Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,303개의 평가
452개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

DP
2020년 3월 8일

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM
2017년 7월 11일

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 446개 리뷰 중 426~446

교육 기관: Duvakli S

2020년 6월 8일

Thanks

교육 기관: Jung H S

2017년 6월 4일

g

교육 기관: Steven R

2015년 8월 19일

G

교육 기관: Chatura C L

2020년 7월 8일

The basic ideas are taught very nicely in the course, but I would have wished to see some more advanced maths such as some integrals computed in order to determine option prices and maybe a continuous time (BDT) model. At some point it was tiring to go through the binomial model.

Nevertheless the course was very interesting. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Priyank D

2020년 5월 25일

I learned a lot during the course. Here are my few suggestions:1) a person should be familiar with basics as the course is highly non-descriptive.....you might confuse between financial terms time to time. 2) i think the flow of the course can be improved.The most enjoyable and tricky parts are the quizs,they are tough to crack.

교육 기관: Lê T T T

2020년 7월 16일

I think this course is good and gives me some useful knowledge. However, the most disadvantage is that it is lacked of example and that makes us really hard to understand and do quiz. I rank 3 stars for this course with the hope that the disadvantage will be improved to make the course more perfect.

교육 기관: Dmitrii K

2020년 5월 23일

I liked how binomial model was covered, clearly explained each product pricing. I also liked mortgage module explanation - with examples of the calculation in excel. However, in the first two weeks the teacher reads formulas from presentation without explaining and linking to the real examples.

교육 기관: Bryony

2016년 9월 15일

The lectures weren't always easy to follow but the quizzes were really useful as they meant it was necessary to understand the material. Definitely a useful course, I will be interested to see how it relates to the real world of derivatives pricing.

교육 기관: Daniella M

2020년 10월 26일

It wasn't always easy to follow along with the content and I really relied on the forums to understand how to work out the answers to the questions as there was way more theory than practised examples using actual numbers in the lectures.

교육 기관: Prachi D

2021년 5월 20일

This course will definitely enhance your financial knowledge and skills. However, it is not for beginners and the explanations are not very helpful too. You have to work a lot from your side to pass the course.

교육 기관: Roger W

2021년 1월 12일

Overall good, with a smooth stream of thoughts. However, some details still needed to be discovered on your own. The theory behind is not perfectly illustrated.

교육 기관: Xinyu L

2016년 2월 11일

I wish it could be harder and have more challenging quizzes than simply arithmetic and multiple choice.

교육 기관: Akash D

2020년 5월 18일

No fue lo que esperaba. Los instructtores no dieron su mejor presentacion.

교육 기관: NIRAVSINH S

2015년 12월 12일

good learning with explanation on basic financials

교육 기관: Calvin M

2021년 3월 24일

Quite challenging though informative

교육 기관: GOTLURU S R

2015년 9월 9일

GOOD ONE

교육 기관: Divyam G

2020년 11월 16일

This course is largely for people who want to pursue quantitative finance. People aspiring to be in the field of trading and investments should stay away. However, the course entails complex calculations of pricing of securities if you're interested.

교육 기관: Kazutoki M

2021년 4월 10일

I have some experience in this field, but still it is hard to go through the assignment by myself.

교육 기관: revathi i

2020년 9월 14일

it was a very high level course and not of my type

교육 기관: Aditya D

2020년 9월 20일

The videos are poorly explained, the exams are extremely difficult, and there is practically no help given when answers are wrong, and answers marked incorrect due to negligible errors. The only fault I could see from my side is that I didn't do a finance degree as that is the only way to understand this course. I've practically studied on Youtube to clear these exams, as they are poorly scheduled. Respected professors are just reading from slides.

교육 기관: Enkhtuul T

2020년 6월 23일

Although I have passed the SIE exam and have some finance background, I see that the important concepts were poorly explained with no examples. I also found that the slides were difficult to follow... this course needs a major improvement.