Chevron Left
Introduction to Forensic Science(으)로 돌아가기

싱가포르의 난양공대의 Introduction to Forensic Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
915개의 평가
284개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

최상위 리뷰

NU

Jun 18, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Forensic Science의 281개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Adithya

Nov 17, 2018

The Worst Part: The peer-graded assignment were the peers think that the example for marking criteria as answers and reward you with 0 marks for your idea and explanation, thus making you to redo the assignment for another 1 to 2 hour (Time taken by me for doing once. I failed and again did the assignment for another 1 to 2 hours because I was creative.)

The better part: Is the lecture where the instructors gives demonstration how to use the instruments such Chromatography, Spectrometer and also some experiments such as detection of blood and certain chemical compounds.

My suggestion is not to register for the certificate but instead just go through the free contents i.e. videos and you'll get an amazing knowledge and techniques used in FORENSIC SCIENCE.

교육 기관: Sanne A

Oct 09, 2018

If you're a CSI fan and that is the main reason for following this course, you might find this course interesting. But as someone who works within the field, I found some anecdotes/examples downright cringe-worthy or inappropriate and came across a couple of statements and quiz questions that are very questionable and/or misleading.

I think it's ironic that it starts with addressing how CSI can give the wrong impression of what the field really entails, and then continues using a lot of sensational content, with a presenter wearing goggles and a lab coat, and using introduction slides with a tune that sounds like it is coming directly from one of these shows.

As the course name suggests, it does give an introduction to Forensic Science, but I'd argue that it would benefit from adding some more sophisticated principles that lie at the heart of this profession. Students following this course, without a more proper background within the field, would very likely still suffer from the type of bias that is sometimes (not coincidentally) called the CSI effect.

교육 기관: ELIZABETH J

Jun 01, 2020

The course was really informative!

교육 기관: Diane F

Apr 24, 2020

Fascinating course! I learned so much. The instructor was great and I thoroughly enjoyed all the real-life examples. I've taken several Coursera courses and this is by far my very favorite!

교육 기관: Lawrence R

May 01, 2019

Very interesting course which was very well presented. Would definitely recommend.

교육 기관: SHAJIA K

Feb 01, 2019

it is a great course to gain knowledge

교육 기관: Felix C B

Feb 03, 2019

Quite illuminating module

교육 기관: Ismael T F

May 02, 2019

forensic scientist

교육 기관: Mostafa M E

Jun 11, 2018

very useful and interesting course.update: I am unfortunately have to review my rate and change it to one star. this is not because of the course itself actually, it is because the assignments.I applied for this course from months ago and until now I can't get my peer-review assignments finished yet. I finished around 30 courses and yet this is the only one that I faced this problem in.

교육 기관: Nathan P K

Aug 10, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I was always somewhat interested in Forensic Science, which was realized through the popular relevant TV shows like CSI, but after having taken a real, educational course on the profession, I have learned that there is a lot more to deducing crime scenes and figuring out the nitty-gritty.

This course does a very good job of introducing students to the basics of Forensic Science. The multiple choice quizzes do test your knowledge, but I believe the real test of knowledge comes from the two case studies that you have to complete. You are met with different scenarios and you must determine, through your knowledge of Forensics and given evidence, the most likely outcome of a crime scene.

Overall, I truly enjoyed this course and recommend it to anyone who even has a slight interest in Forensic Science, or even to just develop your ability in problem-solving and attention to detail. Even if you don't, this course will benefit you in one way or another.

교육 기관: Akshay K

May 23, 2020

I First of all Thank, Professor Roderick Bates for providing best video course on Forensic Science, He is just amazing. And I wish to thank my mentor Ms. Paula for the technical support.

Now Regarding The course, Its the best you can find on Internet. At most informative sessions which covers most of the sections in forensic. Assignments were extraordinary and quizes were tailor made with the course syllabus.

On a Personal Note, I request Nanyang University and Professor Roderick Bates to provide Professional Courses on forensic science which will be the next version of this Course.

