Chevron Left
Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
1,711개의 평가
305개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field drawing from finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part I will be on the use of simple stochastic models to price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities, fixed income, credit and mortgage-backed securities. We will also consider the role that some of these asset classes played during the financial crisis. A notable feature of this course will be an interview module with Emanuel Derman, the renowned ``quant'' and best-selling author of "My Life as a Quant". We hope that students who complete the course will begin to understand the "rocket science" behind financial engineering but perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism. The follow-on course FE & RM Part II will continue to develop derivatives pricing models but it will also focus on asset allocation and portfolio optimization as well as other applications of financial engineering such as real options, commodity and energy derivatives and algorithmic trading....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Jul 12, 2017

I appreciate how this course not only discusses the concepts in technical detail, but actually delves into the mathematics of the subject matter, and teaches how to actually do the actual work inv

NT

Jan 20, 2017

This course is amazing. The structure is very clear and coherent. It is very mathematically focused and the models are interesting. I would always recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part I의 299개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Jiawei L

Dec 25, 2017

Great course. Challenging quizzes later on but it was definitely worth it to take it (even though I'm already a Finance student and this is literally what I study at school)

교육 기관: June N

Feb 21, 2018

This course is quite thorough and I commend the lecturers for passing on so much knowledge in such little time. The mentorship received is also brilliant, especially in those challenging quiz weeks. Would definitely recommend this course!

교육 기관: Abadurahman N

May 11, 2018

it is very useful course.

thanks a lot

교육 기관: Jesus O

May 10, 2019

Pretty hard course, but extremely rewarding. I received a foundational knowledge about derivatives pricing. Even though I dont plan to apply this knowledge right now, I'm sure that it will be useful in a near future, as I plan to pursue a career in the finance sector.

교육 기관: Kobe G

May 11, 2019

This course is really challgenging yet provides a very good overview of diffrent financial insturments. Higly recommend

교육 기관: Ezio L

Apr 28, 2019

Good lectures and excellent exercises to test the understanding. Overall a very good course!

교육 기관: AYUSH M

May 13, 2019

Dr Haugh and Dr Iyengar are really amazing teachers. Learnt a lot.

교육 기관: Steven Y

Apr 29, 2019

I enjoyed the course and it gave me a great introduction to financial engineering.

교육 기관: Santiago L R

Jul 29, 2019

Great content. Learned a lot.

교육 기관: Taha Y B

Aug 04, 2019

Great course

교육 기관: Wanyuan X

May 24, 2019

Very useful skills, need some basic knowledge of mathematics, hard to complete, but very deliverable.

교육 기관: Cesar H C R

Jun 07, 2019

Excellent professors and materials.

교육 기관: Hermon A

Aug 16, 2019

Good explanations, good reviews of theory and good practical reviews with excel. The forums are also very useful and complement the content saw in videos for more complex questions not explained in videos.

I am now more exciting to learn about financial engineering after this course, Part II here we go!!

교육 기관: LE T T T

Aug 20, 2019

In discussion forum, I saw that a few years ago, our mentors replied the questions of learners very quickly. However, recently I've seen that there are some questions that are not answered. I do not know why.

By the way, I am so grateful to our lecturers and mentors. Thanks to their guide, I could pass all of my assignments more straightforwardly.

교육 기관: ujjwal j

Jul 06, 2019

Very well covered concepts with easy to understand technique

교육 기관: ZHENG Z

Jul 06, 2019

Very well organized course! A wonderful introduction to quantitative pricing models as well as some common financial derivatives (such as swap, swaption, CDS, CMO, etc). Very challenging, but very interesting!

교육 기관: Syalom H

Jul 15, 2019

it's quiet hard to do this course

교육 기관: Divya B

Sep 08, 2019

Pretty great course. The material introduces a lot of old topics that one might have come across in upper level statistics. In addition to the latter it gives you a good platform to decide whether financial engineering is your forte or not.

교육 기관: Stephen Y

Sep 17, 2019

Very Hard Class. But Well Worth It

교육 기관: Shubhaditya D

Oct 03, 2019

Well rounded introduction to quant finance

교육 기관: Bethel A

Oct 10, 2019

Great learning system.

교육 기관: RAMESH R

Oct 19, 2018

I have spent lot of time on this course, it is really excellent. Due to the concentrated information, it takes more time for me to learn the subject. Everything is explained very well with detailed notes on the topics. I hope I will finish this course one-day. Thanks

교육 기관: Andrzej L

Oct 20, 2018

Good content, especially liked how professor Haugh explained things. Some assignments could have clearer instructions - but discussion forums are useful to troubleshoot the problems.

교육 기관: Dean C

Aug 03, 2018

Interesting and well laid-out, the only improvements I would suggest are more effective ways to troubleshoot questions around the quizzes, as well as better integration of the optional sections at the end, which jump into heavy maths without practical examples, limiting the motivation for students to stick with them.

교육 기관: Morgan S

Aug 09, 2016

Good course for a dry subject. I feel that the modeling could've been more thoroughly explain. For example, the professor could've used cases to analyze/explain what relationships between variables signify in greater detail.