Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,709개의 평가
305개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

NT

Jan 20, 2017

This course is amazing. The structure is very clear and coherent. It is very mathematically focused and the models are interesting. I would always recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 299개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Hugo R M M

Mar 05, 2019

Curso voltado para a precificação de ativos diversos, como ações fundos, swaps, etc... Houveram poucos exemplos durante as aulas, o que torna as provas bem difíceis. No início, vemos coisas próximas da nossa realidade, mas, depois da 3° ou 4° semana de curso, a entramos em um leque de ativos pouquíssimo conhecidos e utilizados na nossa realidade.

교육 기관: Michael C M

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

교육 기관: harsheel

Jul 06, 2019

Too difficult to understand for a beginner.

교육 기관: Patrick M K

Jun 03, 2018

This class is a total waste of time and money.

1-The presenter's English is not up to code, so to speak.

2-The examples are purely theoretical and lack any kind of real numbers. Greek characters proliferate unnecessarily, adding to confusion.

3-The course materials make no effort to explain formulas in a clear and concise manner.

Don't waste your time and money like I did.

교육 기관: Oluwatobiloba A

Jul 15, 2019

The course is the clearest and most informative content on FRM I have come across. Thank you University of Columbia for this opportunity

교육 기관: Andrea R

Oct 27, 2018

This course effectively provides an introductory overview of the basic concepts in financial engineering world (arbitrage, discounting, fair pricing etc). I would have prefer more mathematical insight, but indeed the use of basic mathematical tools was pointed out as intentional in the course presentation. Exercises at the end of each module are really helpful to clarify the concepts exposed during the lessons. Considering the limited amount of hours devoted to such complex arguments, this course fulfills its promises.

교육 기관: Priyanshu D

Jun 16, 2019

Very helpful and very well taught course. Felt a bit short. I wish it also touched upon stochastic models for option pricing and stochastic calculus in its week 8 syllabus. Thank you for the course, overall it was a nice experience.

교육 기관: Ishaan K

Dec 10, 2017

please help with questions given as test for better clearity.

교육 기관: Gabriel Z

Nov 18, 2016

I think the way it is taught is not very insightful, the lecturers clearly just read a script and make it difficult to follow. They assignment questions are often hard to understand. Most importantly, there is very little about the actual mechanism behind pricing financial instruments, instead they just state the formula.

교육 기관: Truquet O

Jul 09, 2018

The explanations are not clear and only a few exercises presented in the quiz were covered in the course videos. There is no exercise book to prepare for the exercise of the quiz.

교육 기관: Yuqin L

Nov 20, 2017

not sure about the whole course, but the week 1 training video is basically an instructor reading a script.

교육 기관: Chi Z

Dec 30, 2018

Wonderful topics! Just suffered from EXCEL these days? It is better to provide some python or R codes.

Dars

교육 기관: Haotian Z

Jan 01, 2019

Challenging and rewarding. It contains the content of derivatives and it's very basic and relatively easy to understand with some math and finance background. After this course, I'm pretty looking forwards to being a member in Columbia University Financial Engineering.

교육 기관: Anne

Jan 04, 2019

extremely helpful and insightful! nice and compact, too! Also very helpful that there are many examples from fixed income / credit markets, as many options courses focus heavily on equity options only.

교육 기관: Wu Z

Feb 15, 2019

super helpful

교육 기관: Tom B

Mar 30, 2019

Being new to investing and understanding financial products this course gave me great insight into the financial products that I'm interested in and gave me all the background I felt I needed to understand them.

교육 기관: Rohan T

Mar 30, 2019

The material was excellent. Thank you for making this course and putting it on a public platform

교육 기관: Markos L

Jan 30, 2019

Amazing course. Will register for the second part too

교육 기관: Artem B

Apr 06, 2019

Very good course. A lot of examples, great assignments

교육 기관: Xiaoran L

Apr 09, 2019

很好的课程!节奏紧凑,具有挑战性。从论坛学到了很多。

교육 기관: Carlos D M R

Dec 06, 2018

Great way to understand financial instruments valuation and risk management related with it.

교육 기관: Sourav G

Mar 11, 2019

An Excellent course which really tested my understanding of the subject matter through challenging questions and rigorous assignments. The course matter is also very relevant and engaging. Through this course I have improved my understanding of the pricing mechanism of securities and derivatives. Thank You.

교육 기관: Michele

Sep 29, 2018

This course has been very interesting and has improved my knowledge how financial instruments works.

I am really grateful to professors.

교육 기관: Siddharth V A

Aug 26, 2018

This was an amazing journey into first attempt at understanding pricing. very well explained by the professors and excellent review questions / exercises.

Am looking forward to do the part 2 right away

Thank you professors for giving us an opportunity to learn from you

교육 기관: Kliti Q

Aug 26, 2018

Excellent course, great balance between theory, background concepts and practical examples; might be more challenging and take more time to complete for people without a quantitative/financial background.