Chevron Left
Principles of Game Design(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Principles of Game Design 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,366개의 평가
360개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

최상위 리뷰

JR
2016년 3월 26일

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC
2017년 4월 2일

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

필터링 기준:

Principles of Game Design의 346개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Lucas C

2018년 1월 23일

Great lectures with a passionate teacher.

교육 기관: Rodrigo A S

2016년 2월 10일

The information in this course is great

교육 기관: Stephen P

2020년 11월 9일

Game Design is an area I've previously struggled with. As a person with a history of web programming, I can pick up tools and languages pretty quickly. It's the "what do I create" part that always eludes me however.

Prior to taking this course, I didn't have much of a game design vocabulary or any processes for ideation, world building, storytelling, prototyping and so on. Though I still have a long way to go, I feel like I have a lot of those processes down now.

While incredibly challenging compared to the first Unity-focused one in the specialization, I found this course incredibly rewarding. It's rich with content, advice and external resources. I'm certain I'll be taking a flick through it all again at some point to refresh, and I'm looking forward to checking out all of the books recommended.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Adhiesha J

2016년 1월 5일

An exceptionally informative course that covers the more intricate principles behind the actual design of a game (not to be confused with the more technical aspects of development). From brainstorming ideas to developing a concept to actually testing your game before release, this touches on the more difficult thought processes that one may not learn by simply picking up a game engine and learning how to build a game from the ground up. Couple the concepts learned here with the technical skills from the game development courses (or your own technical experience and knowledge), and you'll be much better equipped to make a solid, marketable product.

교육 기관: Luca R S

2017년 6월 17일

This course is amazing, it confronts you with questions regarding game design and forces you to find creative answers, all of this while getting your hands dirty! You'll think of the game as a pitch, then its story, then the whole thing as precisely and accurately as possible and, finally, you'll be tasked to prototype a part of it! It's an invaluable experience, and Casey O'Donnell does a really good job with the videos. There's only one question left: why aren't you taking this course yet???

교육 기관: Samuel C A

2020년 9월 28일

Understanding the goals of what you want to create and being able to design and clearly communicate all the detail to the people involved in the project is essencial to its success. This course introduces us to these concepts and provides some good templates and exercises. At first it might seem it was not what you signed up for because you want to created games, but there are a lot os steps in creating a good one. Thinking, preparing and planning are some of the most important aspects.

교육 기관: Dotan F

2016년 1월 28일

The concepts are good and important, writing the assignments was not so easy :)

It feels like there is a missing link between the concepts & the writing the documents.

For example -the last exercise (prototype) was not good at all for most people I checked (including myself?).

On a secondary importance level: some of the questions/answers are hard to understand or related to extras (movies, for example) I did not I need to see, so it was a bit frustrating.

교육 기관: Kristina M

2016년 6월 18일

This course was a little stressful, but it seriously pays off. The instructor was excellent, he explains everything clearly and gave us quizzes and projects not only to do, but to really learn from. He discusses subjects that really are worth thinking about, if you are considering becoming a Game Designer. I highly recommend this course for avid learners and those that would love to work hands-on on projects that concern Game Design.

교육 기관: John L P I

2016년 11월 5일

Pros: Good lectures. The professor (Casey) provided a lot of interesting readings to supplement the discussions. Some of them were a bit on the scholarly side, but overall surprisingly interesting and informative. I also watched the documentary about indie game designers (Indie Game: The Movie) during this course and found it very helpful. Cons: I wish the quiz questions had explanations of why something was right or wrong.

교육 기관: Blaine L

2016년 4월 14일

Teaching style a little loose for me, but man did he make me work on my assignments. The information is valuable and the references are beneficial. My take-away from attending this course gives a good base on how to think about a game and set things up properly from the start. No quick short cuts here. Just good old fashion hard work and how to approach things logically to get things done constructively and productively.

교육 기관: Kyle D H

2016년 1월 3일

I wanted to take these courses to supplement my own university's Game Focus in Computer Science curriculum, and I got even more than I'd hoped for. This course is the perfect introduction to key game design concepts that most universities don't teach (as opposed to pure programming), and I'm certain that my ventures into game development as a career will be much smoother thanks to this course.