Thank You,

Akshaykaarthik

교육 기관: Cia B

May 22, 2020

This training has been great. It guides the pupil through the science behind the Forensic and shows in a comprehensive way how different types of analysis of evidence is really done and how the instruments operate. While this is far to basic for an expert working with Forensic investigation, it is a great resource for anyone looking for an overall view of what truly is going on behind the scenes. Each technique is shown in the light of several criminal cases and duly explained. The course has been made with great care, and is educational as well as a fun and challenging experience. Enjoy!

교육 기관: John J J

Jun 17, 2020

Excellent introduction to Forensic Science. The course gives you a really broad look at Forensics while helping you understand lots of details within each area. Given that there are many individual departments within Forensics, this course does a good job of introducing you to each of these departments, ensuring you know the role of each department, and whets your appetite for more information on each department. I am excited to continue learning about Forensic Science, and to consider the individual specializations. Thank you for the very informative and enjoyable course.

교육 기관: Rachel G

Sep 04, 2017

I have enjoyed this course so much! I have taken a lot of MOOCs relating to forensic science, but this one was the most in depth. I learned a lot, and I understand so much more about how different forensic sciences work. I especially enjoyed learning about mitochondrial DNA. I liked this course because the assignments are fictional cases that you look at an analyze, so you get to put yourself in the shoes of a detective. The professor gives so many real life examples that illustrate what he is teaching. It has inspired me to learn more about chemistry, as well.

교육 기관: Kirsten A

Jun 28, 2020

This course was something I wanted to do for fun during quarantine, but it was also a subject I was (am) incredibly interested in and considering pursuing. After taking the class and learning all of the material, I truly enjoyed my experience and all of the details in the studied cases, techniques and visuals presented. The professor was very clear and concise with his information; he is extremely knowledgeable and has a great mind and eagerness for what he does. This class has been a wonderful experience and, hopefully, a life-changing one for myself and others.

교육 기관: Fredrica B

Jun 28, 2020

Very good course. Material is easy to digest, even for beginners with very limited backgrounds in the sciences. Instructor explains everything sufficiently and was always very interesting. The use of case studies allowed practical understanding of the material being taught with real world applications while also challenging the learner to utilize the skills being taught to make judgments before taking on graded assignments. Overall, highly recommended course!

교육 기관: Bernie N

Mar 06, 2017

I've taken many, many Coursera courses and this is one of the best if not the best.

Video presentations are given in a straight forward manner with real world case studies that demonstrate application of topic material. I learned a LOT primarily due to the interesting nature in which the course was structured and material presented.

I cannot say enough nice things about this course and Professor Bates. Well, how about 'Outstanding"

Thanks You!

교육 기관: Tamanna A

May 29, 2020

This course helped to understand every possible detail that can be left at a crime scene and how to analyze them. Easy to understand, and the instructor was very clear about the lectures. Quizzes and assignments were also enjoyable and creative. I liked this course very much.

교육 기관: Jamyang P

Oct 29, 2019

The course was very insightful and i thoroughly enjoyed every stage of the course and learnt so many new things. Everything is provided was in good detail and ordered well. Thank you!

교육 기관: Everett R

Nov 20, 2016

This is by far one of the best courses I have taken. It's intriguing and thought-provoking while providing fascinating information and going into detail on how forensic science works.

교육 기관: Virginia

Oct 13, 2016

Professor Roderick Bates is a fantastic lecturer. It is my first time back at school in 23 years and I followed his classes with ease. Highly recommended course for everyone.

교육 기관: Jonathan V P

Nov 11, 2018

Very helpful class and a lot of interesting material and real cases. The professor and mentor are excellent and very helpful. Great class I would lovely recommend it

교육 기관: Belinda J T

Jun 16, 2018

Fabulous so far, very engaging and easy to retain. Thank you for the thought out slides and presentation. I love the hidden humor too! :) 11 Star excellence :D

교육 기관: Zafar A

Feb 09, 2019

I learned a lot from this course, Everything was well prepared, and excitingly delivered. I was not bored even for a second.

교육 기관: Anupriya C

Feb 11, 2019

Well laid out course. Perfect for basic introduction to various topics in forensic science