Chevron Left
Feminism and Social Justice(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아대학교 산타크루스캠퍼스의 Feminism and Social Justice 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
5,315개의 평가

강좌 소개

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

최상위 리뷰

VK

2021년 7월 16일

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

SS

2020년 6월 22일

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

필터링 기준:

Feminism and Social Justice의 1,344개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Melanie V

2021년 6월 2일

I really enjoyed this course, I was always a feminist but this course really helped me find more passion for the movement and fight for the rights of women globally by knowing more about the issue and certain popular figures like Angela Davis, inspired me to continue to be a voice for change. Thank you to Bettina for having such an in-depth and human approach to the feminist theory and sharing personal stories along the course, I enjoyed learning with you!

교육 기관: serena s

2020년 7월 18일

this was my first experience. it was incredible. i never had the opportunity to attend college. i am 50 years old and a stay at home mom caring for my disabled son. i was looking for a way to take classes. sharpen my mind. i wasn't even sure i could do this because of my schedule and also because it feels like a lifetime since leaving the 10th grade. i feel such a sense of accomplishment. and look forward to taking more courses. i would highly recommend.

교육 기관: Marisa P

2021년 9월 20일

Really informative. Great start on the path to learning more about feminism. Excellent lecturer. Easy structure to follow. Thoroughly engaging. I Finished it way before I thought I would, simply wanted to keep learning about the history of the female struggle in a world where we hold the major population. We have so many heroines to look up to and follow their example. Thank you for the opportunity to learn about this. I shall now go forth and concur.

교육 기관: Maria V G R

2020년 4월 3일

It was a great course, I am so glad I took it! The lectures are interesting, especially because they try to highlight the importance of intersectionality in feminism. I think it is an enjoyable course for beginners who want to have a better understanding of feminism, but also for people who have knowledge about it, as it reviews key events and concepts from an interesting perspective. I would love to take more courses with professor Bettina Aptheker.

교육 기관: Xochitl E

2021년 6월 28일

I learned so much from Bettina Aptheker. It was amazing to learn from someone who can offer not only factual information but was also a first person witness and participant in some of the cases discussed in class. I just finished reading the Autobiography of Angela Davis, in which Professor Aptheker is mentioned, and it was an absolute delight to learn from her accounts of the Free Angela Davis movement. I would love to take another course from her.

교육 기관: Shriya A

2020년 5월 8일

I loved that this course addressed interesectionality so wholly, because I feel that otherwise, interesectionality is not given as much importance in the teaching of feminism. The professor was extremely lucid in her lectures, and kept me engaged throughout. I also particularly appreciated that she did not shy away from 'subjective' topics, and did not try to give us an 'objective' understanding of events. Would love to see more courses like this!!

교육 기관: Tanya M

2021년 1월 6일

I highly recommend this course to any woman AND man. I had no idea that feminism was so broad, so beautiful and all-embracing. The more people take this course, the better our human experience will be. Turns out the course is not about women. It's about the complexity and diversity of the world. It's about new ways for us to co-exist, evolve and thrive as humans. I am beyond impressed and empowered by this course. Thank you so much, Dr. Aptheker!

교육 기관: Belinda

2019년 10월 17일

Short but interesting history of feminism in the US. I would have liked more information about other parts of the world (though I understand and accept that Coursera is a US-centric website).

I found the most value in the theme of the intersectionality of feminism - I was aware of it prior but Prof Aptheker's detailed knowledge expanded my understanding, and gave me more ways to understand and articulate my own intersectional feminism.

Thank you.

교육 기관: François L

2021년 12월 27일

In only four sections, this course very clearly demonstrates key issues regarding women's rights as they intersect with class and race issues. I found the lectures to be very thorough (for the time taken) and crucial to forming a clear understanding of multiple intertwined problems that perpetuate a tremendous power imbalance in society. The course focuses on U.S. history but these issues are worldwide and older than colonialism itself.

교육 기관: Jasmine G

2020년 12월 30일

This class was extremely inspiring. I am so glad I took this course. I learned so much more in-depth on feminism than I would have just googling or watching youtube videos. I began this course to gain a better understanding of the definition of feminism, but I learned throughout this course that the definition continues to evolve to represent all that is affected by sexual discrimination. Great course and amazing instructor. Thank you!

교육 기관: JeanLeeUCL

2022년 4월 4일

It is a very imformative, thoughtful and interesting course, especially on Week 2. Suffering is suffering. But sometimes, the suffering let the spirit of humanity out. It encourage us to stand for something, which could be bigger than the life of ourselves. What worth noticing is that, even retired, the professor still takes effort to make some difference by contributing and making this open course online. Respect and Best Wishes!