교육 기관: Samuel T

2018년 3월 6일

I think the course is well-structured, and it contains a lot of useful materials, I really liked it.

At the same time, I think, while it's easy to go through the course quickly and answer the questions, if the one is really interested in the topic, they need much more time than the description mentioned to read all the articles, to learn from them by applying them at work/in practice.

교육 기관: Christopher T

2016년 3월 25일

This course covers everything you need to know about planning and designing your game. Don't be afraid to think big and even if your aren't sure about a game idea you have write it down and keep coming back to it. My capstone project was based on my design from this part of the course after many iterations of the idea and my game came out great.

교육 기관: Lidia B

2015년 12월 23일

This course is very thorough, explaining game design principles (NB: not just the barest basics!) in-depth, yet it is not 'rocket science' in terms of difficulty - the material is conveyed in a friendly and comprehensible manner. If you're seriously passionate about game design, not just idly curious, this is definitely the course for you!

교육 기관: ADRIANO C

2020년 8월 1일

The course has good support materials and, if taken seriously, will give you good insights of what you need to do to document your own gaming project. Unfortunately there are a lot of lazy students barely providing basic assignments meeting the bare requirements and I encourage to review them properly and not be afraid to comment on them.

교육 기관: Nathan L

2016년 4월 19일

Very comprehensive and thorough introduction to game design. I gained lots of insight into what it really takes to be a developer, and the steps involved. This course really helped to explain the process of getting a game idea off the ground, fleshing out details, and making it presentable to a team or prospective producer. Thanks!

교육 기관: Márlon P G

2016년 2월 23일

I really enjoyed this course, I learned a lot of thing that will help me to build better games and today I have a clear idea of the whole process of creating games. So I think that everybody that would like to build games, should do this course. Thanks to Coursera and Casey O'Donnell for providing this course.

교육 기관: Marco A A A

2020년 8월 27일

Excellent course. Each lesson is clear and on point. While not all the material is still up online, most of it is and the rest is easy to find. I learned a lot and improved more than I expected. This was a great experience and gave me many ideas about what I need to do next in order to achieve what I want.

교육 기관: Jalen V

2017년 6월 11일

This is a fantastic course! It game me so much insight as to what goes on behind the scenes of the wonderful stories and adventures we see in many of today's video games. Probably my favorite course of the specialization. It made me feel creative, and helped me to bring more to my simple ideas for a game.

교육 기관: cristina n

2016년 3월 28일

It would a 4.5 star actually. The thing is the course thought me more in just a few hours than a 4 month physical course in Game Design. That it super awesome.

There a few things here and there that i wish were more elaborated upon, but then again i only audited the course not participated in it actively.

교육 기관: Luis M B G

2019년 10월 14일

This course taught me to think about and approach games in a different way. I'm now more observant about the world around me and how a "silly" or "normal" activity can become an interesting element for gameplay. Highly recommended for anyone who is willing to take games and game making seriously.

교육 기관: Hernan C

2016년 3월 22일

A pretty nifty course for game design. I loved getting to work on the documentation planning for the game I was creating. Simple and easy to follow. Some of the quiz questions were a bit tricky as I had spent more time than I though I would, going back to the lectures to review the questions.

교육 기관: Abhinav K

2017년 7월 9일

I love the instructor's style of teaching. He appears to be more of a friendly mentor, who himselves believes in what he teaches, and also has fun building games.

The course is also well structured, and covers a lot of concepts and facts without making it feel burdensome. Well done sire!

교육 기관: Aleksandr B

2017년 9월 19일

I did watched all course. It was really interesting and useful course.

I already participated before in gamedev semi successful, few years project was fine, but latter was closed.

That course helps me to found right question, what I must ask my self when create and design game.

Thanks

교육 기관: Esther P

2016년 5월 27일

This course gives great insight to the importance of planning out the various structures of a game before building it. The valuable resources such as the readings were also very much helpful. The instructor has a calm spirit and his lectures are interesting and easy to understand.