Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,736개의 평가
309개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

JP

Oct 21, 2019

Perfect course to grasp the fundamental theories in financial engineering and risk management! I deeply appreciate the videos and lecture notes! Hopefully, I can start the next course soon :)

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 303개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Cor v H

Jul 08, 2018

InterestIngHOwever,IwouldliketoseemorenumerIcalexamples

교육 기관: Guilherme G

Aug 19, 2019

Classes have a few numerical examples.

The teachers don't have didactics, they just read the slides.

교육 기관: philip o

Oct 15, 2015

course needs problems with explanations and/or better feedback on quizzes. there is no way to tell what error one has made - it could even be rounding. a student forum might be helpful, too.

application of some formulas is not clear, leading to errors on quizzes. in some cases I have used external resources to give me a way to achieve the correct result

교육 기관: Marjolein E V

Mar 21, 2016

The teacher in the first few weeks is hard to follow; it sounds like he reads from a paper and he barely writes anything on the slides. It sounds like every sentence he says is crucial to understand, which is hard to follow. The other teacher does a much better job at this. The course would also greatly benefit with exercise material so you get a better feeling of calculating these things.

교육 기관: Pat M

Mar 21, 2017

Help on topics is very limited. Nothing more than instruction videos. Discussion forums are helpful only to solve assignments. There is hardly any input from instructor about genuine theoretical questions.

교육 기관: Michael J

Aug 16, 2016

Unfortunately, no tutors/instructors present to supervise the course, which made inconsistencies between course material (slides, videos) and solutions calculated for assignments horribly annoying to deal with, especially for someone like me new to the topic. Further, the solver addin (needed for the week 6 assignment) is not consistent across different excel versions and libre calc, which resulted in a whole lot of guesswork to pass this assignment. I'm sorry to say the course never came close to my expectations, despite the very interesting topic. Would not recommend.

교육 기관: Igor S S

Mar 21, 2016

I find far too theoretical, too dry; no examples, no exercise guidelines. It's almost having someone reading the slides to you. Still useful for someone like me that never done financial engineering, to find all the concepts in one place. Hence the two stars as oppose to one.

교육 기관: Firuz K

Oct 13, 2015

Low quality slides. Monotone lecturing style.

교육 기관: Michael Y N E

Dec 04, 2018

I enrolled it by wrong it is very faraway from my career and my education i want to un-enrolled it

교육 기관: Haris M S

Feb 16, 2019

No help was granted during the practice of the course. I din't find the course helpful for future growth in a company as company doesn't consider it to be as professional.

교육 기관: Longfei L

Jan 15, 2017

It's terrible if one wants to accomplish the quiz using Garud Iyengar's Notes!! Examples in his notes were not well explained!!

교육 기관: Michael N R

Jun 13, 2016

Not at all what I expected--big disappointment

교육 기관: Jonathan W

Mar 24, 2017

The only reason i passed was because i ignored the lectures and asked others for help, once i did that finance became a lot easier to understand.

교육 기관: Vanessa F

Jan 14, 2017

I think that the simply reading slides doesn't help people understand. The idea is to make this courses as accessible as possible.

교육 기관: Heinz S

Aug 23, 2015

The content of the course looked promising. But then I took a first look: the instructor is reading formulas from a slide. This is missing the whole point of a online class. There is no motivation for the formulars, no context why they are important. And from a learning point of view the course is very hard to follow. No real advantage compared to reading a book on that matter.

I just took the "Economics of Money and Banking course", which is one of the best courses I ever attended (personally in class or online). There are other great courses on Coursera. And for easy introduction to some of the concepts Khan University courses are unmatched in accessability.

Too bad that this course doesn't match up to the above examples. The topics would deserve that they are presented in a way that they can be understood by a wide audience.

교육 기관: Clive T V K

Oct 29, 2015

This course is conducted mostly more or less by reading just the slides.

교육 기관: Chandra A

Oct 20, 2017

This subject is not as complicated as it made out to be in these videos. CFA material explains it in a much simpler way. I had to depend on CFA material to really understand what is being explained here.

교육 기관: ahmed E a

Mar 06, 2016

It is not a recommended course, when they explain something they assume that we are expert and we know all what they are talking about, they need to have statistics experts which is not mentioned in course prerequisite.

================

I recommend to review the material and to review the purpose of this course

교육 기관: Aliraza R

Dec 24, 2015

Examples have to be more clear. i cant seem to get anything correct because of computers

교육 기관: Ziping D

Dec 27, 2015

It is a little sad that the materials taught were not matching test materials well in the quiz.

교육 기관: Justin C

Aug 29, 2015

Extraordinarily dry presentation. It was a struggle to sit through each video.

교육 기관: Brian S

Sep 25, 2019

There is no posssilbe way to pass the quizes/tests by watching the lectures. You need to find many outside resources to learn the material. Some of the quiz question principles are not even touched on in lectures. This should be considered a self study course. Also if you want to buy or use a text book to learn the material be prepared to spend $200 + otherwise good luck. The only redeeming feature is the forums.

교육 기관: Markos L

Jan 30, 2019

Amazing course. Will register for the second part too

교육 기관: Chi Z

Dec 30, 2018

Wonderful topics! Just suffered from EXCEL these days? It is better to provide some python or R codes.

Dars

교육 기관: Haotian Z

Jan 01, 2019

Challenging and rewarding. It contains the content of derivatives and it's very basic and relatively easy to understand with some math and finance background. After this course, I'm pretty looking forwards to being a member in Columbia University Financial Engineering.