Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,139개의 평가
413개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

DP

Mar 09, 2020

I have an engineering / numerics background and enjoyed this course very much. Good overview and comprehensive explanation of mathematical models of fixed income and equities as well as derivatives.

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 407개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Guilherme G

Aug 19, 2019

Classes have a few numerical examples.

The teachers don't have didactics, they just read the slides.

교육 기관: Firuz K

Oct 13, 2015

Low quality slides. Monotone lecturing style.

교육 기관: ahmed E a

Mar 06, 2016

It is not a recommended course, when they explain something they assume that we are expert and we know all what they are talking about, they need to have statistics experts which is not mentioned in course prerequisite.

================

I recommend to review the material and to review the purpose of this course

교육 기관: Truquet O

Jul 09, 2018

The explanations are not clear and only a few exercises presented in the quiz were covered in the course videos. There is no exercise book to prepare for the exercise of the quiz.

교육 기관: Haris M S

Feb 16, 2019

No help was granted during the practice of the course. I din't find the course helpful for future growth in a company as company doesn't consider it to be as professional.

교육 기관: Jonathan W

Mar 24, 2017

The only reason i passed was because i ignored the lectures and asked others for help, once i did that finance became a lot easier to understand.

교육 기관: Vanessa F

Jan 14, 2017

I think that the simply reading slides doesn't help people understand. The idea is to make this courses as accessible as possible.

교육 기관: Longfei L

Jan 15, 2017

It's terrible if one wants to accomplish the quiz using Garud Iyengar's Notes!! Examples in his notes were not well explained!!

교육 기관: Ziping D

Dec 27, 2015

It is a little sad that the materials taught were not matching test materials well in the quiz.

교육 기관: Justin C

Aug 29, 2015

Extraordinarily dry presentation. It was a struggle to sit through each video.

교육 기관: Hoo K L

Oct 29, 2015

This course is conducted mostly more or less by reading just the slides.

교육 기관: Michael N R

Jun 13, 2016

Not at all what I expected--big disappointment

교육 기관: Jason S

Dec 24, 2015

This course is a great, from the perspective of how it is organized as well as the assignments provided at the end of each module. The way the content layout is well-suited and leads student step by step gaining insight to the mechanics of different financial derivatives and working on those assignments is a great method of pushing student spend time to understand how the mechanics works.

Both instructors are great! and I appreciated greatly their effort as well as Coursera.

The only one improvement I would suggest is that if a TA can be assigned for this course, it'll be a great help to all students.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Kolybina A

Nov 26, 2017

The material is clear stated, the volume and the deepness of the course is substantial, the supplements are very helpful. The spreadsheets can even use as basis for practice modelling.

교육 기관: Marco D L

Jun 11, 2017

Great course. However to get the highest score in the assignments you are sometimes required to understand concepts not explained in the videos or slides.

교육 기관: Orazio B

Dec 01, 2015

A very interested course. Only suggestion:

a. if possibile more interation with the professors

b. being more realistic in the case studies

교육 기관: Mbakisi

Jun 07, 2020

It is an interesting course that introduces you to the various models used in financial engineering. I would recommend it to anyone aspiring to become a Quant and seeking to lay a foundation in that field. However there is room for improvement as the material will not have settled down before the introduction of new material as the weeks go by.

교육 기관: Zhen Y

Jan 30, 2018

Some unnecessarily introduced math formula hamper the understanding of the subject itself. Lack of simple, straightforward definition of finance terms.

교육 기관: Ajay S

Sep 03, 2015

Three stars for course structure, two stars less for every poor course material which doesn't contain any guidance to test questions.

교육 기관: Pengchong L

Dec 31, 2017

Lots of practical exercises with not enough explanations on the underlying reasoning/theory.

교육 기관: Weijia C

Jul 18, 2017

Some of the knowledge points lack good examples to support and prove.

교육 기관: Cor v H

Jul 08, 2018

InterestIngHOwever,IwouldliketoseemorenumerIcalexamples

교육 기관: Bhavya S J

May 11, 2020

Fantastic start for someone who wants to delve into the world of finance. Concepts focus on mathematical modelling of various financial instruments, with detailed theoretical explanations of the structure of derivatives. As someone wanting to pursue quantitative finance and from an engineering background, this course was stimulating from an engineer's perspective, and had adequate amounts of theoretical information as well to supplement learning. One of the few courses on Coursera that took me more time than that stipulated on the course bulletin.

On a side note, I feel the quizzes should test more conceptual knowledge ,which was true for the first couple of weeks, but later turned into an exercise in MS Excel, maybe because of the computational nature of the course.

교육 기관: Sourodeep K

Jul 31, 2020

This course introduced to the various Mathematical models related to pricing financial derivatives and fixed-income securities through the use of Probability Theory and Stochastic Calculus. This is course is recommended for anyone who has an interest in learning about the mathematical stories of financial securities and their pricing. I think the professors have done a great job of putting across the concepts to the students of this course. The quizzes help in testing the knowledge acquired and the questions involved working analytically and also working in excel. I extend my thanks to Columbia University for putting such an interesting course on Coursera. I am sure the learnings from this course will play a key role in building my career in finance.

교육 기관: vijay v

Oct 05, 2017

This is very compact course without compromising essence and worth watching video lectures many times. Materials were of top quality and provided wast amount of fundamental. I cram some information to begin with and ask question myself to get deep insight. On review of of some videos when I saw professor asked same question and explained with illustration, that style of teaching proved very effective as it developed better understanding. Looking forward for more courses on same subjects and similar style!