Chevron Left
Principles of Game Design(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Principles of Game Design 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,296개의 평가
334개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC

Apr 03, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

필터링 기준:

Principles of Game Design의 320개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Carlos H J

Jun 04, 2018

Great Course!

교육 기관: Valishin S

May 03, 2018

It's awesome!

교육 기관: Kevin

Jan 28, 2016

Just perfect!

교육 기관: Jose C

Nov 24, 2015

Great course.

교육 기관: Andrea P

Dec 26, 2019

Great course

교육 기관: Sanjit S

May 30, 2017

great course

교육 기관: Shashwat K

Sep 11, 2018

good course

교육 기관: Thiago G

Dec 17, 2015

Just great!

교육 기관: Sildo N G N

Mar 01, 2019

G.R.E.A.T!

교육 기관: Diego M

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Omar A F

Aug 29, 2017

I love it

교육 기관: Oyetunji I A

Nov 04, 2016

Very Good

교육 기관: Bhavani

Jun 24, 2016

Love it !

교육 기관: Stephen B

Jun 20, 2016

Hard fun.

교육 기관: Esteban P

Apr 22, 2017

Love it.

교육 기관: Jeffery S

Sep 28, 2017

Awesome

교육 기관: Artem

Oct 10, 2019

BOOM!

교육 기관: RAJAT S 1

Jul 21, 2020

kool

교육 기관: Duy N

Dec 09, 2018

hghg

교육 기관: Stephanie B

Apr 29, 2017

This course has a lot of info to offer. The instructor is enthusiastic and provides lots of helpful links to articles, books, and resources that are really useful. I also appreciate that there is a portion of the course dedicated to social issues in games, which often get overlooked or dismissed.

However, the course appears to have been restructured at some point, which can make the videos confusing, as they refer to things you haven't learned yet or make you wonder if you accidentally skipped a video somewhere. That said, I also don't think the current structure is ideal, because what you're learning is sometimes at odd with the structure of the assignments—for instance, a game design doc isn't finished until a game is nearly done while a prototype should come early in the process. So why does the game design doc assignment come before the prototype assignment?

Also, while I appreciate that the instructor attempted to make the quizzes and grading more fun, the resulting options are often misleading or unclear. For example, the typical grading options are 1) You barely did it or didn't do anything, 2) You went above and beyond, and 3) This is pretty epic. If the person satisfied the requirements but didn't add anything else, do they really only deserve a 1? I didn't grade that way, but the options suggest I could have. Also, if the question is "Is this a zip file?" these options don't make sense at all.

Overall though, I recommend this course and give it 4 stars for the level and variety of information it covers.

교육 기관: Martin H

Jun 24, 2020

As you would expect from a leading US university, the provided learning materials are professional, insightful and highly practical. Of course, designing games is an inherently practical exercise so you only gain real value from the materials by actually applying them as you design your own games. One important drawback of the learning materials is, as mentioned in other reviews, the course is a little out of date now.

The aspect of this experience that I was disappointed with is that the real benefits of MOOC learning, in collaborating with other learners, were not in-play during the course. I found no value in collaborative learning here, either in the forums or in receiving useful feedback from the assignment marking. I felt like I would be better off doing independent learning.

I've also got to say, the forums here are not very productive at all. There is little to no intelligent discussion around the course. I really don't understand the constant requests for assignment reviews by other learners. It's an automated system and you can't receive your grade unless you review others assignments.

It's a shame that there was little collaborative learning in the course I took, as there's real potential in this learning model. The provided learning materials are highly valuable but the other USP's of MOOC learning were not realised in the course I took.

교육 기관: Roselle C

Dec 29, 2017

I'm still not done halfway through but like others who have actual game dev experience in the forum, I've taught about dropping out but approach this course as if I'm taking a game. This lecturer keeps going round in circles and the fact that I have to endure his salesman style teaching in another course is something I'm still not sure if I'm going to be able to pull through.

I'm still trying to put aside his whole "I'm going to spend more than a minute convincing you why something is great for you apart from actually telling you WHY it is great ACTUALLY for you" but I find myself not paying attention and increasing the speed of the video up to x2. Since I've already paid for it, I might as well go through with it.

Certain points are great though, I still did learn a lot from this. Was definitely disappointed in the beginning as the previous lecturer was very good. But kinda got over his irrelevant points and found the important bits somehow.

교육 기관: Tobias W

Jan 13, 2018

Great course. I learned a lot about the various aspects about game design and can highly recommend this to anyone interested in the topic.

The exams are a bit better than in the business course, however everything is still a bit vague so for example, the scope of a non digital prototype for the final exam is not really elaborated much. With the other participants in the peer review often not giving an explanation to why they deducted points, it makes it quite difficult to know where I should improve. Feedback for peer reviews should be mandatory and the scope of the exams should be more clear.

교육 기관: Ugo N

Apr 06, 2017

It's okay, I like the instructor and I really enjoyed the assignments creating worlds and such. I found that Im not a complete dud when it comes to making stories, it actually comes easier than you think ,especially if you play games a lot. Towards the end of week 4 though, I was about done with all the theory and wanted to get back to some Unity work, so i bombed through those videos, and actually skipped social impact on designers (or something like that), but I aced the quizzes though. Kind of funny, the only videos I didn't watch are the only ones I got fives in xD

Thank you!

Ugo

교육 기관: Carlos D P G

Nov 17, 2015

The course has several mistakes; the instructor forgot to remove some of the clips taken wrong inside the lectures, and the project for week 3 was incorrectly written. However, in general the course is very appealing; it's the main part of making games. And if some may think that you don't need to take a class to "learn to be creative", this course was an excellent way to put my creativity in practice, learn about how game design works, and read many interesting articles and stuff from different sites, provided by the instructor.

Highly recommended, it's a very fun course.