교육 기관: ALEXANDRA D G

2020년 8월 5일

Phenomenal. I just wish it were longer or covered a range of other topics related to feminism and social justice such as elaborating on more theoretical concepts or general ideas along with the stories and narratives about women. The videos were also engaging and Ms. Aptheker was a fantastic lecturer. I wish the videos were more broken up but the content and learning experience did make up for the length. Thank you for the course.

교육 기관: Marian C V

2021년 10월 4일

Definitely learned a lot in the course of 4 weeks. I'm still on my last lecture but I really love it. What the woman who'd oriented me at the beginning of this course said was right-I did learn a lot from Prof Bettina Aptheker. I am proud to be amongst the many learners of this course, albeit through the screen, I will truly miss it.

This one's a life-changer and I cannot wait to finally read some of Bettina Aptheker's books <3

교육 기관: Crissie T

2020년 7월 20일

A refreshing course indeed that explained the concepts of not just feminism in general, but how class, race, genders and ideologies are intertwined to become more than just a movement. The course also makes you become more aware of society in general and how a change should began from day one. Interesting course that I would recommend if you required a short course to get some intro to feminism, movements and social justice.

교육 기관: Sofía G M

2020년 7월 21일

I learned so much about the social justice movements that have brought us as humanity to where we are now, their background origins and the people (women) who started them. It definitely is a course that inspires you to be a better much more active member in society, giving you the tools to not only make a change in the world but in your own way on how you percieve life. Plus, Bettina Aptheker is a helluva woman! Love her!

교육 기관: Carla K M

2020년 5월 22일

This course is an excellent introduction into the very complex issues of intersectional feminism. The course is mainly historical, outlining and discussing specific events/movements in US history, rather than focusing on theory. I would highly recommend as Bettina's approach to the course's delivery is very engaging, and her first-hand experience of some of the discussed events make the lectures feel unique and specific.

교육 기관: Christine P E

2020년 12월 30일

I was so inspired while taking this course. It left me wanting MUCH more! I will definitely be reading Bettina's books and following her as I can. I highly encourage the University to turn her teachings into more modules, that, I would be more than happy to pay for. I only wish I had heard of Professor Aptheker sooner. Her students at the University have seen first hand the best any person has to offer. What a treasure!

교육 기관: Erika G

2022년 3월 17일

I have a minor in women's studies from a university and this course still taught me knew information. The subject matter was relevant and sometimes not as well known. It was very understandable and I think this course works for someone who is just learning about feminism, but can also be useful to someone who has already taken classes or read books about feminism. I think it's very accessible for both teens and adults.

교육 기관: Duygu N A

2020년 7월 8일

Professor Aptheker is an amazing speaker and a very insightful professor. This course is very interesting and sheds light on the issues that are not recent at all but coming to light recently. It has given me a new perspective and understanding regarding social justice. It concerns everyone, everywhere. I hope everyone would listen to this and learn about these, and professor Aptheker does an amazing job teaching.

교육 기관: Jessica R

2021년 2월 7일

Thank you so much for this opportunity!!! I learned so much and I am grateful to feel understood about this kind of issues. Even so I want to take next a course about the struggles of people of color, because as a white person I don't suffer half of the things they suffer and I want to understand their perspective of the world and how I can help to make it better!! Thank you so much for this opportunity, really!!

교육 기관: Emma T C

2020년 7월 4일

Not only is this course timely, it is extremely educational and based on facts and historical events. I learned of several historical events that I had never learned about in school (but I totally should have). I had already considered myself a feminist before I completed this course, but I have a much bigger understanding of feminism and social justice now. I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone.

교육 기관: Renee K

2022년 1월 28일

I'd love to thank the lecturer of this course for her interesting lecturers on the basis of feminism and the team that helped to bring forth this course all together.

This course taught me much more on feminism and encouraged me to learn much more on social Justice as well.

I would also love to encourage anyone that's interested in learning something new on feminism to partake in this course.

I'd highly recommend!

교육 기관: Jessica M

2021년 4월 27일

Very powerful and very well laid out course. The examples given in each unit hit hard, and are easy to understand, and they inspire students to think more broadly, and to apply the content outside of the classroom. This course absolutely starts a dialogue concerning the oppression of women and the world around us all. I would definitely recommend this course. Bettina Aptheker is a breath of fresh feminist air.

교육 기관: Khadijah S A

2020년 5월 17일

The course is extremely beneficial for people who are just started to explore intersectional feminism. For people like me, who have studied some of this already, it serves as a brush-up course, and may even give another view to cases we've read about already. Or you might not know of the cases, and it'll add to things you do know. Regardless of your current level of knowledge, a course like this is still good.