Chevron Left
Game Theory II: Advanced Applications(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Game Theory II: Advanced Applications 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
402개의 평가
74개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind", game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Over four weeks of lectures, this advanced course considers how to design interactions between agents in order to achieve good social outcomes. Three main topics are covered: social choice theory (i.e., collective decision making and voting systems), mechanism design, and auctions. In the first week we consider the problem of aggregating different agents' preferences, discussing voting rules and the challenges faced in collective decision making. We present some of the most important theoretical results in the area: notably, Arrow's Theorem, which proves that there is no "perfect" voting system, and also the Gibbard-Satterthwaite and Muller-Satterthwaite Theorems. We move on to consider the problem of making collective decisions when agents are self interested and can strategically misreport their preferences. We explain "mechanism design" -- a broad framework for designing interactions between self-interested agents -- and give some key theoretical results. Our third week focuses on the problem of designing mechanisms to maximize aggregate happiness across agents, and presents the powerful family of Vickrey-Clarke-Groves mechanisms. The course wraps up with a fourth week that considers the problem of allocating scarce resources among self-interested agents, and that provides an introduction to auction theory. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-II-Syllabus.html There is also a predecessor course to this one, for those who want to learn or remind themselves of the basic concepts of game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/game-theory-1 An intro video can be found here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Game-Theory-2-Intro.mp4...

최상위 리뷰

LV

May 02, 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

AS

Sep 11, 2016

Outstanding course on Game Theory. Provides excellent mathematical and logical treatment of the concepts and theory. A perfect stepping stone for researchers willing to pursue their research in Gam

필터링 기준:

Game Theory II: Advanced Applications의 74개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Lisa V

May 02, 2017

Very interesting! One missing thing: please write explanations for correct/incorrect questions in quizzes. In the basic course, I found them very helpful in understanding why my reasoning was wrong.

교육 기관: Diogo C

Jul 01, 2018

Better than the first course. The topics were less familiar to me, so it opened a few more doors.I still feel like the math was neglected, most of the time. I don't expect every derivation, but at least an acknowledgement of where the formulas come from if one wants to derive them himself.The graded quizzes should have provided an explanation of the correct answers, I think. Sometimes that explanation made everything clearer to me (when I got the correct by mistake or by simple elimination).I really appreciate the reading material! At least I can now follow the subject more in-depth if I want, so that's very welcome.Overall, still feels like a fairly light overview, but it's a good introduction to the subjects of mechanism design and auctions, I feel.

교육 기관: Mariano B P

May 30, 2018

Excellent! i think it shall contain more realistic examples for mechanism development and auctions

교육 기관: 汪宇恒

Apr 03, 2018

too hard...need some analysis background

교육 기관: Ashish k

Jan 10, 2019

Brilliant mind-teaser, helps you form skills that will lead to logical thinking in strategic interplays between everyday events and even the more complex one.

교육 기관: 高瀚邦

Mar 06, 2019

Maybe harder than I, but obviously, more useful.

교육 기관: Runyang W

Jan 08, 2019

话题主要为高级微观中的机制设计,非常适合我这种转专业的同学

교육 기관: Lucas F d C M

Mar 10, 2019

The professors are great!

I think the students would profit more if there were more exercises to track their learning.

I had some difficulties because sometimes it requires an advanced level in math which I don't have.

Eventhough, I could enjoy and acquire some valuable skills.

Thank you!

Sincerily,

Lucas M.

교육 기관: Wilberth C

Feb 04, 2017

I belive that this course is usefull in computer science research, the discipline might allow us to explore alternative solutions from other approaches. Excellent instructors, excellent course! Thanks Coursera!

교육 기관: Ka L K

Apr 10, 2018

A more advanced course than Game Theory I. The topics are interesting but also in depth. Beside the lecture a lot of reading is needed if you really want to understand the concepts. After finishing this course I attend the master course in my university without difficulty to follow. The only thing for improvement is the homework. If lecturers could post some optional homeworks for students who want to train more, then this course will be really a University-level course for undergraduate students.

교육 기관: Voo T V

Jan 15, 2017

5 out of 5!

I managed to finish this course in just 6 days. Pretty fascinating and practical, as it is more in depth.

Would totally recommend this to anyone who wants to know more about Game Theory. Assessments are easy relatively; a balanced number of practical calculations and theoretical questions.

All 3 instructors are friendly and experienced in lecturing, which helps a lot in understanding the materials.

:)

교육 기관: Jin-wook L

Jan 01, 2017

e

교육 기관: Lee S Y

Jan 06, 2018

Lectures were clear and quizzes were effective. Could have helped to explain solutions in the quiz though.

교육 기관: Bhavook B

Oct 23, 2017

Great learning experience, one advice is to show the working of the solutions of the problem sets

교육 기관: Kiryukhin R

Apr 01, 2018

perfect one to get a taste of theory behind the voting schemes and game mechanisms design

교육 기관: Li W

Jan 19, 2018

Great, the Problem set very helpful to understand the core of Mechanism Design conception. Thanks the 3 professores 's instruction.

교육 기관: Blake C

Dec 30, 2017

Great course

교육 기관: Rinkesh V

Sep 15, 2016

finest course

교육 기관: Metin B

Oct 21, 2016

So much information given, in very compact but clear style, in short time. Great course

교육 기관: Abhiraj H

Jul 23, 2017

Loved the course.It is a little on the hard side but is overall very enjoyable and enriching.

교육 기관: Rahul P

Nov 26, 2016

Great course and it's fun. I shall rate 5 stars. I highly recommend this course. The instructors presented difficult concepts in a lucid manner. To have more instructors teach a course gave multiple perspectives on the subject.

교육 기관: Venkatraman R

Jun 16, 2017

very good

교육 기관: Ininahazwe

Apr 02, 2017

I enjoyed a lot learning this Course. Well explained by great lecturers.

교육 기관: Hitesh K

Sep 27, 2016

Stimulating. Very interesting course, never loved the derivations this much before.

교육 기관: Shawn A

Jan 13, 2017

An exceptional course that is extremely informative and sufficiently challenging. The best part about this course is the fact that it provides the applications of all the theoretical aspects of game theory.