Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,284개의 평가
449개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

DP
2020년 3월 8일

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
2017년 7월 11일

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 443개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Monica V

2017년 12월 27일

I really enjoyed this course. Even if I wasn't new to these financial concepts, the different approach used by the professors gave me new skills. I recommend these lectures to everyone who wants to have a basic introduction to simple pricing financial models.

교육 기관: David C

2016년 8월 16일

It is a brilliant course covering all the key concepts in the financial engineering and model calibrations! The assignments are challenging but really help me reinforce my understanding of concepts and practice basic excel modeling skills. Highly recommended

교육 기관: Jonty

2017년 10월 14일

It's really hard me for me as an engineering student without any knowledge of MF, but I believe in myself and finish it .And now, I make it. I'm proud of myself .And thanks for the help our mentors supply. I'm going to try thr second part of it.Fighting!

교육 기관: Varun G

2021년 4월 23일

Great Learning, Good Experience. It will definitely help me in career. Thank you Mentors, Thank you Coursera team for having such great course and Thank you fellow learners for such support for solving and understanding the assignment test problems.

교육 기관: Sydney G

2017년 2월 8일

Fantastic class. I hope in the future someone teach how to code in python for the assignment. Thank you so much. Also i suggest someone mention what's next after this series. I want to be a quant. I believe this is the first step. Want to know more.

교육 기관: YuZhang

2016년 9월 3일

I took this course to prepare for the interview for the MFE program in Columbia, and I am so excited to see these two professors in person in this fall. Cool course, quite intro level, but practical to take for the preparation for interviews.

교육 기관: Divya B

2019년 9월 8일

Pretty great course. The material introduces a lot of old topics that one might have come across in upper level statistics. In addition to the latter it gives you a good platform to decide whether financial engineering is your forte or not.

교육 기관: Pushkin J

2019년 12월 13일

I really enjoyed the quizzes they were designed in a way that the students can learn the practical implementations of the concept they learn.This course is the very fundamental that is required if you want a future in quantitative finance.

교육 기관: June N

2018년 2월 21일

This course is quite thorough and I commend the lecturers for passing on so much knowledge in such little time. The mentorship received is also brilliant, especially in those challenging quiz weeks. Would definitely recommend this course!

교육 기관: Sara

2020년 3월 10일

It has been very interesting and helpful for improving my knowledge in some specific topics of financial engineering field. I strongly recommend it to who is really interested in learning or improving his skills in risk management!

교육 기관: Abhay k

2020년 7월 16일

An excellent course on Financial Engineering. Starting from the basics this course provides an overall idea. The assignments are also based a lot upon whats been taught. More emphasis is given upon the applications of the course.

교육 기관: Mohamed M

2016년 3월 8일

nice challenging course with very good lecture videos and supporting material. the questions tested the material very well and were just challenging enough for my taste. Also the teachers were explaining the material very well.

교육 기관: Francisco J M C G

2018년 4월 10일

Great course for every level. Very interesting mix of theory, practise and real world examples. The metors are very helpful, especially Scott. Thanks to them, you will have no problem understanding every topic and question.

교육 기관: Ioana C

2017년 2월 26일

Interesting, useful, with very nice examples and helping tools. For me, Prof. Martin Haugh's style was more appealing, but I congratulate both Mr. Haugh and Mr. Iyengar for a difficult and beautiful course :). Thanks vm!

교육 기관: Guilherme S

2016년 11월 21일

I really liked this course and definitely recommend it! The videos are well prepared and make all the math easy to understand and the quizzes are excellent to resume the ideia of each lesson. Congratulations to the team!

교육 기관: Tom B

2019년 3월 29일

Being new to investing and understanding financial products this course gave me great insight into the financial products that I'm interested in and gave me all the background I felt I needed to understand them.

교육 기관: Yue Z

2016년 12월 11일

The course provides me the first experience of a complete foreign course!

Although some of the theories have been known to many, this course is still worth a thorough learning for its insightful financial ideas.

교육 기관: ZHENG Z

2019년 7월 6일

Very well organized course! A wonderful introduction to quantitative pricing models as well as some common financial derivatives (such as swap, swaption, CDS, CMO, etc). Very challenging, but very interesting!

교육 기관: Domenico B

2018년 2월 20일

Good balance between technical notions and difficulty of the course. Professors are prepared teacher and also the slides are useful. This course gives you a good induction on how a financial engineer thinks.

교육 기관: Bujunoori R R

2020년 4월 25일

The course is of invaluable help to students interested in fixed income securities. Both the professors made the challenging topics easy to understand. Highly recommend this course for Finance enthusiasts.

교육 기관: Kliti Q

2018년 8월 26일

Excellent course, great balance between theory, background concepts and practical examples; might be more challenging and take more time to complete for people without a quantitative/financial background.

교육 기관: Anne

2019년 1월 4일

extremely helpful and insightful! nice and compact, too! Also very helpful that there are many examples from fixed income / credit markets, as many options courses focus heavily on equity options only.

교육 기관: Daniel M

2021년 4월 11일

Excellent course, very useful models already available in excel. I would have liked to have some "bonus" question on more exotic products to test myself without compromise the completion of the course

교육 기관: Nik B

2018년 8월 16일

Excellent course, which give you pretty good understanding of valuation of equity and interest rates derivatives. I want to recomend this course for all students who want to focus on financial field.

교육 기관: chloe_liuy

2017년 8월 27일

The course profile is quite useful and helpful. Combined with the homework and the discussion forum, the course offers a great opportunity for me to get some knowledge about financial economics.