Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,284개의 평가
449개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

DP
2020년 3월 8일

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
2017년 7월 11일

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 444개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Vanessa F

2017년 1월 14일

I think that the simply reading slides doesn't help people understand. The idea is to make this courses as accessible as possible.

교육 기관: Longfei L

2017년 1월 15일

It's terrible if one wants to accomplish the quiz using Garud Iyengar's Notes!! Examples in his notes were not well explained!!

교육 기관: Hoo K L

2015년 10월 29일

This course is conducted mostly more or less by reading just the slides.

교육 기관: Michael N R

2016년 6월 13일

Not at all what I expected--big disappointment

교육 기관: Agil Z

2020년 7월 18일

A very well designed course! I knew some topics prior to the course and it helped me to strengthen my knowledge on derivative market systematically, particularly on interest rate derivatives

교육 기관: Erick G

2015년 8월 11일

The content of this course is apropiate for drive the finances and risk, We be lear more about this course

I am Engenier in Sofware, the know of finances is aplicable in anyware software.

교육 기관: Oluwatobiloba A

2020년 8월 9일

The course is the clearest and most informative content on FRM I have come across. Thank you University of Columbia for this opportunity

교육 기관: Michael A R

2017년 3월 31일

Good introduction to term structure modeling, arbitrage and other similar topics, quizes were challenging and required independent thought. Good course overall, the lack of guidance on incorrect quiz questions except for through the forum is the only reason for a loss of star.

교육 기관: Morgan S

2016년 8월 9일

Good course for a dry subject. I feel that the modeling could've been more thoroughly explain. For example, the professor could've used cases to analyze/explain what relationships between variables signify in greater detail.

교육 기관: Joris D

2015년 10월 18일

The course provides a very thorough introduction on the basic models and mechanisms by which various financial products are priced. One issue I had, was that the quiz questions sometimes used terminology or jargon for which the link with the material covered in the videos was not always immediately obvious. Also, the course, especially the later modules, heavily relies on Microsoft Excel, which some people might not be willing to pay hard cash for. It is possible to pass by doing the assignments with e.g. Python, but it's a lot of work, and not for the faint of heart.

교육 기관: Ishaan K

2017년 12월 10일

please help with questions given as test for better clearity.

교육 기관: Michael J

2016년 8월 16일

Unfortunately, no tutors/instructors present to supervise the course, which made inconsistencies between course material (slides, videos) and solutions calculated for assignments horribly annoying to deal with, especially for someone like me new to the topic. Further, the solver addin (needed for the week 6 assignment) is not consistent across different excel versions and libre calc, which resulted in a whole lot of guesswork to pass this assignment. I'm sorry to say the course never came close to my expectations, despite the very interesting topic. Would not recommend.

교육 기관: Jonathan W

2017년 3월 24일

The only reason i passed was because i ignored the lectures and asked others for help, once i did that finance became a lot easier to understand.

교육 기관: Ziping D

2015년 12월 27일

It is a little sad that the materials taught were not matching test materials well in the quiz.

교육 기관: Jason S

2015년 12월 23일

This course is a great, from the perspective of how it is organized as well as the assignments provided at the end of each module. The way the content layout is well-suited and leads student step by step gaining insight to the mechanics of different financial derivatives and working on those assignments is a great method of pushing student spend time to understand how the mechanics works.

Both instructors are great! and I appreciated greatly their effort as well as Coursera.

The only one improvement I would suggest is that if a TA can be assigned for this course, it'll be a great help to all students.

Thanks!

교육 기관: David P

2020년 3월 9일

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

교육 기관: Kolybina A

2017년 11월 26일

The material is clear stated, the volume and the deepness of the course is substantial, the supplements are very helpful. The spreadsheets can even use as basis for practice modelling.

교육 기관: Marco D L

2017년 6월 10일

Great course. However to get the highest score in the assignments you are sometimes required to understand concepts not explained in the videos or slides.

교육 기관: Orazio B

2015년 12월 1일

A very interested course. Only suggestion:

a. if possibile more interation with the professors

b. being more realistic in the case studies

교육 기관: Mbakisi

2020년 6월 7일

It is an interesting course that introduces you to the various models used in financial engineering. I would recommend it to anyone aspiring to become a Quant and seeking to lay a foundation in that field. However there is room for improvement as the material will not have settled down before the introduction of new material as the weeks go by.

교육 기관: Zhen Y

2018년 1월 30일

Some unnecessarily introduced math formula hamper the understanding of the subject itself. Lack of simple, straightforward definition of finance terms.

교육 기관: Ajay S

2015년 9월 3일

Three stars for course structure, two stars less for every poor course material which doesn't contain any guidance to test questions.

교육 기관: Pengchong L

2017년 12월 31일

Lots of practical exercises with not enough explanations on the underlying reasoning/theory.

교육 기관: Weijia C

2017년 7월 18일

Some of the knowledge points lack good examples to support and prove.

교육 기관: cornelispaulus@hotmail.com

2018년 7월 8일

InterestIngHOwever,IwouldliketoseemorenumerIcalexamples