Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,080개의 평가
400개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

EG

Aug 11, 2015

The content of this course is apropiate for drive the finances and risk, We be lear more about this course\n\nI am Engenier in Sofware, the know of finances is aplicable in anyware software.

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 395개 리뷰 중 376~395

교육 기관: Priyank D

May 25, 2020

I learned a lot during the course. Here are my few suggestions:1) a person should be familiar with basics as the course is highly non-descriptive.....you might confuse between financial terms time to time. 2) i think the flow of the course can be improved.The most enjoyable and tricky parts are the quizs,they are tough to crack.

교육 기관: Lê T T T

Jul 16, 2020

I think this course is good and gives me some useful knowledge. However, the most disadvantage is that it is lacked of example and that makes us really hard to understand and do quiz. I rank 3 stars for this course with the hope that the disadvantage will be improved to make the course more perfect.

교육 기관: Dmitrii K

May 23, 2020

I liked how binomial model was covered, clearly explained each product pricing. I also liked mortgage module explanation - with examples of the calculation in excel. However, in the first two weeks the teacher reads formulas from presentation without explaining and linking to the real examples.

교육 기관: Bryony

Sep 15, 2016

The lectures weren't always easy to follow but the quizzes were really useful as they meant it was necessary to understand the material. Definitely a useful course, I will be interested to see how it relates to the real world of derivatives pricing.

교육 기관: Xinyu L

Feb 11, 2016

I wish it could be harder and have more challenging quizzes than simply arithmetic and multiple choice.

교육 기관: Jedidiah D G

Jan 04, 2020

Lack of examples/problems worked out in the videos. Can be difficult to pass quizzes accordingly

교육 기관: Akash D

May 19, 2020

No fue lo que esperaba. Los instructtores no dieron su mejor presentacion.

교육 기관: NIRAVSINH S

Dec 12, 2015

good learning with explanation on basic financials

교육 기관: GOTLURU S R

Sep 09, 2015

GOOD ONE

교육 기관: Matteo B

Jul 31, 2020

this course lacks examples and explanations that are not just formulas read out during the "classes". the quizzes will ask you to compute something you have never seen before, expecting you to understand how to reform some obscure, unexplained formula a couple of classes ago. It is a shame because it is a very interesting subject, but the course suffers from the defect that (probably) great practitioners often do not make great teachers.

교육 기관: John H

Aug 11, 2020

I only attempted the first 2 weeks before giving up. The instructor would mostly read each confusing powerpoint slide at verbatim without adding much learning value.

교육 기관: Mansi B

May 03, 2020

I find the explanation very hard to catch up to. Even the simple examples seem very vague and it just seems like going through random equations and theorems. Maybe its the syllabus, but its not that easy to grasp and make sense of. I have studied complex financial concepts but using equations is new and despite having a thorough background in financial studies, i find it difficult to grasp. I think once the topic is introduced, it should be developed on further instead of discussing other concepts briefly. Without much understanding of the first concept, moving onto just a brief discussion of of another topic seems confusing and easy to forget. I am still trying to get through the course and its a little challenging to get finish the slides.

교육 기관: Enkhtuul T

Jun 23, 2020

Although I have passed the SIE exam and have some finance background, I see that the important concepts were poorly explained with no examples. I also found that the slides were difficult to follow... this course needs a major improvement.

교육 기관: Shweta

Jun 07, 2020

Zero course clarity. The professors made no effort to teach the numericals to support the theorems taught. They were rather just reading what was already there in the presentation.

교육 기관: Hamd S

Jun 25, 2020

Very poor method of creating concepts and no help in solving at least one question. A conceptual course being taught as a theoretical course is a shame.

교육 기관: Michael Y N E

Dec 04, 2018

I enrolled it by wrong it is very faraway from my career and my education i want to un-enrolled it

교육 기관: Kashyap S

Mar 30, 2020

Everything will go beyond your head. Quizes are nearly unslovable. Waste of Money and Time.

교육 기관: Aliraza R

Dec 24, 2015

Examples have to be more clear. i cant seem to get anything correct because of computers

교육 기관: YUN L

Aug 01, 2020

Very hard to understand. The way the lecture talks make it even harder.

교육 기관: Su m

Jul 29, 2020

too hard