Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,711개의 평가
305개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

NT

Jan 20, 2017

This course is amazing. The structure is very clear and coherent. It is very mathematically focused and the models are interesting. I would always recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 299개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: kyriacos

Aug 12, 2017

Tests your endurance and helps you improve your MS Excel skills. I had been working on it for some months before I was able to complete it. It was very challenging but rewarding.

교육 기관: Manuel A V S

Jul 16, 2017

This course introduces financial engineering and risk management very adequately. Even though the level is not that advanced, it teaches the mechanics of derivatives, fixed income securities and more complicated securities like MBS. The quizzes are achievable, but don't let the time run up until the deadline since they require attention.

교육 기관: Laurence M

Oct 30, 2016

Great course content

교육 기관: Dr. R M

Nov 15, 2017

Very informative and clear presentation of the material, which makes fun and allows to quickly learn the topics. Furthermore, interesting and practical quiz questions.

교육 기관: Ghassen A

Jan 26, 2017

Very rich content

교육 기관: chloe_liuy

Aug 27, 2017

The course profile is quite useful and helpful. Combined with the homework and the discussion forum, the course offers a great opportunity for me to get some knowledge about financial economics.

교육 기관: Kolybina A

Nov 26, 2017

The material is clear stated, the volume and the deepness of the course is substantial, the supplements are very helpful. The spreadsheets can even use as basis for practice modelling.

교육 기관: Gerardo M D H

May 31, 2018

A course with easy explanations, financial engineering can be understood by almost anyone, and exams do not have a higher difficulty

교육 기관: Yue Z

Dec 12, 2016

The course provides me the first experience of a complete foreign course!

Although some of the theories have been known to many, this course is still worth a thorough learning for its insightful financial ideas.

교육 기관: Asmaâ L

Aug 14, 2017

Very good course ! Quite tricky at times (especially for beginners) but I really enjoyed it !

Many thanks to the instructors & mentors ! :)

교육 기관: NGUYỄN Q T

Jan 20, 2017

This course is amazing. The structure is very clear and coherent. It is very mathematically focused and the models are interesting. I would always recommend this course to my colleagues.

교육 기관: Evan K

May 21, 2017

A well put together course that is good for both those currently in finance looking to expand their quantitative skillset as well as anyone looking to just learn more about financial modeling. The lectures and notes are informative and engaging, and the quizzes are challenging but doable.

교육 기관: Lars E P

Apr 27, 2017

Excellent introductory course to the subject! Requires some basic math (and programming if you are not an excel fan)

교육 기관: Abhijit S

Jun 16, 2017

Great course with vast overview of a lot of a financial securities and how to price them. Poses some challenge but fairly straightforward overall!

교육 기관: Mary-Anne B

Jul 18, 2017

I have enjoyed this course thoroughly. With a full time job and two young children it has demanded a great deal of juggling but has been worth it. If you appreciate a thorough and clear presentation of essential principles then this is the course for you. The assignments were sufficiently challenging but more importantly they elucidated key points presented in the lectures. I am definitely going to attempt Level 2

교육 기관: Srinivas N

Dec 09, 2016

Great learning experience. Learnt the various concepts on financial modelling and related topi

교육 기관: Yang L

Feb 24, 2017

It is a great entry-level course for engineering students like me who want to learn some basic finance. The assignment after each module did take me some time but it is quite worth it. And the last module of background materials that cover a lot of finance mathematics is very helpful too.

교육 기관: Árpád B

Apr 26, 2017

As the first serious encounter with financial engineering I found the course challenging but very rewarding. Very good theory-practice ratio. I would definitely recommend to somebody who is interested in the topic and willing to spend many hours with it. My experiences are based on 4 weeks of completed sessions, so please take it with a grain of salt.

교육 기관: Jona M

Jun 10, 2018

Excellent course! I very good first dive in the world of financial engineering. Can't wait to enroll for part II

교육 기관: HP F

Apr 25, 2017

Great introductory course!

교육 기관: Maria R

Jun 20, 2017

Very helpfuly!

교육 기관: Amogh P

Jan 02, 2018

I'll count completing this MOOC as a proof of my resilience :*)

교육 기관: Victor C

May 23, 2017

Very helpful course

교육 기관: episode

Jun 09, 2017

The curriculum is interesting and has a good connection to the real market, however some questions are hard to solve because of lacking details which were not mentioned during the teaching.

교육 기관: YuZhang

Sep 03, 2016

I took this course to prepare for the interview for the MFE program in Columbia, and I am so excited to see these two professors in person in this fall. Cool course, quite intro level, but practical to take for the preparation for interviews.