Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,187개의 평가
422개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

MM
2017년 7월 11일

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

AZ
2020년 7월 17일

A very well designed course! I knew some topics prior to the course and it helped me to strengthen my knowledge on derivative market systematically, particularly on interest rate derivatives

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 417개 리뷰 중 401~417

교육 기관: GOTLURU S R

2015년 9월 9일

GOOD ONE

교육 기관: Matteo B

2020년 7월 31일

this course lacks examples and explanations that are not just formulas read out during the "classes". the quizzes will ask you to compute something you have never seen before, expecting you to understand how to reform some obscure, unexplained formula a couple of classes ago. It is a shame because it is a very interesting subject, but the course suffers from the defect that (probably) great practitioners often do not make great teachers.

교육 기관: Divyam G

2020년 11월 16일

This course is largely for people who want to pursue quantitative finance. People aspiring to be in the field of trading and investments should stay away. However, the course entails complex calculations of pricing of securities if you're interested.

교육 기관: John H

2020년 8월 11일

I only attempted the first 2 weeks before giving up. The instructor would mostly read each confusing powerpoint slide at verbatim without adding much learning value.

교육 기관: Revathi I

2020년 9월 14일

it was a very high level course and not of my type

교육 기관: Mansi B

2020년 5월 3일

I find the explanation very hard to catch up to. Even the simple examples seem very vague and it just seems like going through random equations and theorems. Maybe its the syllabus, but its not that easy to grasp and make sense of. I have studied complex financial concepts but using equations is new and despite having a thorough background in financial studies, i find it difficult to grasp. I think once the topic is introduced, it should be developed on further instead of discussing other concepts briefly. Without much understanding of the first concept, moving onto just a brief discussion of of another topic seems confusing and easy to forget. I am still trying to get through the course and its a little challenging to get finish the slides.

교육 기관: Aditya D

2020년 9월 20일

The videos are poorly explained, the exams are extremely difficult, and there is practically no help given when answers are wrong, and answers marked incorrect due to negligible errors. The only fault I could see from my side is that I didn't do a finance degree as that is the only way to understand this course. I've practically studied on Youtube to clear these exams, as they are poorly scheduled. Respected professors are just reading from slides.

교육 기관: Sooraj V

2020년 10월 30일

After seeing the name and the description I signed up for this course. But the stupid professor is simply reading the slides. I felt very bad about the way he teaches. He talks with a stoic face with zero emotion and completely failed to create any interest in me. I never expected such kind of a quality from such a good university. Very bad choice.

교육 기관: Enkhtuul T

2020년 6월 23일

Although I have passed the SIE exam and have some finance background, I see that the important concepts were poorly explained with no examples. I also found that the slides were difficult to follow... this course needs a major improvement.

교육 기관: Selam M

2020년 8월 25일

There is not enough explanation as to the things to be tested on. The lessons and the tests are completely different. On top of that the teacher jumps too many necessary points in his explanations.

교육 기관: Shweta

2020년 6월 7일

Zero course clarity. The professors made no effort to teach the numericals to support the theorems taught. They were rather just reading what was already there in the presentation.

교육 기관: Hamd S

2020년 6월 25일

Very poor method of creating concepts and no help in solving at least one question. A conceptual course being taught as a theoretical course is a shame.

교육 기관: Michael Y N E

2018년 12월 4일

I enrolled it by wrong it is very faraway from my career and my education i want to un-enrolled it

교육 기관: Kashyap S

2020년 3월 30일

Everything will go beyond your head. Quizes are nearly unslovable. Waste of Money and Time.

교육 기관: Aliraza R

2015년 12월 24일

Examples have to be more clear. i cant seem to get anything correct because of computers

교육 기관: YUN L

2020년 7월 31일

Very hard to understand. The way the lecture talks make it even harder.

교육 기관: Su m

2020년 7월 29일

too hard