Chevron Left
Writing in First Person Point of View(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Writing in First Person Point of View 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
68개의 평가
33개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

If you have always wanted to tell your own story—in a memoir, first-person essay, or any other form of autobiographical non-fiction—but felt you lacked the tools or the framework, this is the class for you. We will learn how successful first-person writing is structured to offer the reader a sense of propulsive motion, and is guided by a narrator who is deliberately crafted. We will explore the ways in which language can be used to create tone, so that the emotional freight of your words is as potent as the storytelling. And crucially, we will consider the writer's responsibility to the reader: the importance of being a guide who includes the reader in the sensory, emotional, and intellectual experience you mean to share through your writing....

최상위 리뷰

AR
2020년 7월 27일

The assignments were very helpful with looking at my story in different ways. I now have an idea of how to elevate my story from a journal into a memoir.

JW
2019년 2월 24일

As a writer and a blogger I felt like I should brush up on my craft. This course was very enlightening and Ariel Levy was engaging and informative.

필터링 기준:

Writing in First Person Point of View의 32개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Mary S

2020년 4월 21일

This was my first Coursera course, and will be my last. The absence of any input on the assignments from the instructor seemed more than a bit lame. The instructions for the assignments were awful. The worst instructions were for the final piece, which until today I didn't realize was meant to be for my entire memoir - I thought it was for one essay! While I thought the discipline of needing to get words on paper and review others' words was good, I found the course way less than satisfying. I'm making a second entry here to say that at a minimum, someone should check the accuracy of the voice-to-text narrative of the instructor's work. It is absolutely full of errors that would be easily corrected, but fit the overall impression of the course.

교육 기관: John E P

2019년 11월 13일

Ariel, I enjoyed Course 2 of the Specialization. In particular I enjoyed Developing a Narrator and Developing Trust with the reader. Then there was Where to begin and Finding your voice. What is your point is another. I have downloaded all the videos so that I can go over them until I get all the concepts. I really glad I took this course and this Specialization. I am on vacation in a few days so I may not complete all the peer scoring but I listened to all the videos and downloaded the text.

I am writing my first book which will not only be a memoir but also a help for those who suffer from illness.

교육 기관: Jasmin S

2020년 11월 20일

I learned so much from this course, particularly from Ariel Levy's insights into what comprises an excellent narrative. She encourages one to engage the reader, bring them into the fore of what you want to put across, use self effacement, be funny, use connotations and create a spine and a point for your story. I like that she refers to writing as an "art," and how her examples are so clear cut and precise that I can't wait to use what I learned to create my non fiction narratives. Thank you.

교육 기관: Louis C

2020년 9월 20일

I've been blown away at how good this course is. Ariel Levy is so good and so engaging. I've gone back and tried to download all the videos because where the first course in this specialization lays the groundwork, Ariel really leads the way on building on top of it. Levy also uses a lot of great examples from other's work and hers to give concrete examples of what she's teaching. She's great and I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Alicia W

2020년 7월 3일

I find the instructor very knowledgeable about the topic. The lectures were good and the assignments rigourous. Some of the peers did not seem like they followed the instructions or were in the right course but some were really good and I enjoyed reading their reviews as well as their assignments.

교육 기관: Dave S

2020년 5월 1일

Absolutely brilliant! Ariel Levy's way of teaching is straightforward, inspiring, energetic, and clear. I wish I could do more courses with her. The content was most useful, and the sequence in which it was presented was right on. I wasn't the same when I finished the course. Thanks for this!!

교육 기관: Christopher A

2020년 2월 13일

The quality of the presentations are so outstanding. Special thanks to Professor Ariel Levy for the clear, reassuring and can-do style of her presentations. My writing skills has improved and my confidence level is increasing. Thank you for granting me the chance.

교육 기관: Vicki W

2020년 8월 23일

Ariel Levy is terrific and so helpful. While I liked all of the instructors in this specialization, I found her style to be insightful and also practical. I thought the assignments made sense and directly related to where I'm trying to go as a writer.

교육 기관: Mitch B

2020년 5월 23일

This course has renewed my passion for writing and flexed literary muscles I have not used in quite a long time. The specific writing exercises flowed from one to the next cohesively and with purpose. A great course!

교육 기관: Ann R

2020년 7월 28일

The assignments were very helpful with looking at my story in different ways. I now have an idea of how to elevate my story from a journal into a memoir.

교육 기관: June W

2019년 2월 25일

As a writer and a blogger I felt like I should brush up on my craft. This course was very enlightening and Ariel Levy was engaging and informative.

교육 기관: ANSARI S A

2019년 11월 6일

Ariel Levy gives specific examples of books and excerpts to illustrate the learning points. This is very helpful and much appreciated.

교육 기관: Beza Y

2020년 8월 13일

It was my first class and it was really great! Not intimidating but challenging at the same time. Very positive peers as well.

교육 기관: Jummai

2019년 12월 28일

Ariel Levy was absolutely engaging throughout the class and she really opened up my mind to my writing potential.

교육 기관: Sarah S

2020년 8월 10일

I appreciated Ariel Levy's tips, reading selections and also the particular exercises. All of it stretched me.

교육 기관: Kondilo S

2020년 8월 11일

Ariel, thoroughly enjoyed your sessions, your approachable style and the sharing of your insights. Thank you.

교육 기관: AJITSA A

2020년 10월 30일

Brilliant teaching. This course got me organized enough and out of my head. It's improved my writing 1000%!

교육 기관: daiwujun

2020년 9월 29일

The course really helped me to look back and analyze some incidents in my life and make a story out of it.

교육 기관: Filia G

2019년 12월 19일

The mini-lectures are gold in mouth guidance, and the weekly assignments are well-thought drills!

교육 기관: Ronald L W S

2020년 5월 20일

This is a great course. I am going to study for the whole specialization. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Amanda S

2020년 11월 17일

Ariel Levy is an engaging instructor with excellent examples and helpful advice.

교육 기관: Elisabeth B

2020년 6월 23일

This was a fantastic course with engaging lectures and challenging assignments.

교육 기관: Tamara S

2020년 7월 20일

didnt pay so didnt have complete access.

but what i saw was great.

thankyou

교육 기관: Ana K E B

2020년 5월 28일

Excellent course to learn how to express your opinion.

교육 기관: Liliane M

2019년 5월 10일

Ariel Levy's personality and passion is contagious.