Chevron Left
Principles of Game Design(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Principles of Game Design 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
1,170개의 평가
304개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC

Apr 03, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

필터링 기준:

Principles of Game Design의 290개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Juan P T P

Mar 02, 2016

I would have liked that the written feedback in the assignments were mandatory, it would allow us to improve on our designs

교육 기관: Rodrigo A S

Feb 10, 2016

The information in this course is great

교육 기관: Jorge D d T

Aug 03, 2017

Love this course, help me to define en clear terms the game i always want to desing and implement. Amazing profesor, the evaluations though

교육 기관: Kamran B

Feb 23, 2016

I learn a lot by doing assignments and reviewing other people's assignments. The important con of this course was some of its quizzes' questions which was ambiguous or badly framed.

교육 기관: Ricardo M

Dec 06, 2016

Lots of good information.

교육 기관: Zheng L

Mar 13, 2018

Lots of detailed knowledge of game design, which makes me more professional

교육 기관: Stephanie B

Apr 29, 2017

This course has a lot of info to offer. The instructor is enthusiastic and provides lots of helpful links to articles, books, and resources that are really useful. I also appreciate that there is a portion of the course dedicated to social issues in games, which often get overlooked or dismissed.

However, the course appears to have been restructured at some point, which can make the videos confusing, as they refer to things you haven't learned yet or make you wonder if you accidentally skipped a video somewhere. That said, I also don't think the current structure is ideal, because what you're learning is sometimes at odd with the structure of the assignments—for instance, a game design doc isn't finished until a game is nearly done while a prototype should come early in the process. So why does the game design doc assignment come before the prototype assignment?

Also, while I appreciate that the instructor attempted to make the quizzes and grading more fun, the resulting options are often misleading or unclear. For example, the typical grading options are 1) You barely did it or didn't do anything, 2) You went above and beyond, and 3) This is pretty epic. If the person satisfied the requirements but didn't add anything else, do they really only deserve a 1? I didn't grade that way, but the options suggest I could have. Also, if the question is "Is this a zip file?" these options don't make sense at all.

Overall though, I recommend this course and give it 4 stars for the level and variety of information it covers.

교육 기관: Mykyta T

Oct 30, 2017

The course itself is nice, but everything about the peer-graded assignments for weeks 2-4 just doesn't work.

교육 기관: mMans

Aug 08, 2016

Nice lessons, but the "teacher" use too often the word "right", what is really annoying. I hope you can

eradicate this terrible habit and fix the course materials after that.

교육 기관: Dmitry B

Feb 08, 2016

The course is not bad, right? It gives you interesting texts to read, right? And explains a design process, right? Is it OK to say right after each sentence? (English is not my first language, right).

교육 기관: Adriano V

Nov 19, 2015

A lot was discussed, and many resources were offered, but I felt the general direction offered was too loose. When time came to do each week's assignment, I was not always sure how to execute.

교육 기관: Bitan M

Jul 01, 2018

nice course

교육 기관: Evert G

Jun 21, 2016

Very interesting course. I am already familiar with software dev documentation, so a lot of it was not new for me. The style of teaching in the previous course was more pleasant for me. But I am well aware it is just a personal preference. Very good course indeed. Thanks!

교육 기관: yuan c

Aug 01, 2016

good game design introduction course, lots of concepts, great!

교육 기관: Deleted A

Nov 11, 2016

Good

교육 기관: Dhesikan C

Apr 05, 2018

The bit boring. But perhaps teaches some of the most required skills and concepts required in a game coarse.

교육 기관: Alberto A d S J

May 30, 2017

Good course

교육 기관: Sergey B

Aug 08, 2017

This course has hard assignments. And videos don't really help with it.

교육 기관: Marc-André M

May 29, 2017

Another good course in the Game Design and Development specialization. I had a lot of fun making the prototype at the end.

교육 기관: Deborah M M

Nov 19, 2015

Very helpful information with lots of solid, practical advise (prototype! test!) and a few important questions to think about (genderfication? accessibility?) when designing. Excellent learning experience for game design documentation. Quite worth the time and effort. Thank you!

교육 기관: René S K

Dec 20, 2015

The templates are very good, but the course videos are too general.

교육 기관: Christopher C

Jun 12, 2016

The lecturer is very engaging and for the most part these lectures were valuable. A few of them bordered on "why are we talking about this?" though. Felt more like filler than actual value. I think this could have been condensed to three weeks without losing much.

교육 기관: Roselle C

Dec 29, 2017

I'm still not done halfway through but like others who have actual game dev experience in the forum, I've taught about dropping out but approach this course as if I'm taking a game. This lecturer keeps going round in circles and the fact that I have to endure his salesman style teaching in another course is something I'm still not sure if I'm going to be able to pull through.

I'm still trying to put aside his whole "I'm going to spend more than a minute convincing you why something is great for you apart from actually telling you WHY it is great ACTUALLY for you" but I find myself not paying attention and increasing the speed of the video up to x2. Since I've already paid for it, I might as well go through with it.

Certain points are great though, I still did learn a lot from this. Was definitely disappointed in the beginning as the previous lecturer was very good. But kinda got over his irrelevant points and found the important bits somehow.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jul 01, 2017

Useful for making people think and analyze things and to develop new ideas, the methods used were quite interesting.

교육 기관: Lucas C

Jan 23, 2018

Great lectures with a passionate teacher.