the weekends I was easily able to finish it early. I found this course very interesting and educational, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a deeper look on feminism.

교육 기관: Barbra A

2020년 5월 2일

First and foremost, I would recommend all women with a lack or little understanding on feminism or female social justice that have an interest in the area to enroll for this short course.

I am very privileged to have been a part of the Feminism and social justice journey. I have appreciated and learnt that we as women, we should at all times uplift each other to promote social justice without discrimination.

Also, I have learnt that Rape is an offence that no woman should keep silent on because it is unjust and against your human rights, because one has not consented to this kind of violence.

When women take part in events, it only makes progress easy as it is more facilitated rather than only men enforcement.

Lastly, I encourage all women to focus on bettering themselves for themselves and not to solely rely on men for progress, happiness among others because only doing this makes you vulnerable to male oppression and criticism.

교육 기관: Tina P

2022년 5월 26일

Grateful for this amazing journey through the history of Feminism and Social Justice with the renowned Bettina Aptheker! In this University of California, Santa Cruz course, Professor Aptheker presented a broad definition of feminism that served to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement. The most extraordinary moment was when Dr. Aptheker shared that she was a childhood friend of Angela Davis and was deeply involved in her defense. Needless to say, I was mesmerized as Dr. Aptheker shared the facts of the case along with her firsthand knowledge of what transpired.  It was truly an incredible experience to hear Bettina Aptheker's lectures. Thank you University of California, Santa Cruz for making this course available through Coursera!

교육 기관: Silvia A D P

2020년 7월 20일

I really loved this course. I learned a lot throughout the course, it became too short for how much I liked it, now all that remains is to continue reading, inform myself and continue learning about feminism and social justice. The topics discussed were not boring at all and I can only thank deeply for all that new knowledge and awareness that I acquired. I can say with complete honesty that this course allowed me to clarify some of my ideas about feminism and offered me a totally new vision on topics that I had not considered much either because of my privileged situation or because they have never happened to me. I just hope to put this new knowledge into practice and try to put the seed of questioning our behavior in the people around me.

교육 기관: Reema K

2021년 4월 29일

Loved the crisp yet deep overview of historical and contemporary contexts of the feminist and social justice movement which has implications from across various sections of society and system. Thank you Professor Bettina Aptheker for your genuinely passionate and curiosity-led course which left a lot of room for thinking about these issues in current contexts and our own place and time. Strangely enough, it also helps lend credibility to many pervasive experiences of injustice in our daily life- private or public and this course helps one with the vocabulary and confidence to process, contextualise and postulate one's experiences and understanding in charged current times especially in India and the world.

교육 기관: Nupur B

2021년 4월 27일

It was a very informative and interesting course. I Really liked the way of teaching of the professor. She was well versed and a knowledgeable resource person. I have learnt the basics of feminism and understood the working definition of feminism even the purpose and importance of feminism in todays era.

Topics like Empire ZINC movement, Angela Davis' trial, arrest and prosecution were incredible.

#METOO Movement has helped me identifying the societal changes that have prevailed in our society and even in the whole world.

It has also helped me to analyze the effects of various feminism movements that have taken place until now.

Overall it was a great experience studying this course.👍

교육 기관: Eliany A M D

2020년 7월 6일

Un buen curso que permite ampliar el entendimiento acerca de la interseccionalidad, la mujer, la raza, la etnia interrelacionadas, para la opresión y discriminación.

Considero que estos tipos de cursos deben extenderse, y además hablar sobre feminismo en los colegio, en la clase de historia, porque algo que he notado es que esta parte de la historia esta oculta, negada, y excluida de los curriculas e identidades del estudiantado. El mundo debe conocer los logros feministas, las niñas deben reconocer que su mundo es distinto, que puede gozar de ser niñas y mujeres libres, propias de su personas, gracias a estas luchas y reivindicaciones feministas a lo largo de la historia.

교육 기관: soumya p

2020년 4월 8일

I really enjoyed the course and was able to finish it way before the stipulated time because of how much i could relate to the experiences shared throughout the course. The discussion forum was really informative as well as the question aimed to get a more wholesome understanding of how abuse operates in different parts of the world and reading through it really made me feel like women essentially have the same experiences throughout the world. Some of the cases studied during the course took place before I was even born and reading about them really helped me in broadening my understanding of how social movements and Feminism has evolved over centuries of struggle.

