Chevron Left
Introduction to Forensic Science(으)로 돌아가기

싱가포르의 난양공대의 Introduction to Forensic Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
749개의 평가
219개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

최상위 리뷰

NU

Feb 07, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Forensic Science의 215개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Martina P

Jul 16, 2017

This course was very interesting and the teacher explained all the concepts clearly and easily so that everyone could learn even without any previous knowledge. All the assignments were easy to do. The only thing that I would reccomend to improve is the peer assignments that sometimes are subjected to free interpretations. I learned a lot and had a lot of fun !!!

교육 기관: Jose L L

Jul 14, 2017

Es uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado en línea. Me gusta la calidad de sus videos, y la información actual que manejan a través de diversos medios, como lecturas y artículos.

This is one of the best courses I have studied online. I like the quality of their videos, and the current information they handle through various media, such as readings and articles.

교육 기관: Bruno A T P

Nov 12, 2016

Very good introductory course, gives very good background on forensic science, evidence collection and analysis. Particularly enjoyed Professor Roderick Bates' informal style and witty comments during the video classes. A very interesting point were also the video experiments, showing us simple protocols that can be used in the lab. All in all, a great course!

교육 기관: Iga T

Jan 04, 2017

Very good course that provides a little more than only basics of forensic science at the same time giving overview of the major areas that this subject covers. Mr Roderick Bates explains everything very clearly implementing new ideas gradually. I loved plethora of examples and case studies. Assignments made learning enjoyable.

교육 기관: waseem A

Apr 14, 2020

The content is very comprehensive. Course delivery is exceptional and very lucid. The video lectures have good learning aids. Adult learning methodologies for maintaining focus and attention of the participants are implemented effectively, to the extent Prof Bates even had a glass of wine to prove his point....

교육 기관: Iva A

Apr 20, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone who is interested in exploring the field of Forensic science. The learning and practicing processes were truly enjoyable, especially taking the quizzes and solving the cases. I hope I have the opportunity to sign up for another course of this type very soon.

교육 기관: Di L

Aug 07, 2019

Great course. I found the material to be engaging but also presented in a scientific way. The examples and practical applications of techniques ensured understanding of different scientific concepts. I would highly recommend this course for any person interested in forensic science and application.

교육 기관: Abby H

Aug 14, 2017

Very fun and interesting course. Learned a lot about the field of Forensics with little background in it to begin with. Has a few quizzes on materials and a couple of fun peer reviewed assignments where you interpret a crime scene. Definitely recommend this for anyone with an interest in forensics.

교육 기관: Pablo C

Apr 14, 2020

Really gives a good introduction, not only into the subject matter but also into the mindset of a forensic scientist. Even though it is a online course, laboratory methods are demonstrated which gives you additional knowledge, not only of theoretic methods but also the practical application.

교육 기관: Olga

Apr 11, 2020

Brilliant course! Thank you for putting such an insightful and interesting course together! The case study practical tasks were great practice and the quizzes encompassing all of the previous learning up to that point is a great way to ensure that nothing is forgotten. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Elizabeth K

Feb 06, 2018

Fantastic introduction to the area of Forensic Science! Very thorough and informative with a lot of detail on many subject areas. I enjoyed every second of this course and feel like I now have a more advanced knowledge of Forensics. Great at busting myths seen on TV shows such as CSI!

교육 기관: Tamanna A

May 29, 2020

This course helped to understand every possible detail that can be left at a crime scene and how to analyze them. Easy to understand, and the instructor was very clear about the lectures. Quizzes and assignments were also enjoyable and creative. I liked this course very much.

교육 기관: Niloufer K K

May 03, 2020

Amazing Course!!! :) Roderick Bates Sir is amazing!!! He has explained everything very simply and yet covering details... :) As I watched more videos my curiosity to learn more only increased!!! Also, peer-reviewing was fun!!! :) I strongly recommend this course!!! :)

교육 기관: Trevor J H

Apr 10, 2018

Lots of effort went into this course by Dr Roderick Bates. It was extremely interesting and informative and easily understood. The video material and examples are superb. I enjoyed doing the murder cases. One of the best courses so far Ive done here at coursera.

교육 기관: GARIMELLA R M

Sep 12, 2017

Great course. Prof. Bates is genius and a great teacher. I love this course very much. I am expecting sequence or specialization from same University and same professor.

Thanks for giving us an opportunity to express our feelings towards a course in coursera.

교육 기관: Seow Y D

Aug 11, 2019

I am truly grateful to Coursea for granting me a financial aid to pursue this course at essentially zero cost. I have learned many techniques and case studies from this forensics science course without having the stress of failing the module in school.

교육 기관: Nerea W

May 29, 2018

It's a great course, everything is so entertaining. Altho so far there is a sexist comment saying that a woman professor did not really look like a forensics expert, she looked like the perfect professor to me ;) . But apart from that it is all good.

교육 기관: Anna L

May 11, 2017

I am fascinated by the Forensic Science field and this course was invaluable for me. Now that I have completed this course I am considering undertaking more courses about this subject. The tutor was excellent, came across friendly and knowledgable.

교육 기관: Abu H

Aug 02, 2019

This Course was really basic and fundamental information that contain helpful material in Forensic Science chemistry. So, I enjoy a lot throughout the course, and learnt many new points and cases that is really essential for my future prospectus.

교육 기관: Shobhraj S P

Feb 22, 2018

Its been great to be apart of this course, the content was super informative. Special thanks to our professor who's been super good in explaining each and every aspect of this course relating forensic science techniques. Proud learner, Thanks !!

교육 기관: Jayaraam R

May 19, 2020

Excellent content, a highly competent instructor who knows his stuff. Very relevant demonstrations and case studies. I enjoyed doing the peer-graded assignments. Overall, a very enlightening course. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

교육 기관: Rodolfo Q L

May 28, 2020

That was a complex and wide course involving great amount of themes. There was quite prominence related chemistry. It demanded effort and discipline to assimilate correctly certain concepts. The instructor is very intelligent and objective.

교육 기관: Priyatharshini A

Feb 28, 2020

I love to study forensic science course. So, I joined this course. I loved this lecture videos. The way of teaching was very awesome and interesting. I gained more knowledge on forensic science. Thank you so much for this valuable lecture.

교육 기관: Sander T

Nov 15, 2018

Really liked this course. Great teacher! great powerpoints! Also for people who don't speak english quite often! I'm not a legend in the language but i could follow everything beceause of the catchwords in the powerpoints. 10/10.