교육 기관: Завьялова Л И

2020년 3월 30일

The course Feminism and Social Justice is really great! Thanks to Bettina Aptheker, I know more of the history of feminism and how it developed. Incredibly interesting, quite brief and powerful, it made me think of the current social environment in my country and in the world in general. As a consequence, I should say I am ready to spur into immediate action to help people treated unfairly. Moreover, the professor is very knowledgeable. She managed to make many complicated concepts into easily understandable parts. I would definitely recommend the course to my friends and acquaintances as the information given here is worth knowing and studying.

교육 기관: Camila

2021년 5월 20일

This course is a great introduction to feminism and social justice through case studies that reflect on the weeks topic. I enjoyed Bettina Aptheker's approach to the lessons and I feel like I learned a lot about the history of feminism and social justice movements in the US. As I said, this is a great introductory course, as it teaches with examples and especific court cases to support the point being made. I find amazing that someone who is a prominent activist and writer offers such an accesible course. I would definitely take another course with her on whatever topic she wants to teach, that's how much I enjoyed having her as an instructor.

교육 기관: DESIREE E

2022년 6월 21일

This course - Feminism and Social Justice taught by Professor Bettina Aptheker is an eye-opener to the struggles of women in the world, especially as it relates to sexual violence, racial oppression and discrimination. This course has been critical to my understanding of gendered violence and the intersectionality of class, race and gender in accessing social justice. The well-explained references to notable times in history has not only been enlightening, but has helped me to reflect on better ways to champion the fight against sexual violence in my home country. Professor Aptheker is a great teacher and she made my learning seamless.

교육 기관: roya D d

2022년 2월 17일

During this period, I learned useful things about women's rights, and my awareness of the struggles of the women's equality movement increased. I became acquainted with the historical and cultural context of the women's movement. I also learned that the real liberation of women from oppression and discrimination in its various forms is impossible without the further spread of social justice. Achieving the ideal of women's liberation requires fighting all dimensions of the roots of oppression of women. Poverty, class status, race, gender, etc. are all intertwined factors, and the struggle for equality is a struggle on all these fronts.

교육 기관: estefania l

2020년 8월 4일

Fue un curso bastante satisfactorio para adentrarme a entender que significa feminismo y justicia social , lo recomiendo al 100 por ciento , la profesora te explica de una manera básica como estos términos se relacionan con otros para que toen un significado mas general pero a la vez cambia a través del tiempo y observamos esto con ejemplos de épocas anteriores y las comparamos con casos que suceden hoy en día en nuestro tiempo y como aun estamos en una lucha constante para que la mujer sea considerada en todos los ámbitos existentes igual a u hombre pero en el sentido de igual que verán en el curso , igual en humanidad

교육 기관: Riya B

2020년 10월 31일

It was quite informative and comprehensible. I loved how the course included videos and information from the past which allowed me to connect the dots and understand the origins of various issues, the laws and policies that were formed and changed along with time and with different movements. Before taking the course, all I understood about feminism was "a movement demanding equality". This course has helped me broaden my horizon on the very concept of feminism, especially by introducing the concept of intersectionality and collective empowerment. I would definitely recommend this course to my friends and colleagues.

교육 기관: Барташевич М І

2020년 5월 17일

This course realli inspired me. I am a philosophy student and the next year I am supposed to write my graduate work, but I had some problems with choosing the topic, because the theme of my bachelor`s work did not inspire me any more. So, it was some kind of creative crisis. But then I saw this course. Earlie I`ve been studying feminism and especially the famous work of Simone de Beauvoir The Second Sex, so I decided to join. And now I`m really thinking of choosing feminism for my graduate work. In conclusion I`d like to point out that this course is really easy to learn and I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you for that!:)

교육 기관: Zainab R

2020년 4월 7일

I am so glad I was able to take this course and I wish more and more people would take it:

a) Dr Aptheker is a brilliant teacher—her lectures are coherent and she is very clear about what she is talking about. It was a delight to take this course from someone like who has been a part of such great movements.

b) It is an important course for anyone who is interested in feminism and social justice; it focuses on intersectionality, Dr Aptheker makes use of cases that we have heard of to go ahead with what she wants to talk about, the course looks through an interdisciplinary lens which makes it all the more interesting.